Turnover
Magnolia


4.0
excellent

Review

by NothingForSomething USER (22 Reviews)
April 11th, 2013 | 81 replies


Release Date: 04/16/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Magnolia awakens the dormant emo kid in Turnover.

The most unusual thing about Virginia Beach pop-punk outfit Turnover is how quickly they’ve developed a sweet spot in their sound. On the band’s debut full-length Magnolia, Turnover have trimmed the fat in the previous incarnation of their sound with near-perfect accuracy. Gone is the grating vocal style and homogenized pop-punk formula present on their self-titled EP, and in its place is more of the band’s subdued and darker side. That’s not to say the former elements were ever bad, it’s just that Turnover have realized they bring something new and exciting into a scene where a lot of bands simply reiterate on what’s already been done, and they choose to expand on that with Magnolia.

With the band on the cusp of their ever-expanding popularity since their split 7” with Citizen, it was a bold move for Turnover to make the stylistic change present on Magnolia. The darker, 90’s emo-inspired vibe is undoubtedly due in part to Turnover’s choice of appointing Will Yip as producer, who’s recent work has included Title Fight’s Floral Green. However, after listening to standout tracks like “Shiver” and “Hollow,” it is clear that Yip brought out the latent emo kid in Turnover rather than force the style upon the band. The way Turnover blends that influence with their pop-punk roots is seamless and intuitive in a scene populated with many one-dimensional bands.

Albeit the new sound, detailed and intelligent songwriting is what truly sets Magnolia apart from other pop punk releases this year. The way the band plays with tempos in “Shiver” and the fantastic guitar work in “To The Bottom” are perfect examples of how Turnover have, instead of simply letting the vocals carry the songs, made sure the songwriting is always in perfect accompaniment with the vocals. And with such an emphasis on the darker, borderline 90’s emo atmosphere, the vocals and lyrics are just as important as the songwriting. Some of the best material Magnolia has to offer is also the material with the most impacting and well-written lyrics. “Like a Whisper” is packed with the aforementioned, with the line “Nothing you could ever say is loud enough to resonate” summing up the theme of the song quite well. “Wither” uses the simplicity of its lyrics such as “Everyone leaves and everything dies” to great effect because of its indisputable honesty and intentional repetition.

It may seem at first like Turnover have taken a huge risk with releasing Magnolia as their debut album, being as it’s a big step in a new direction for the band. However after a careful listen, it is clear that this was the music they had inside them all along. With the help of producer Will Yip and careful attention to detail and quality, Magnolia succeeds in every facet of a debut record. A “safer” record may have insured a steady increase to their growing fanbase, but Magnolia may very well see Turnover gain much more than that.



Recent reviews by this author
Defeater Letters HomeApart From This In Gloom
Senses Fail RenacerVanna The Few and the Far Between
Frameworks Small VictoriesWoe, Is Me Genesi[s]
user ratings (101)
Chart.
3.7
great
related reviews

Turnover

Comments:Add a Comment 
NothingForSomething
April 11th 2013


186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Official stream is up on AltPress. Originally posted here: http://www.xeasycorex.net/2013/04/review-turnover-magnolia.html

dimsim3478
April 11th 2013


5024 Comments


Oh man this rules

Digging: Little Big League - These Are Good People

KSK1
April 11th 2013


4083 Comments


I expect this to rule. Gotta listen soon.

pmmets07
April 11th 2013


5875 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

http://www.altpress.com/features/entry/album_premiere_turnover_magnolia

link for the lazy

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2013


1616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pretty good album, and great review! Gotta listen to this more.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2013


19756 Comments


Fuck yeah didn't know they had a new album coming out

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2013


1616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^I didn't either until this review popped up, Shiver is a great opener.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2013


19756 Comments


what the shit there's no review for their self titled EP? I call dibs.

Naridax
April 11th 2013


88 Comments


I don't understand how people can say that adding elements of emo to pop punk is "new." I didn't get it when people said the same thing about Basement two years ago. I didn't get it when people said the same thing about Tigers Jaw and Balance and Composure five years ago.

Naridax
April 11th 2013


88 Comments


Great album though.

Cygnatti
April 11th 2013


21352 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I have mixed feelings about this emo pop punk stuff.

Digging: Jon Hopkins - Immunity

Cygnatti
April 11th 2013


21352 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Whoa, Turnover's from Virginia beach.

Cygnatti
April 11th 2013


21352 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Whoa, Turnover's from Virginia beach?😵

pmmets07
April 11th 2013


5875 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

they stepped it up on this one. like naridax said, nothing new, but definitely a good album.

Cygnatti
April 11th 2013


21352 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Oops double post 🐙

NothingForSomething
April 11th 2013


186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I don't understand how people can say that adding elements of emo to pop punk is "new." I didn't get it when people said the same thing about Basement two years ago. I didn't get it when people said the same thing about Tigers Jaw and Balance and Composure five years ago."

Because this scene is filled to the brim with bands that literally do the exact same thing. Sure Turnover's direction on this album has been explored before, but I would never go as far as to say it is a blatant copy of something else. "New" in pop punk unfortunately holds less weight than it does within different realms of music.

Naridax
April 11th 2013


88 Comments


"Whoa, Turnover's from Virginia beach."

You already knew that. You had to. Remember when we went to go see them at the Jewish Mother? Remember how the crowd went nuts for Turnover, compared to the other bands?

The drummer went to our high school (and also got Chemistry student of the year over me lol.)

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2013


19756 Comments


pos by the way band rules but i like their EP more

Naridax
April 11th 2013


88 Comments


"i like their EP more"

This.

Winsomniac
April 11th 2013


7972 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this is really nice.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy