Swans
Children of God


5.0
classic

Review

by Lakes. USER (20 Reviews)
March 30th, 2013 | 36 replies | 1,840 views


Release Date: 1987 | Tracklist

Review Summary: All roads lead to home.

7 of 9 thought this review was well written

1987's Children of God is perhaps the most brilliant album in Swans' rock solid discography, and that's really saying something. If there's one thing that has been both a blessing and a curse for Swans, it's that they've never really developed an identity. Although early works such as Filth and Cop sound quite similar, for the most part each entry in their long, venerable discography stands alone and completely distinct from the rest of their work. Children of God is the point where the dissonance between their earlier and later work collides and meshes together into one cohesive whole; it's a masterwork of an album containing moments that could be easily described as "masculinity distilled," as well as vulnerable, emotional moments that would be the last thing to expect from Swans. And despite the variety in sound and thematic ideals between each track, it all manages to come together.

"New Mind" starts off the album perfectly, and immediately you can see a change from the no-wave industrial sounds of the previous albums - although the crushing brutality is still there, an injection of melody has been applied and rip-roaring gang vocals soar in the background. It's a perfect song that's wholly Swans. The second track, "In My Garden," is a complete switch in gears and unlike anything they had done up to that point. Showing off Jarboe at her best and moving beyond the rudimentary trappings of melody found in Greed and Holy Money, it's pure beauty in musical form.

The rest of Children of God elegantly switches to the two extremes of the first two tracks and everywhere in between without missing a beat. White Light From the Mouth of Infinity, The Great Annihilator, and even The Seer all have their roots here. At the same time, the heavier tracks here would not feel out of place on Cop, Greed, or Holy Money. This is Swans, and all those other places, as beautiful as they may be, all point to here. If you still haven't bothered to listen to a Swans album before, start here.



Recent reviews by this author
Samiam ClumsySkyhill Run With the Hunted
Ninja Sex Party Strawberries and CreamThe Sleeping The Big Deep
Menomena MomsSwans Cop
user ratings (428)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
Adash (5)
Beauty and the Beast...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Lakes.
March 30th 2013



26822 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

really gay and pretentious review 0/5 would not read again

Digging: BABYMETAL - Babymetal

XGX
March 30th 2013



162 Comments


cool

Chortles
March 30th 2013



17944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whoa

demigod!
March 30th 2013



44148 Comments


guess i'll bother listening to a Swans album and start here. good review pos.

Digging: Failure - Magnified

Chortles
March 30th 2013



17944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yes please

Lakes.
March 30th 2013



26822 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i'm going to rewrite my age of adz review next and the first line will be "sufjan stevens is an attractive man"

demigod!
March 30th 2013



44148 Comments


he is as attractive as he is talented

VanSchuldiner
March 30th 2013



659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pos'd ....awesome album prob 2nd swans

jtswope
March 30th 2013



2068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

love this album!

FearThyEvil
March 30th 2013



12480 Comments


If I wanted to get into this band where should I start?

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 30th 2013



23806 Comments


When given the option of clicking two links under your review, one saying "Yes" and the other saying "No," I decided that, indeed, the review WAS well-written, and therefore, I moved my cursor over the "Yes" link and applied some light pressure on my mouse with my index finger, at which point, I was directed to a page informing me that my vote had, indeed, been counted.

VanSchuldiner
March 30th 2013



659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If I wanted to get into this band where should I start?

Soundtracks to the blind or this one

Adash
March 30th 2013



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is a fuckin' monument and testament and monolith and behemoth and general badman extraordinaire of an album. Start here

CaptainDooRight
March 30th 2013



28832 Comments


gotta hear this

fromtheinside
March 30th 2013



18058 Comments


aids put a lot of effort into that comment guys, acknowledge him.

Digging: Transcending Bizarre? - The Serpent's Manifolds

fromtheinside
March 30th 2013



18058 Comments


@fti, you're right. aids, nice comment.

Crawl
March 30th 2013



1597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Heard only their debut and The Seer, but I liked the latter much more. Is this more like Filth or more like The Seer?

MrElmo
March 30th 2013



1950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

KILL THE CHILD!

THIS IS MY DAMNATION!

MrElmo
March 30th 2013



1950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I think best place to start is either My father will guide me up a rope to the sky (an incisive synthesis of many of their influences and an excellent album) or The Great Anihilator (very diverse and most accessible, also one of my favorite albums by them)

MrElmo
March 30th 2013



1950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Triple post (oops)


"Heard only their debut and The Seer, but I liked the latter much more. Is this more like Filth or more like The Seer?"

Closer to filth but this was their turning point album so it's still pretty different




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy