Disturbed
The Sickness


2.5
average

Review

by Musicperson USER (1 Reviews)
April 18th, 2013 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Front-loaded with the album’s addictive singles, The Sickness falls off all too quickly into dull, meandering riffs.

The explosion of rap tinged-hard rock in the twilight years of the twentieth century has been well noted: radio’s new sweetheart earned its own moniker, ‘nu metal’, and attracted band after band of tattooed twenty and thirty somethings, many adopting a caricatured macho presence hoping to pull in the almighty dollar. Anybody familiar with the music knows that Chicago hard rockers Disturbed were one of the most successful of the era (and one of the few that have survived nu-metal’s demise with continued success). The Sickness, Disturbed’s debut, came out in the zenith of the rap-rock movement, and they certainly wasted no time in introducing themselves to a mass audience. The album’s singles all received massive airplay, prompting their debut to quadruple-platinum status. Disturbed achieved this by sticking relatively close to the formula solidified by Limp Bizkit, albeit trading in the aforementioned band’s rapping for vocalist David Draiman’s harsh scatting. Disturbed is distinguishable thanks to Draiman’s vocal stylings, but the band doesn’t venture from many of nu metal’s recognizable elements: guitars play low, repetitious distorted riffs, the drums thump along as a backdrop, and (of course) the bass is nary audible. The same-ness of it all is more forgivable on the album’s singles, which are incredibly catchy and enjoyable ‘pump-up’ headbangers for an athletic locker-room, but most of the remainder is choked out by the genre’s simplistic tendencies, with plodding riffs moving the songs along at an all-too-tedious rate.

Recommended tracks: The Game, Stupify, Down with the Sickness


user ratings (1845)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gwyn.
April 18th 2013


15105 Comments


hey Look a soundoff

ChopSuey
April 18th 2013


2392 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

the summary is true

DirEnRefused
April 18th 2013


2176 Comments


Good first review, if it is indeed your first review. A little too much delving into the context
surrounding the album, rather than the album itself, but that's kinda subjective preference.

I, personally, don't mind the length. A glib, general paragraph can be quite refreshing if written
well.

Vakarian12
April 18th 2013


3848 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

eugggh this album is horrid

Digging: Eternum - The Devouring Descent

NeoSpaz
April 18th 2013


4518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

wow and i thought some of my reviews were short

nononsense
April 18th 2013


3390 Comments


YOWAH-AH-AH-AH

Digging: Invent, Animate - Everchanger

NeoSpaz
April 18th 2013


4518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There's at least more than a paragraph you can write about

NeoSpaz
April 18th 2013


4518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

if you take them out, its not really that bad

SadAndHolyGlow
April 19th 2013


1521 Comments


Great first review!

Digging: Death From Above 1979 - You're a Woman, I'm a Machine

joshieboy12345
April 19th 2013


5370 Comments


Short review, but you got your ideas across.

breakingthefragile
April 19th 2013


2956 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh, who the fuck cares if it's short. Some of the most popular reviewing sites have some of the most
brief reviews. I thought this was a really great first review. You get across everything you want to
say in very few words, and you have a very immediate and to-the-point flow about your writing style
that never stalls or drags. This is a concise review done well. Have a pos.

Digging: Cathedrals - Cathedrals EP

DrHouseSchuldiner
April 19th 2013


5643 Comments


Pos'd... hilarious album

joshieboy12345
April 19th 2013


5370 Comments


Pos'd as well.

wanderlust
April 19th 2013


305 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Album is decent at best. The game and droppin plates is still my jam thou.

osmark86
April 19th 2013


4119 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

shit sandwich

Digging: Schammasch - Contradiction

demigod!
April 19th 2013


44475 Comments


title track never stops being fun

will never forget the time we blasted this in commtech class in high school and we were all pounding on the computer tables so hard and WAH AH AH AHing loud as fuk

Digging: Portishead - Dummy

Vakarian12
April 19th 2013


3848 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

'shit sandwich'


hahahahah goddamn I need to watch that again!

Storm In A Teacup
April 19th 2013


12787 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Agree with breakingthefragile

osmark86
April 19th 2013


4119 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

"hahahahah goddamn I need to watch that again!"

yea, it's been way too long for me as well :P

Vakarian12
April 19th 2013


3848 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Zdyo4vJuCU

best scene



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy