Thin Lizzy
Thunder and Lightning


4.5
superb

Review

by kual21 USER (16 Reviews)
March 31st, 2013 | 21 replies


Release Date: 1983 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Thunder And Lightning is an example of how heavy metal and hard rock music should be done.

This extraordinary heavy metal showdown is a 1983 release, entitled Thunder And Lightning, and constitutes, until now, the last album released by Thin Lizzy. It is also their last album with Phil Lynott before he died in 1986. Musically and emotionally it has a big impact in any Thin Lizzy fan, musically because it’s a high quality heavy metal album and emotionally because it’s the last album to feature Phil Lynott’s legendary voice.

Thunder And Lightning is the band’s heaviest album ever, it contains strong heavy metal elements, that makes this album a very strong and intense output in their discography. Lyrically, the band was able to write their best compositions in years. It opens with the powerful and enraged “Thunder And Lightning” that makes the general image of the record; although it's their heaviest release, Lynott and company were able to maintain their typical style of playing, combining melody and dark lyrics like “Heart Attack “ or “The Sun Goes Down”; but also, some strong love songs like “Baby Please Don't Go”. Although Thin Lizzy weren’t and aren’t a commercial rock band, in every single album they released, the band always had some big hits, in Thunder And Lightning that wasn’t exception with hits such as “Thunder And Lightning”, “Cold Sweat” or “The Sun Goes Down”. This epic contains two different sounds: the classic sound of Thin Lizzy, combines melody and fast instrumental parts, but also, shows a darker and enraged side of the band with heavier instrumental parts and darker lyrics making it an instant classic. Technically it is perfect and the band’s performance is extraordinary making it one of the best of the group. Phil Lynott’s voice and bass strings are perfect, with some excellent bass composition that allows this album to be as heavy as it is, and his voice is as always was…just perfect, enraged when necessary, but also, melodic or romantic in love songs or when catchy songs come in to play; Gorham and Sykes guitars are aggressive and heavy with some excellent riffs and solos in songs like “Cold Sweat”, “Thunder And Lightning” or “Baby Please Don’t Go”; Downey’s performance is divided into two parts, the fast/melodic compositions and the more aggressive and heavy drum compositions making one of his best performances in his career.

Thunder And Lightning was a change in direction for the band for a more aggressive and heavy sound. It was risky but the band “placed their bet and won”, for a big margin. It’s so complete!! The band innovated but didn’t forget their past. The band delivers, indeed, thunder and lightning! It’s one of 1983 finest in every way possible. For me it’s their second best album only surpassed by the awesome Black Rose. Thunder And Lightning is a hymn for heavy metal and hard rock music.



Recent reviews by this author
Black Star Riders All Hell Breaks LooseDeep Purple Now What?!
Rush FeedbackSaga The Chapters (Live)
City Boy The Day the Earth Caught FireRush Clockwork Angels
user ratings (92)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
March 31st 2013


6720 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Props for reviewing this album. Thin Lizzy needs more love in here.

Digging: Whitesnake - Slide It In

lostforwords
March 31st 2013


446 Comments


I haven't heard this either, and I seriously respect Lizzy. Your excitement convinced me to give it a try.
BTW, if I may give you an advice, try to be a little less excited and a little more objective in your future reviews.
But like Manolis said, props for reviewing this

lostforwords
March 31st 2013


446 Comments


Also, I believe Sputnik policy demands that you publish no more than one review per day, keep that in mind

tempest--
March 31st 2013


14628 Comments


Overuse of the words "heavy", "strong" and their derivatives, and "try to be a little less excited and a little more objective" [2]

Need to check this one out, haven't heard a whole lot of Thin Lizzy.

kual21
March 31st 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for reading, I write for several websites and webzines for quite some time now, but I will keep your constructive criticisms in mind. Sometimes I exagerate a bit, again thanks for reading..

greets,
kual21 (aka AndMetalForAll)

jtswope
April 1st 2013


2494 Comments


Always love me some Thin Lizzy!

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2013


6343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is probably their best album, with Jailbreak coming as a close second.

"Someday She's Going to Hit Back" is an awesome song and in general the album is filler-free.

Digging: Aspherium - The Fall of Therenia

Jethro42
April 1st 2013


12638 Comments


I gotta listen to this album. Thin Lizzy are great.

lostforwords
April 1st 2013


446 Comments


"This is probably their best album, with Jailbreak coming as a close second."

Wow is it really that good? I've got to listen to it ASAP

kual21
April 1st 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

In my opinion Black Rose is their best, one of the most emotional and probably their best technically.. But Jailbreak is an instant classic..

lostforwords
April 1st 2013


446 Comments


Black Rose, wow that's heretic!You might be right.
I need to check their post-Jailbreak career...

manosg
April 2nd 2013


6720 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed with kual21. Black Rose, Jailbreak and Johnny the Fox are my favorites from them in terms of studio albums. Nevertheless, Live And Dangerous is their best release overall imo.

kual21
April 2nd 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sure if we consider the live albums, Live And Dangerous is perfect, in fact in a scale from 0 to 10, I'd give it a 10 without a doubt. It's in my opinion one of the few perfect releases in the history of music...

Inveigh
April 2nd 2013


25201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wow, Thin Lizzy is one of my all time favorite bands and Jailbreak is a stone cold classic in my book (Johnny the Fox, Vagabonds of the Western World and Black Rose are all stellar as well), but I have never listened to this one much. I own it, just never gave it a big shot. That will change.

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

TheNotrap
June 26th 2013


8132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album rocks hard.

Digging: Funebrarum - The Sleep of Morbid Dreams

TheNotrap
June 26th 2013


8132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Thunder And Lightning was a change in direction for the band for a more aggressive and heavy sound."
Yeah, NWOBHM influences. Nice review, have a pos.

Thunderkat
March 29th 2014


576 Comments


is this their best?

MrSirLordGentleman
March 29th 2014


4881 Comments


lol no, Jailbreak

manosg
March 29th 2014


6720 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed. One of my favorite hard rock albums of all time.

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 10th 2014


3366 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this album fucking rips

Digging: Viet Cong - Viet Cong



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy