Conditions
Full of War


4.5
superb

Review

by Tyler Christian Pifer USER (17 Reviews)
March 26th, 2013 | 61 replies


Release Date: 03/26/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Conditions return with their strongest, most powerful release to date.

Conditions are a now four piece alt rock band in the vein of Cove Reber era Saosin. Conditions put together a very solid debut full length entitled "Fluorescent Youth" that hit the alt rock scene hard with standout tracks like 'Better Life,' 'When It Won't Save You,' and 'Keeping Pace With Planes.' Where Saosin failed with the horrendous sophomore slump "In Search of Solid Ground," Conditions excel with their superb sophomore record, "Full of War."

"Full of War" is a cohesive release that hints at more of a mainstream rock sound on songs like 'Walking Seperate Ways' and 'Love Elusive,' but overall Conditions give us an album that is simply brilliant and is damn near perfect. Gone is guitarist/vocalist Jason Marshall and with him go the dual vocals that gave the band that extra push on "Fluorescent Youth." Instead, the band make up for Marshall's absence by pushing the driving guitar and steady rhythm section to the forefront. Vocalist Brandon Roundtree, who was formerly the lead vocalist of metalcore band Scarlet, continues to be the backbone of the band as his vocal soar through all 11 songs and even show signs of improvement as pitch problems have been present on past releases. 'Skeleton' showcases the band at their best; the chorus really amps up on top of the driving guitar and vocals from Roundtree. 'Every Day Is A New Life' and 'Not Giving Up... Not Yet' follow suit and turn out to be the two best songs the band has ever released. The intro in 'Best Mistake' is an obvious rip off of The Offspring's 'Gotta Get Away,' and the chorus seems to be on the safe side, while the horrible synth ruins the song and proves to be the worst song on the record. Conditions really have a knack for making their choruses absolutely massive, case in point: lead single 'Love Elusive.' Although coming off as a radio rock song, it has a very solid chorus that will make you take a double take to make sure you aren't listening to an Anberlin song. The song effortlessly switches back and forth between normal tempo and a fast, anthem like chorus. "Full of War" has no filler, save for the aforementioned disaster, 'Best Mistake.' While not quite on par with Saosin's Alex Rodriguez, the drumming remains solid, the production is as clean as ever, and the lyrics continue to be some of the most powerful lyrics this side of Jimmy Eat World.

Conditions have truly returned with their strongest, most powerful release. The future looks bright for Conditions who are very quickly beginning to rival Anberlin for the top of the alt rock totem pole.

Recommended tracks: All of them except for 'Best Mistake'



Recent reviews by this author
Close To Home MomentumFor the Fallen Dreams Wasted Youth
Man Overboard Heart AttackNew Found Glory Mania
Skyway Finders KeepersSenses Fail Follow Your Bliss: The Best Of Senses Fail
user ratings (52)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
theyperch (3.5)
Conditions strives to mature but struggles with cohesiveness and repetition...

related reviews

Fluorescent Youth

Comments:Add a Comment 
nononsense
March 26th 2013


3409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't get all butthurt over pos's and neg's, but don't ghost neg. tell me how you feel, I'll respect what you say. Thanks.



NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013


7096 Comments


Yeah I was checking this album out the other day and got surprised by how consistent it is, not a bad album.

nononsense
March 26th 2013


3409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was expecting it to be on par with their debut, but I was pleasantly surprised at how much better it was.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013


7096 Comments


I'm not going to lie, it showed up in a site i stalk that's filled with metal doom/sludge/folk etc - this was hugely out of place

nononsense
March 26th 2013


3409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lol.

nononsense
March 26th 2013


3409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah it's good, I just like this better as a whole.-

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013


19918 Comments


solid review man i'll check this out later

Digging: Transit - Joyride

nononsense
March 26th 2013


3409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cool.

nononsense
March 26th 2013


3409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Let me know what you think, Atari.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013


19918 Comments


lol i like it so far but i don't love it. still listening though

Ecnalzen
March 26th 2013


6688 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I am intrigued by this,mostly because of the similar bands section on their page. Does this really vibe with The Classic Crime and Anberlin?

nononsense
March 26th 2013


3409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It screms Anberlin, but it sounds like Conditions at the same time.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013


19918 Comments


doesn't sound too much like anberlin to me but it does sound like saosin lol

Ecnalzen
March 26th 2013


6688 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I have listened to a few songs from this and their first album. The vocalist sounds like if you took the guy from Silverstein and the guy from Ivoryline and smashed their heads together...

...I don't think I like that, lol.

This actually sounds a lot like Ivoryline musically too. But I guess one could say Ivoryline sounds a decent amount like Anberlin, so the connection can be made to this band as well.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013


19918 Comments


yeah it kind of sounds like ivoryline too. I don't know this just isn't as energetic as anberlin

nononsense
March 26th 2013


3409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's funny, because the lead singer screamed in the metalcore band Scarlet so when he announced he was joining Conditions everyone was super shocked. I don't really get an Ivoryline vibe as much as you do.

Ecnalzen
March 26th 2013


6688 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I always thought that about Ivoryline, Atari. Their songs always seemed like they were the same damn tempo. Medium pace or slow and boring as hell.

This is like the step between Ivoryline and Anberlin. These guys have more energy than Ivoryline, but not quite as much as Anberlin.

nononsense
March 26th 2013


3409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't know this just isn't as energetic as anberlin

If you see them live you will change your mind.

Ecnalzen
March 26th 2013


6688 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I dunno, nononsense... I am getting a huge Ivoryline vibe from these guys. Not on everything, but certain parts of these songs just take me back to when I used to listen to them.

nononsense
March 26th 2013


3409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I actually love Ivoryline. There are a couple songs that have flashes of them.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy