The Summer Set
Legendary


1.0
awful

Review

by Aaron CONTRIBUTOR (109 Reviews)
April 28th, 2013 | 102 replies


Release Date: 04/16/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: “We’ve got all night, if you've got rock and roll, you’re gonna be alright. So give me one more drink and play my favorite song. Put a quarter in the jukebox and sing along.”

Hearing The Summer Set sing about rock and roll on their newest effort really rubs me the wrong way. Now, I consider myself to be a rather open minded music listener as I’m more than willing to step outside of my comfort zone, and I tend to give every album a fair chance. However, every once in a while an album comes along that is so contrived, so bottom-of-the-barrel, that it must be made known to the world. To be honest, I’m not very familiar with The Summer Set. Sure, I’ve heard a few of their songs, but they never really left much of an impression on me (good or bad). So out of pure curiosity I decided I’d give their new album a shot, and what a frustrating mistake it was. Given the sound of the album, they wouldn’t know rock and roll if it bit them where it hurts.

Few words can even express just how bad The Summer Set’s newest album is. I‘ve heard my fair share of disappointing music, but the ironically titled Legendary creates a new definition of low for the genre. I honestly don’t remember the last time I heard such a childish attempt at an album. Every song is so lyrically inept and devoid of any substance, you’ll likely find yourself either laughing or getting pissed off you wasted your time listening to songs about Dawson’s Creek. Granted, the genre isn’t exactly known for its stellar lyrics, but these are extraordinarily bad, almost as if the band didn’t even try. Unfortunately, it’s not any more impressive musically, as every song sounds nearly the same with lazily used electronics and uninspired guitars. There’s just nothing exciting enough going on to make up for the album’s lack of character.

Despite the album being constantly painful to listen to, there are some well executed ideas. Such as the upbeat electronics that enhance the chorus of ‘Boomerang’, but that isn’t enough to save it from lyrics like If I was Jay-Z, you’d be my Beyonce, We could rock the nation like they do. Literally every song is plagued with poorly-written and even shameful lyrics. And let’s not forget about lines like Well I must confess, I’m a little obsessed with Dawson’s Creek. Yeah I know what you think, it’s not what it seems. Can I buy you a drink? The funny thing is, it’s hard to even imagine the vocalist being able to handle his liquor, let alone finding somebody who’d actually be willing to party with him. Had I known what I was getting myself into upon listening to the album, I would have had a few drinks myself.

Hopefully, The Summer Set’s newest album will be the worst thing I’ll have to sit through all year. With songs so artificial they make bands like Boys Like Girls sound appealing, it really is a bare boned offering. Thankfully, the title track is slightly better than the trash that infests the rest of the album, as the vocalist doesn’t sound as annoying, and at least the lyrics are slightly better. However, by the time you get that far into the album, you’ll have run out of any possible reason to care. And then you’ll be hunting for some extra-strength Tylenol.



Recent reviews by this author
The Residents EskimoTrvth Approaching
Agalloch The Serpent and the SphereThe Byrds Mr. Tambourine Man
Somos Temple of PlentyFireworks Oh, Common Life
user ratings (29)
Chart.
2.3
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 28th 2013


19798 Comments


whoever added this piece of shit you forgot the tracklisting : 3 lol

honestly though, this is genuinely terrible and my first 1/1 review. any feedback or criticism is appreciated as always.

Digging: Yellowcard - Lift a Sail

FiveLeavesLeft
April 28th 2013


9838 Comments


Haha, saw this shitstorm coming

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 28th 2013


19798 Comments


Well I wasn't expecting it to be very good but damn

Also, I just realized I haven't done a 2.5/5 review yet lol

Cygnatti
April 28th 2013


21352 Comments


Good review. If you read my sound off, you would've know what you were getting into.

I hate when people say "for what it is" or some shit like that. What the hell does that even mean? What is it other than being a
piece if shit?

Also, Atari, I added it to the db but refrained from adding the tracklsting because the memory of the album was too painful to
try and remember.

Digging: Jon Hopkins - Immunity

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 28th 2013


19798 Comments


thanks and yeah I dont blame u lol

henryChinaski
April 28th 2013


2767 Comments


Absolutepunk's rating for this was 9/10 so I kinda guessed it would be terrible.

Digging: Empires - Orphan

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 28th 2013


19798 Comments


You're kidding!? Lol in what world is this even close to a 9/10

Cygnatti
April 28th 2013


21352 Comments


Was it joe deandrea again?
That guys taste is like breaking the fragile's but infinitely more narrow and infinitely worse.

MuhNamesTyler
April 28th 2013


4182 Comments


Think I've heard a few of their songs, don't remember them being any good. After reading this I'll be staying away. Good review

Digging: Crooks - Nevermore

MikeC26
April 28th 2013


3181 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

nice one man! i'm sure 12 year old girls around the world will gushing at this one, unfortunately.

joshieboy12345
April 28th 2013


5370 Comments


This review has seriously put me off listening to this haha.

Calc
April 28th 2013


12213 Comments


I spy with my little eye, a small mistake in the second paragraph.


album sounds dope where's the link foo?

Digging: Milo - A Toothpaste Suburb

CaptainHadouken
April 28th 2013


1960 Comments


wow, Atari did one review? damn dude, i've only done a two at lowest for reviews. This must be pretty terrible.

bloc
April 28th 2013


34873 Comments


Isn't this the band with the drummer who is hot as hell?

MikeC26
April 28th 2013


3181 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

yeah she's definitely a babe

CaptainHadouken
April 28th 2013


1960 Comments


yet to see the babe you speak of. Perhaps it is google time.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 28th 2013


19798 Comments


@Calc, can u be a pal and point out the mistake? Just waking up and I don't see it ;)

And the album is streaming on spotify for those brave enough to check it out

Treeman
April 28th 2013


1223 Comments


yeah everything ive heard released from this album was cringeworthy so i didnt expect the complete thing to be any better

ViralOblivion
April 28th 2013


7679 Comments


Good review man this sounds just awful what's more torture this or an episode of Grey's anatomy?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 28th 2013


19798 Comments


an episode of grey's anatomy is a walk in the park compared to this garbage lol. and thank man so you liked my rant eh? ;)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy