Vicious Rumors
Electric Punishment


4.0
excellent

Review

by Voivod STAFF
April 29th, 2013 | 15 replies


Release Date: 05/07/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Vicious Rumors step up in intensity and call for a spin within a violent mosh pit, at a venue near you.

Seeing what Vicious Rumors have accomplished since the release of Razorback Killers album in 2011, one would assume that the music industry got a tad fairer. The high merit of that album allowed the band to tour at venues or open air festivals around the globe and solidified the (then) newly found line-up, as it seems that the all-star crew assembled in Warball (2006) was more of a solid band kick-start. At some point, the exhausting tours ended and Vicious Rumors had to regroup and translate the momentum built for them into new material of equal (if not better) quality. The wait is finally over and the new album Electric Punishment, sees Vicious Rumors meeting the aforementioned challenge in full, as the record revolves around everything the band stands for and then some.

For the third time in a row since Warball, the Bay Area, San Francisco based US power metal veterans arrange and reproduce their trademark sound with the focus lying upon the glorious days of old and albums such as Welcome To The Ball and Word Of Mouth. Being way heavier than its direct predecessor, the album constitutes a devastating US power/thrash beat-down fest, whereas this is probably the closest Vicious Rumors have ever got to speed/ Bay Area thrash metal, with acts such as Metallica or Testament coming to mind in certain occasions. Axemen Geoff Thorpe and Thean Rasmussen (with guest appearances from former band members Brad Gillis, Mark McGhee and tour guitarist Bob Capka) are ripping skulls, as their rhythm/lead guitars are balancing aptly between sheer heaviness and melody. The same apply for the rock-solid rhythm section of Larry Howe and Stephen Goodwin. On the other hand, the vocals of Brian Allen have been vastly improved since Razorback Killers, as his Halford-meets-Dio, high-pitch wailing is fully unleashed and further complemented with a coarser, almost punk attitude (for example, listen to “Dime Store Prophet”).

Apart from the traditional metal icons of Judas Priest and Iron Maiden and the obvious interplay with Bay Area speed/thrash metal, Vicious Rumors had also had a soft spot for hard rock and the blues and Electric Punishment is decorated accordingly. The blues are evident in traces in the album’s dynamic material (check out the solo shifting the time signatures in “D Block”), while they dominate in tracks such as the more subdued “Eternally”. As for hard rock, while it appears to be moulded with traditional metal raids in power ballads such as “Escape (From Hell)”, it revels in the excellent cover for Kiss’s “Strange Ways” and the arena rock anthem “Together We Unite”, a sincere and heartfelt Thank You from the band to the fans. The previously mentioned songs give a different note on the album, yet Vicious Rumors save one last pack of dynamite just one turn before the end with “Thirst For A Kill”, a heavy/thrash head-banger, destined to be a crowd pleaser.

In their eleventh full length observation, Vicious Rumors step up in intensity and call for a spin within a violent mosh pit, at a venue near you. If anything, Electric Punishment is yet another example of how a band can be prolifically inspired by its prior legacy, while exploiting the much needed, fan based momentum during live concerts.



Recent reviews by this author
Sanctuary The Year the Sun DiedVoivod Voivod
Essence Beyond CarnivalismElectric Citizen Sateen
Vicious Rumors Live You to Death 2 - American PunishmentMayhem Esoteric Warfare
user ratings (10)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2013


6209 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I Am The Gun:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=lVHD-wuidKY#at=332


Thirst For A Kill:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KAnpkZiFZLM




The album was officially released in Europe yesterday (April 29), so here it is people.

Constructive criticism is most welcome.

Digging: Seduced (AT) - The Proclamation

YUJOS
April 29th 2013


942 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Band needs to do more clips with chicks holding weapons!! Apart from that I think I have to check the album after reading lines like that "...the album constitutes a devastating US power/thrash beat-down fest".

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III - Saturnian Poetry

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2013


6209 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is their most aggressive album yet.

I have been spinning this for almost a month and its replay value remained almost intact.

YUJOS
April 29th 2013


942 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I miss those aggressive power metal albums generally speaking. Voi do you have any rec's to give me about that particular style, mainly if you heard any new band(s) playing this kind of style?

bloc
April 29th 2013


34927 Comments


I'll be listening to this

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2013


6209 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@YUJOS

My latest discovery in this sector is a band from Detroit, Michigan called Wulfhook and their latest demo.

Killer stuff!

As for bands with one or more studio albums, be sure to check everything from Lizzy Borden, Oliver Magnum, Hittman (first album!!!), Lethal (from Seattle, first album), Throes of Sanity, Chastain, CJSS, Syris, Helstar, Wardrum (second album), Destiny's End, Tension (killer album!!!), Leathen Nunn, Steel Prophet (Inner Ascendance demo!!!), everything from Jag Panzer, Drive (first album), Riot (the last album and the two 80s albums with Tony Moore on vocals), Titan Force (first album!!!) and so on, the list is endless.

YUJOS
April 29th 2013


942 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Woah!!! Thanx man! I try to check as many as possible stuff from what you rec'd me. I thought Lizzy Borden were playing glam metal and stuff like that.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2013


6209 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Lizzy Borden's looks back in the 80s are definitely glam rock, but their sound is metal with specs of glam rock here and there.

The same applies for Vicious Rumors.



@bloc

This will be highly rewarding for you or anyone into thrashy US power metal.

Willie
Moderator
April 30th 2013


16051 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I love Welcome to the Ball, but nothing else has really grabbed me the same way as that album. I think it was the perfect mix of everything.

Also, Helstar's vocalist will be singing for these guys for their May shows. Could be interesting.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2013


6209 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Have you listened to Word of Mouth Willie?

I think you would like it as much as Welcome To The Ball.

TheNotrap
April 30th 2013


8109 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"I Am The Gun" is a good track, I will check this out.
Good review as usual.

"Also, Helstar's vocalist will be singing for these guys for their May shows. Could be interesting."
James Rivera is a pretty good vocalist, should be interesting indeed.

Madbutcher3
May 1st 2013


1152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I Am The Gun was really pretty great so I'm gonna check this fully

Dunpeal
May 31st 2013


3689 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

as generically corny as that band pic is, this album is quite good. only annoyance is when the singer carries his high vocals. I'm not sure if it's the reverb on it or if he just can't pull it off. it's distracting from what otherwise be a great sound overall

ThrashTillDeath94
June 16th 2013


595 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review, this sounds really interesting, might check.

ThrashTillDeath94
June 16th 2013


595 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is a really great album. Solid music that keeps me interested, heavy yet catchy at the same
time. My only gripe is with the vocalist, as I don't really dig his higher registers.
Other than that, this is a good find and a definite candidate for my 2013 list.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy