Paramore
Brand New Eyes


5.0
classic

Review

by bigdickedguy USER (14 Reviews)
March 30th, 2013 | 106 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Wow

Paramore are a band that many people love to hate, due to their accessible nature and the fact that they act like rock stars but in reality have always been more on the pop side of things. Their music is comprised of catchy guitar work but it is always fairly simplistic, maybe the occasional little solo to spice things up, and the rather varied and powerful vocal work of Hayley Williams. The one thing that not many people seem to speak of about the band is the fact that on every album they improve but do not really bring anything fresh to the table. For many bands this would be a problem, but with Paramore their sound is calved in stone, and therefore they do not really need to do anything innovative to create a fun and enjoyable record.

Brand New Eyes is the third studio effort from the band and stands out as the best they have put out. The instrumentals are catchier and more enjoyable than ever, with guitar work that is predictable but lays down the rhythm side of the band so that Hayley can do what she wishes vocally. The vocals are the most powerful to date and there is even a little variety to this release. Misguided Ghosts in particular stands out due to the fact that it is an acoustic song, and a ***ing powerful one at that. Hayley carries that song forward very well with some beautiful vocal lines that border on the heart wrenching whilst the instrumental moves forward at a steady pace behind her. Ignorance is the strongest song here however with an aggressive nature to it unlike much the band has ever done before and some cool lyrics such as the line "its a circle, i mean cycle". This is probably the best thing the band has ever done, and also the hardest hitting, with some powerful guitar work and Hayley's voice is layered with so much emotion that it sounds as though she just wants to burst into tears at times.

This album was far more than I expected after the rather incredible album that Riot was but it manages to far outdo that album in particular with some beautiful vocal work and the simplistic and predictable instrumental work actually fits this album. If you want a catchy and fun album then this is probably the best thing you will find.



Recent reviews by this author
brokeNCYDE I'm Not a Fan, but the Kids Like It!Emperor Anthems to the Welkin at Dusk
Carcass HeartworkBring Me the Horizon Suicide Season
Flyleaf FlyleafBlack Veil Brides Set the World on Fire
user ratings (1149)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 30th 2013


50458 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

bigdickedguy

Digging: Viper the Rapper - You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack

sixdegrees
March 30th 2013


17153 Comments


Wow

Digging: 10Minimal - Aluminum World

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

to like paramore you need to be a bigdickedguy

JS19
March 30th 2013


4311 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

But... How big?

Digging: Lights - Little Machines

demigod!
March 30th 2013


44563 Comments


and a fucking powerful one at that!

Digging: Fugazi - Repeater

Spec
March 30th 2013


27179 Comments


hawt

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
March 30th 2013


9034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The correct lyrics are: it's a circle/a mean cycle

Cygnatti
March 30th 2013


21352 Comments


Only exception is a fucking horrible ballad.

Digging: Jon Hopkins - Immunity

JS19
March 30th 2013


4311 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's sooooooo dull

StolenIdentity
March 30th 2013


240 Comments


Say what? A 5?

blacktheripper
March 30th 2013


722 Comments


lol a 5 for paramore

ZilbelPing
March 30th 2013


6160 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

SOME COOL LYRICS such as the line "its a circle, I MEAN CYCLE"

SitarHero
March 30th 2013


4679 Comments


bigdickedguy's summaries are the best.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"Wow" "Ew"

brilliance

BigPleb
March 30th 2013


36740 Comments


Bad music right here.

demigod!
March 30th 2013


44563 Comments


haha

Gard3n
March 30th 2013


285 Comments


Yes, I neg'd.

pepster50
March 30th 2013


329 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I disagree with your opinions about the guitar work. Your correct in that there isn't any solos but I hardly think the majority of the guitar work on here is simplistic. I'm not saying there is anything revolutionary, but they bring a sense of uniqueness to the table. A lot of the chord shapes and progressions are interesting and not typical. I've learned a couple songs, and they haven't been hard to learn at all, but they definitely are different compared to other bands in the genre. Not saying that they are guitar gods or even especially very good at guitar, but the writing of it is very good, and effort was definitely taken to make it so.

ConorIsNotHere
March 30th 2013


1281 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Misguided Ghosts" sux. Review sux. Album's enjoyable though.

Digging: Punch - They Don?t Have To Believe

LuigiPichardo
March 30th 2013


64 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

IMMA WITH YOU BOY! This album is the shit. People on here need to realize that a 5/5 album doesn't have to be mind-blowingly creative or carve a new style for bands to follow. Catchy with a great amount of edge, spicy but smart instrumentation to compliment amazing vocals. This is my idea of a nearly flawless record.

Digging: HalfNoise - Volcano Crowe



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy