Rob Zombie
Venomous Rat Regeneration Vendor


3.0
good

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
April 22nd, 2013 | 68 replies | 8,543 views


Release Date: 04/23/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Cheaper thrills.

When Rob Zombie announced the band would focus on harder hitting material for their fifth record, chances rose for a better follow-up to 2010's scattershot, Hellbilly Deluxe 2. Unfortunately, the outcome is again rather disappointing, with Venomous Rat Regeneration Vendor sounding as silly as the title itself. Being even more whimsical in nature, the record threatens to dissolve Zombie's remaining relevancy as a lyricist.

It is true that Venomous Rat Regeneration Vendor rocks more than the previous two installments in the band's discography (Hellbilly Deluxe 2 and Educated Horses), but it's harder and harder to get past the fact these guys are recycling the same few tricks every time. John 5 is one hell of a guitar player, as he displays in his solo efforts, yet he sticks to the same straightforward riffs that everyone became accustomed to since his Manson days and can be done in his sleep. New member, Ginger Fish (also ex-Marilyn Manson), provides a more electronic approach to the drumming section, which is a welcomed addition to the same, worn formula. Often, these simple, hard hitting drum patterns give 5 and Zombie the power they need for their delivery. Regardless, much like Manson's case, these guys have to remember this is the Rob Zombie show and like John said in an interview "He’s the boss and if he wants it a certain way, that’s how it’s going to be. I’ll put in my two cents and then he’ll put in his, but at the end of the day, he’s the boss and he’ll always be the boss". Always relying on the same hellish bark and hillbilly apocalyptic scenarios, which are getting more cartoonish with each album, it is clear that Zombie isn't interested in experimenting or letting the other members develop the musical ideas. As a result, the tunes are always the same 3-minute, hit or miss, kitsch goth party rockers.

The lyrical content, as mentioned, is the main reason this record isn't as good as it should be. Tracks like "Ging Gang Gong De Do Gong De Laga Raga", "Teenage Nosferatu Pussy" or "Behold! The Pretty Filthy Creatures" are plagued by terrible lyrics, even though the music is solid, especially on the latter. Most of the others are sticking to the same non-sense B-movie horror shtick, but less annoying. Also, the electronic experiments aren't always that convincing, as it's the case with "Rock And Roll (In A Black Hole)", a song that only jumps several times from a minimal drum and synth line to a heavy, in-your-face chorus, without any other segments in between. This one will most likely engage the fan base into a bipolar debate.

However, not all is bad on Venomous Rat Regeneration Vendor, as the band is still capable from time to time to churn compelling, high octane tunes. These include "Lucifer Rising", "Revelation Revolution" and the short closer, "Trade In Your Guns For A Coffin", which can be compared to his scorching late 90s and early 00s output. Also, "Dead City Radio And The New Gods Of Supertown" is the glam influenced, metal tune that Marilyn Manson's "Arma-Goddamn-Mother***in'-Geddon" should've been, while the Grand Funk Railroad cover, "We're An American Band" deserves some credit too. The song is successfully transposed to Zombie's demented redneck world and his raspy voice, along with his Southern accent makes it as authentic as can be.

Venomous Rat Regeneration Vendor ends up as an inconsistent record that most likely isn't going to win the band any new fans. It's heavy enough to satisfy for a short period of time, but Rob needs to revise his lyrics because he'll soon become a mockery of himself. The band brings in some of the best riffs in a while, still the Zombie filter works the same way for more than a decade, with less enticing results each time.



Recent reviews by this author
Causa Sui Pewt'r Sessions 3Karma To Burn Arch Stanton
Yawning Man Nomadic PursuitsSeven That Spells The Death And Resurrection Of Krautrock: IO
Tim Bowness Abandoned Dancehall DreamsWo Fat The Conjuring
user ratings (114)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
AaronBatt (3.5)
Stoopidly fun......

PsychicChris (4)
The real Hellbilly Deluxe 2...

Jacob Russell (4)
Zombie tries to have a little fun, but will his attempts to start a party be in vain?...


Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2013



3374 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

A bit bummed, I wanted it to be better. Constructive criticism appreciated. The record came out in mainland Europe on April 19 and it will be released on April 23 worldwide.

Trade In Your Guns For A Coffin - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ztgDIOJbnN0
We're An American Band - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mqFpFJrxG6s
Revelation Revolution - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JuMkiJmjx7E


Digging: Amplifier - Mystoria

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2013



7365 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah. It seems you're right about this album. I gave it one spin and wasn't impressed.

Digging: 68 - In Humor and Sadness

CaptainHadouken
April 22nd 2013



1960 Comments


Havent jammed Zombie since hellbilly deluxe honestly. I'll read through it and see man.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2013



7365 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Solid review. One error I came across: "the band is still capable from time to time to churn compelling, high octane tunes" should be "the band is still capable from time to time of churning out compelling..."

CaptainHadouken
April 22nd 2013



1960 Comments


2nd paragraph

"John 5 is one hell of a guitar player, as evidenced in his solo efforts"

Try replacing as evidenced with something, such as "as he displays"

"Nevertheless": Never-the-less, or replace it with something like Regardless.

1st paragraph

"Unfortunately, the outcome is again rather disappointing, Venomous Rat Regeneration Vendor sounding as silly as the title itself."

try "with Venomous Rat Regeneration Vender sounding..." or replace sounding with sounds.

Those will help the review flow better and those are the errors i spotted. Other than that looks good.





NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 22nd 2013



6993 Comments


Exact feeling on this record, just like all his records. So much room to grow doesn't use an inch of it.

CaptainHadouken
April 22nd 2013



1960 Comments


Yeah, to be honest, after Hillbilly deluxe, not much zombie has been jammed, the few songs i have heard later sounded like rehash, so the review is pretty accurate.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2013



3374 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Thanks for pointing out mistakes, I appreciate that.

Half of the record is solid, but I can't get past Zombie's dumb lyrics. He is a good movie director, I enjoy his stuff, however, his music is average nowadays.

CaptainHadouken
April 22nd 2013



1960 Comments


No problem man, I have stuff in mine all the time, and wish they had a preview mode on here since I can read better in the review format. I dug the remake of Halloween and Devil's Rejects. Pretty stoked for Lord of Salem as well.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2013



3374 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Yeah, Lords Of Salem seems pretty interesting. I doubt it will appear at the cinema in my city, so I'll wait for some DVD.

CaptainHadouken
April 22nd 2013



1960 Comments


Yeah same here, if it does, im checking it though.

CaptainHadouken
April 22nd 2013



1960 Comments


We shall see.

LilLioness
April 22nd 2013



2496 Comments


Whoa, for some reason I never realized this was the actual album name. Zombie, you and your hokey titles.

I love how John 5's comment about working with Zombie makes the way Zombie conducted himself in this interview all the more asinine and hypocritical. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rnNwXjlHcgQ

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2013



3374 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Yeah, it's the official title and a bit stupid. From the interviews I saw, he's a nice guy (a lot more reasonable than Manson anyway), but he's content with dropping the same stuff because he's into this stuff.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 22nd 2013



19672 Comments


prolly won't bother with new rob zombie but great review man!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2013



3374 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Thanks. It's worse than expected unfortunately.

BassDemon333
April 23rd 2013



3366 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This is so much better than his last two albums

Digging: Mudvayne - L.D. 50

YoYoMancuso
April 23rd 2013



11027 Comments


i didn't even know Zob Rombie was still alive

DarkSideOfLucca
April 23rd 2013



3273 Comments


I still only heard his first album

ViralOblivion
April 23rd 2013



7679 Comments


I heard him guest star on a podcast recently he actually seems like a really chill dude and he has a true indie spirit with his movies it's just a shame he makes shitty movies and shitty music.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy