Grover Washington, Jr.
Winelight


5.0
classic

Review

by Jimmy USER (5 Reviews)
April 19th, 2013 | 12 replies | 812 views


Release Date: 1980 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A forgotten masterpiece...

2 of 3 thought this review was well written

This has always been my most favourite pop jazz record. I know it's surely not comparable to classic jazz/bop creations, but Mr. Washington is surely an exceptional saxophonist and composer. ''Winelight'' is the ultimate piece you listen to if you want to relax after a tiring day or spend some romantic time with a special individual. Smooth music accompanied with a glass of red wine.

The album starts with the song of the same name, a funky 7 minute long composition which absolutely shows off what the other tracks have to offer. Washington jams with his sax throughout while fellow players exchange solos with their instruments (with the most distinctive of them being Marcus Miller's ass kicking bass).

"Let It Flow (For Dr. J)'' comes up next, another rhytmic piece similar to the first track with the only difference of having a faster beat. Some very beautiful keyboards can also be heard in the background.

''In the Name of Love'' is the following track and the final piece on the first side of the vinyl. This is the song out of all the other five that I totally adore. A smooth, unforgettable gem.

''Take Me There'' presents the second side of this masterpiece. It is some kind of a mixture of all the previous tracks. Begins as a slow melody and then becomes more exciting and funky.

And now, we come to the most famous song off the album, ''Just the Two of Us''. Maybe this groovy jazz ballad is one of the most memorable quiet storm jams of all time. Washington's saxophone and Bill Withers' harmonic vocals make it fantastic. It was surely worth the Grammy.

Finally, the album closes with the track ''Make Me A Memory (Sad Samba)''. I frequently relate this song to ''In the Name of Love'', maybe because it is as smooth and melodic as the previously mentioned composition is. A magnificent way to close a magnificent album.

Wouldn't be important to waste more time by getting into detail about this record. It's flawless and it should be comprising every classic listener's collection. Unfortunately, sometimes it is slightly overlooked. This is very odd. I can partially understand this negative reception because of its songs' structure. People cannot recognise a poppish jazz album as a classic just because it doesn't represent the original modal productions older artists were providing in the past years. Comparable or not, this record is the only jazz album that can calm you down or cheer you up any time you want to enjoy some awesome music.


user ratings (6)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
trending jazz albums

III

Piano Nights

Comments:Add a Comment 
hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
April 19th 2013



1571 Comments


A little short, but solid second review.

JimmyJJJ
April 19th 2013



63 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Short and simple dude. Anything more is not important. Thanks for the feedback.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
April 19th 2013



3409 Comments


Few things:

1. don't bold song names. Album should be italicized, songs should be set off with quotation marks.
2. It's typically a pretty poor idea to set each song aside with its own paragraph. Track-by-tracks are typically viewed as very unprofessional and frowned upon. It's not your job to tell us what each individual track sounds like, it's your job to talk about the album as a whole. See some staff/contrib reviews to see what I mean.
3. You say some puzzling and/or improper things in your review. See: "most favourite," "rhytmic," and that part where you talk about how one song is really good because it shows off what the rest of the songs can do.

JimmyJJJ
April 19th 2013



63 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Your statement is completely false, friend. Everyone writes his/her reviews the way he/she is able to. There is not a typical form that should be followed when writing a review and this is obvious because if you have a check around other records, you will surely find variations on the reviews that are present. 80 percent of the people around the site tell me to refer to each song individually, so I can't get your point here. This is the way I am able to write reviews on classic albums i like. Acceptance of the way I write is in the observer's point of view.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
April 19th 2013



3409 Comments


Show me two accomplished writers on the site who say use a song-by-song format and I will admit defeat, however it's just not true. It's fine to write about each song I suppose, I'm just saying that your review will objectively be better if you format it the way other people write. Right now it looks kind of unprofessional and sloppy.

JimmyJJJ
April 19th 2013



63 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Again, this is just your point of view. I don't think that it is always significant for every review to be over 200 words. What would you write for an EP that would consist only of two songs, then? Pointless things just to make the review longer? That's where your false point is and I can absolutely find you many reviews which define what I mentioned on my previous comment.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
April 19th 2013



3409 Comments


I honestly have no idea what you're saying at this point. I'm not trying to fight you, I'm trying to give you helpful feedback I've learned over the course of my time at Sputnik. What do you mean "it's significant for every review to be over 200 words?" Are you saying your reviews can be short? It's true - look at Adam Thomas. However, his style of reviewing fits into what I described as "professional" - he talks about the album as a whole. Look at every single one of the recent staff reviews - all talk almost exclusively about the album as a whole. Look at any other professional site - Pitchfork, for example - and you'll see my point.

JimmyJJJ
April 20th 2013



63 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Dude, I am sorry if you're looking for "colorful" and "stylistic" words but English is not my mother tongue. All the other music guide sites have short and solid reviews. It's only here that people want long detailed reviews. I accept your feedback and the info you provide me with but that wont change much. Also, what defines professional and unprofessional? Have you studied to be a writer at a university?

manosg
April 28th 2013



5872 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent album, props for reviewing it.

Digging: Anacrusis - Manic Impressions

JimmyJJJ
April 30th 2013



63 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thank you for the props man. Appreciate that

emprorzurg
March 13th 2014



513 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is an incredible jazz album

manosg
March 13th 2014



5872 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah. It has a great atmosphere.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy