Chunk! No, Captain Chunk!
Pardon My French


2.5
average

Review

by Atari CONTRIBUTOR (111 Reviews)
May 3rd, 2013 | 37 replies


Release Date: 04/30/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Two steps forward, one step back.

One doesn't exactly have to go out of their way to find reasons to hate Chunk! No Captain, Chunk!. Their band name says it all, and their music is often just as frustrating. However, somehow the French “pop-core” band have actually managed to improve on their sophomore effort Pardon my French. Granted I didn’t dislike their debut as much as some, but it certainly didn’t leave anything to be desired for their next release. So the mere fact that this time around they actually expanded their sound rather than treading the same familiar water is a welcome surprise. That’s not to say it’s anything spectacular (and I don‘t think anybody thought it would be), but the band are making slow progress as they take two steps forward, and one step back.

For every well executed idea on Pardon My French, there is also an anchor of sorts that seems to drag it down. It’s unfortunate because they’re obviously making some improvements but their past mistakes have returned to haunt them. The lyrics, while slightly better than their debut, are still pretty bad at times. The title track starts with an unnecessary cheesy line of “Go *** Yourself” before the been-done-before breakdowns and vocals begin. In fact, they drop F-bombs constantly throughout the album, only proving their lack of lyrical creativity, or maybe it’s just pure laziness.

One noticeable improvement, however, is heard in the punchy guitar-work which steals the show on songs like ‘Hater’s Gonna Hate’ which has a definite New Found Glory vibe. It may be a terrible song name, but it has one of the most soaring choruses on the entire album. It’s able to flow the way it does only due to the newfound confidence in the vocals. They sound much less grating this time around as Bertrand Poncet’s French accent is still apparent, but he doesn’t sound nearly as awkward as he did on their last album. In fact, he sounds better than ever on ‘Taking Chances’ which is easily the most enjoyable song of the band’s career so far with its bouncy guitars and healthy mix of clean and heavy vocals.

While Pardon My French is definitely better than I was expecting, it’s certainly not worth getting excited about. It’s one of those albums where I can see myself returning to a few of the standout tracks, but all in all it’s anchored down by obvious flaws. It’s kind of aggravating because their potential to improve is apparent, but they still haven’t figured out how to craft a consistently solid release. However, if their newest effort proves anything, it’s that there may be a light at the end of the tunnel.



Recent reviews by this author
Fall to November Sky... A Little Sounds for an Empty WorldNew Found Glory Resurrection
The Residents EskimoTrvth Approaching
Agalloch The Serpent and the SphereThe Byrds Mr. Tambourine Man
user ratings (135)
Chart.
2.9
good
other reviews of this album
Charlie (3.5)
Pure, unadulteraded fun -- now with four additional, solid tracks....

GearsofWhore3 (4)
It's time to "Restart" the life of a fallen captain....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Contributing Reviewer
May 3rd 2013


20158 Comments


some songs surprised me, others sucked ass. criticism always encouraged

Digging: Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

ViperAces
May 3rd 2013


12504 Comments


"A pop-punk/hardcore band hailing from France."

manosg
May 3rd 2013


6731 Comments


Read the review because of Atari but french pop punk is not my style.

Digging: Whitesnake - Slide It In

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2013


3545 Comments


This is just a horrible band name. Good review as always, may give some in-depth criticism later today

Digging: Nicki Minaj - The Pinkprint

CrimsonLies
May 3rd 2013


2045 Comments


Pardon my faggotry

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2013


3545 Comments


Here's some constructive criticism, then:

One doesn't exactly have to go out of their way to find reasons to hate Chunk! No Captain, Chunk!

I feel like it would be better to say something like "It's not difficult to find reasons..."

Granted I didn’t dislike their debut as much as some, but it certainly didn’t leave anything to be desired for their next release.

should be a comma after granted, probably

However, somehow the French “pop-core” band have actually managed to improve on their sophomore effort Pardon my French.

This sentence just rubs me the wrong way for some reason. Maybe it's the "actually," maybe it's the "somehow," I don't really know. I just don't think it flows particularly well as a sentence.

In fact, they drop F-bombs constantly throughout the album, only proving their lack of lyrical creativity, or maybe it’s just pure laziness.

After a really solid second paragraph, this is just not a good conclusion. I'd rewrite it something like: "Their constant f-bombs suggest either a lack of lyrical creativity or pure laziness."

the punchy guitar-work which steals the show on songs like ‘Hater’s Gonna Hate’ which has a definite New Found Glory vibe.

The last bit of this sentence is kinda unnecessary.

It may be a terrible song name, but it has one of the most soaring choruses on the entire album.

I feel like "Terrible song name aside..." would be better

However, if their newest effort proves anything, it’s that there may be a light at the end of the tunnel.

The "It's that" is kinda unnecessary

Overall really good job, these are mostly phrasing nitpicks for better flow. Your ideas are always really solid, if at times expressed in a questionable way, and I think that within a little bit you'll be able to improve even that as well.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
May 3rd 2013


20158 Comments


Thanks for the feedback bro

Ironically, my opening sentence was originally pretty much what u suggested lol not sure why I changed it.

As far as the sentence where I say they "actually" improve I use that word because I feel like nobody would have expected this to be any better than their debut. Perhaps the combination of somehow and actually is what irks you?

This was actually my first 2.5/5 review so it was hard to write lol but thanks again for the criticism will do some edits when I get to work in a bit



omnipanzer
May 3rd 2013


21660 Comments


Nice review, I like your objectivity.
Not sure what edit's have already been made but as it sits at this moment I think it reads pretty well.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
May 3rd 2013


20158 Comments


Thanks omni I appreciate it.

I haven't made any edits yet but that's the funny thing about criticism - everybody seems to have a different preference ;)

omnipanzer
May 3rd 2013


21660 Comments


A lot of amateur reviews that are technically written well still read a little disjointed or stilted to me making it hard to really give advice. There isn't anything really wrong with them per say it just has a bad tone or flow. I thought this flowed rather nicely tbh. that being said double it in length and I might have a different take on it altogether. ;-)

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
May 3rd 2013


20158 Comments


well thanks either way man. like i mentioned before it was my first 2.5/5 review so was kinda hard to gather my thoughts on this one. It's so much easier to write about an album you love lol

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 3rd 2013


22059 Comments


Welcome to my world

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
May 3rd 2013


20158 Comments


lol well now at least I've done an album review for every possible score : ) except dem .1 increments.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 3rd 2013


22059 Comments


I still haven't reviewed anything above a 4

Ecnalzen
May 3rd 2013


6825 Comments


Damn, I commented on the wrong review of this. I am going to write the same thing on this thread too, just for the hell of it.

So, this band is a shitty (or shittier, as some might put it) version of ADTR?

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 3rd 2013


22059 Comments


yeah

At least, based off that one song I heard

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
May 3rd 2013


20158 Comments


@Ecnal, yeah pretty much. If you don't get at least some enjoyment out of ADTR then I doubt you'll like it.

However, if you're brave enough to give it a go, start with track 2 taking chances. (just noticed the tracklist is off i'll get it updated)

Ecnalzen
May 3rd 2013


6825 Comments


I somewhat enjoyed What Separates Me From You. I wasn't as much of a fan of the two before it though.

The harsh vox are kind of weird sounding. The cleans seem like pretty standard of the pop-punk variety. All in all, it wasn't too bad. Sounded like something that could have been on For Those Who Have Heart.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
May 3rd 2013


20158 Comments


you mean taking chances or the album itself?

TheSpirit
May 3rd 2013


18001 Comments


i really like these guys cover of we are who we are. like a lot.

good review

Digging: The Speed of Sound in Seawater - Red Version



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy