The Story So Far
What You Don't See


4.5
superb

Review

by Hogan CONTRIBUTOR (38 Reviews)
March 27th, 2013 | 46 replies | 7,084 views


Release Date: 03/26/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: With hype that is almost overwhelming, The Story So Far delivers an album that fully breaks all expectations.

A little while ago, I began to discover a wide assortment of hardcore punk albums that I have become self-indulged with. Two albums in particular caught my ears by surprise. The Shape of Punk to come has been without a doubt a classic to me, and without a doubt one of my favorite Hardcore Punk albums ever made. The second album is The Story So Far’s Under Soil and Dirt. Ever since I listened to the sublime opener States and Minds, I completely lose myself in the dry vocals and elegant guitar riffs. To make a long story short, I had huge hopes for this album.

If you didn’t care to look at the rating, you can tell that I absolutely loved the album. I could just end the review right here and that would be it, but I don’t feel the outstanding amount of negative responses I would get for my second review would classify me as a genius reviewer. So with all blandness aside, What you Don't see is a great album which succeeds in delivering a fine punk album.
The Album opens up with the clean guitar rift that sounds a lot like the guitar rift that I treasured in States of Mind. After the band kicks in, Parker’s voice angrily shouts,

This twitch in my fingers, Love/hate it lingers.
Sent it direct, but the point must have missed her.
Gave up and lost, cause of timing and pressure.
And now I’m gone.

This opener reminds me of the reason I enjoy The Story So Far as much as I do. Parker’s vocals are key to providing the perfect hardcore/punk vocals that other bands could only dream of. In my opinion, the album does not contain any clean vocals, only the rasp and dry vocals that are sputtered out in a awe inspiring way. Things I Can’t Change is an amazing opener, and is a fine way to pave the road for what is to come.

By far the peak of the album is when the song Right Here kicks in. This starts what I believe are the trio of the three greatest songs on the album. Right Here is the first single that was released by the band and my god the hype that was released from the opening lyrics was just immense, Parker growls out the lyrics “All I really want is to stay right here right now, there’s so much more to talk about” in tone with the electric sounding drum beat. The song delivers a good atmosphere for the two songs following, and is worthy of being a single. The next song is Empty Space, the song shines in providing a very catchy chorus as well as an emotional break down towards the climax of the song. The third and final song of what I believe to be the best on the album is the second single released by the band The Glass. Starting off with a fine drum beat followed by a magnificent guitar piece, colliding together to form a great opening. Parker’s vocals feel at home as he sings along to the fast paced drum rolls and quick guitar riffs. By far my favorite song on the album.

I don’t believe there’s much else I can say about this fine work of art. A truly groundbreaking performance by a band that was once just an underrated gem, yet this album will prove to be a shining achievement in the band’s future careers. Every song flow’s seemingly perfect together, Parker’s vocals are incredible, and the overall instrumental presentational is flawless. With very few complaints, I can honestly say this album will stay as a great album from a great band.



Recent reviews by this author
The Antlers HospiceColour and Codeine If I Die Tomorrow
St. Vincent St. VincentKashiwa Daisuke Program Music I
Have a Nice Life The Unnatural WorldThe Spill Canvas Sunsets and Car Crashes
user ratings (530)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Dakoda Jones (5)
If you like punk, get this album! If you don't like punk, still get this album!...

Mike Denison (3.5)
"Write it over and over again: the same chords, the same end."...

perry7united (4)
The Story So Far add a few more pages, and the illustrations are to die for...


Comments:Add a Comment 
hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013



1601 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Second review is up, had this one in store for a while, constructive critism is well obliged!

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013



1601 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

*Critisism and Summary should be read as with the hype that is almost overwhelming, delete the can

Calc
March 26th 2013



12126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lotta work can be done on this review my friend. Read it out loud to yourself.

also rift and riff are two different things.

Digging: He Is Legend - Heavy Fruit

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013



1601 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Calc, will remeber that for future reviews, reading over this again I feel that it is kinda sloppy, I feel that I needed to post this for my own two cents.

Calc
March 26th 2013



12126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you know you can edit your reviews right?

ChuckyTruant
March 26th 2013



15710 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Lol

Digging: Palm Reader - Bad Weather

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013



9033 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sounds like a to be reborn

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013



9033 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

My notes:
-This isn't hardcore punk, it's pretty much as pop-punk as you're gonna get
-The second paragraph isn't necessary
-It's an interesting opinion that the album has no clean vocals. I certainly disagree and you're gonna have to justify yourself a lot better than you do before you convince me that the chorus of "Stifled" should be classified as harsh vocals.
-"Right Here is the first single that was released by the band and my god the hype that was released from the opening lyrics was just immense, Parker growls out the lyrics “All I really want is to stay right here right now, there’s so much more to talk about” in tone with the almost poignant sounding drum beat is eccentric to provide a great atmosphere": this sentence needs a lot of work. Actually, your descriptions of the music in general sounds really awkward, especially the description of the intro to "The Glass." I've listened to that song 15 times and I still can't understand what you're saying.
-Song titles go in quotation marks
-Nothing in your review suggests this is groundbreaking. What makes this different than every other piece of music every recorded? Or from their first album even? You can't just make unqualified statements like that son.
-Don't be so self-referential (saying I a lot is bad)
This review isn't bad, but I can tell you don't have a lot of experience writing about music.

Cygnatti
March 26th 2013



21350 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

I don't understand how anyone would think this is hardcore punk.

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013



9033 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wow wouldn't have expected a 2 for this one

ChuckyTruant
March 26th 2013



15710 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Because idiots run rampant.

Ire
March 26th 2013



41753 Comments


kris.

Cygnatti
March 26th 2013



21350 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

What?

Chortles
March 26th 2013



17944 Comments


lol

Scoot
March 27th 2013



17724 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

stifled sucks

other than that excellent

Fluttertrank
March 27th 2013



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i can see how someone would give this a 2. but i wouldnt.

dimsim3478
March 27th 2013



4880 Comments


I don't understand how anyone would think this is hardcore punk.

It's not. Maybe a tiny, tiny bit melodic hardcore but that's probably just an illusion of the anger coming off in Parker's voice.

stifled sucks

Start of chorus ("stifled there, but she still walks away" or whatever) is so good. Oh lawd.

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

SteveP
March 27th 2013



33 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

There is absolutely nothing groundbreaking in this album, nor would I consider it a "fine piece of art". In my opinion, it's a very average pop punk album, and that's all. I don't get the hype surrounding this band.

Digging: Beach Slang - Who Would Ever Want Anything So Broken?

Kris.
March 27th 2013



12279 Comments


ive been summoned

TurdFergeson
March 27th 2013



20 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Stifled Sucks"

Wrong.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy