Majestic
Abstract Symphony


5.0
classic


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist

Review Summary: You can't spell 'neo-classical' without 'classic': a masterfully crafted gem of an album.

It's hard for me to write this review without it turning into mindless gushing. Majestic is my personal favorite band, and the band that first got me interested in neo-classical metal. That said, there is good reason for this: while they released only two albums, these are amongst the most impressive albums that most people miss. Abstract Symphony, released in 1999, was the first of these albums. From start to finish, this album will keep any fan of great power metal entertained for a long time.

All elements of the band come together near-flawlessly in every track of the album. From the infectious opening track Golden Sea, to the slow but focused ending track Seekers Battlefield, no instrument ever feels out of place at any point. The incredible guitar-work complements Andersson's blazing keyboard very well, with memorable riffs appearing in tracks like Black Moon Rising. The drums batter along, keeping everything tied together finely, and the vocals of Jonas Blum fit perfectly with the nature of whichever song he is singing: for faster tracks such as Crimson Sun, his voice is soaring and energetic, while on slower tracks like the ballad Standing Alone, it is melancholic and depressing. The bass plods along with the rest of the band, though it is clearly not the main focus.

One complaint about neo-classical metal which appears frequently is that the fast, furious guitars can get soulless at times, bordering on being robotic. This issue, however, is not present here. Whenever the guitars go into "super-shred" mode, as I like to call it, it ties in nicely with the tone of the song. Take, for example, Nitro Pitbull. There is quite a long instrumental section, with everything but the guitar and drums dropping out completely. It sounds raw and aggressive, fitting for the song, and the moment the missing elements are re-introduced, it feels triumphant and well-timed. Andresson knew not to have Nordh's guitars go overboard, so in songs such as Ceasefire, one of the slower tracks, the guitar work is relatively straightforward, only picking up near the ending, as the song fades out.

All in all, with highly skilled musicianship, a memorable tracklist and astounding composition, Abstract Symphony is a masterpiece of epic proportions. This album is extremely impressive, never missing a beat or being bogged down by unnecessary tracks, and never wears itself thin. If you see this anywhere, be it a bargain bin or online, buy it. You will not regret it.

Recommended Tracks:
Crimson Sun
Golden Sea
Standing Alone
Nitro Pitbull



Recent reviews by this author
Temple of Blood Prepare for the Judgment of MankindHangar Last Time
Fueled by Fire Spread the FireExcel Split Image
Fallen Angel (SWE) Faith FailsTantara Based on Evil
user ratings (3)
Chart.
4.3
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mister Twister
May 4th 2013


1813 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ugh, this was really hard for me to write. Might be a bit short, tried not using the track-by-track format that I used in the Xentrix review. Hope it doesn't come off as fan gushing.

Dammit, I always pick up on stupid typos and misplaced words after I post the review. "the band the first got me interested in neo-classical metal" indeed. I also forgot a Pros/Cons/Highlights section because I was in a bit of a rush.

Digging: Rorschach - Protestant

FrozenVain
May 4th 2013


2482 Comments


Don't worry, man! This review was very nice, pos'd. I agree with the review as well. This is some great power metal.

Mister Twister
May 5th 2013


1813 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Lately got banned, this comment isn't needed anymore.

whitebeard8
May 6th 2013


5 Comments


Thanks for the review! I didn't know about this band.

Neoclassical Power Metal It's my favorite genre.

Mister Twister
May 6th 2013


1813 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

They did release two albums, and the other one is also excellent. I personally prefer this one, but still love Trinity Overture. It has Apollo Papathanasio performing vocal duties, which is awesome.

Mister Twister
June 13th 2013


1813 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Obnoxious bump because these guys need to get out there.

Mister Twister
June 16th 2013


1813 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

NEVER STOP BUMPING IT

YOU MUST CONTINUE BUMPING IT

IT IS YOUR DESTINY, RAISEHELL

Yes, master. Your wish is my command.

Mister Twister
June 24th 2013


1813 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That's fine. Some things aren't a great introductory piece to particular subgenres. I wouldn't have someone trying to get into thrash start off with Vektor.

The second album has Firewind's former vocalist, which is cool too.

Mister Twister
July 21st 2013


1813 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I can't get the chorus of Golden Sea out of my head, it's stuck there and won't leave.

I'M ON MY WAY TO GOLDEN SEEEEA, ALL THE LOVE SHALL BURN DURING MENTION OF THIS WAAAAAAAAAAAAR

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UB8rBRIbyS8

Geadom
August 11th 2013


2838 Comments


Hope this is good. I stopped listening to Nocturnus - Tresholds just for this.

Geadom
August 11th 2013


2838 Comments


Not as groundbreaking as i thought would be. But i suppose thats mainly because Power Metal just bores me these days.

@raisehell : Check out Angra. They do this same style MUUUCH more better, imo. Also Stratovarius and Nightwish (Oceanborn mainly) was my shit when i listened to power.

Mister Twister
August 11th 2013


1813 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I tried Hunters and Prey, found myself a bit bored. I don't know, if you find power metal boring I suppose this won't really sway you. It is power metal through and through.

Still though, if you drop the average rating I'll find you

Geadom
August 12th 2013


2838 Comments


Try Angels Cry or Rebirth. Used to love them both, specially the first one. Also dont forget:

Nightwish - Oceanborn, Once
Stratovarius - Destiny, Inifinite
Tierra Santa - Indomable (not that great but i used to love this album)

Sorry to dissapoint you bro, but Power Metal just doesnt appeal to me anymore..

Mister Twister
August 12th 2013


1813 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hey, it's fine. Not everything is for everyone. I already know about Stratovarius and Nightwish, not a huge fan of either. I'll check Tierra Santa though, thanks for the recommendation.

Also, general consensus seems to be that Majestic's second album is superior, though I personally prefer this one.

Angra does seem to be somewhat prog-influenced, so that may be why you prefer it over some other power metal.

Geadom
August 12th 2013


2838 Comments


Yes, prog power is the only kind i can stand right now. I suppose you´ve heard Fates Warning (Parallels and Perfect Symmetry) and Queensryche (Operation: Mindcrime) already?

Mister Twister
August 12th 2013


1813 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah. If you're trying to get back into power metal, here's done stuff I recommend:

Cryonic Temple - In Thy Power (cheesy and top-notch power metal done right)
Manticora - Hyperion (more serious, and fairly unique)
Time Requiem - Self-Titled Debut (same guys that made this, but it's more progressive)

Mister Twister
October 23rd 2013


1813 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

things that go bump in the night



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy