Super Snake
Rider


4.0
excellent

Review

by Alex Trinkner CONTRIBUTOR (73 Reviews)
March 26th, 2013 | 26 replies | 2,686 views


Release Date: 03/26/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Back to the bottom just to get to the top. And I need you to know I'm never going to stop.

Jerry Jones has some of the most unique vocals of anyone in music these days. Whether it be guest vocals on Jacobi Wichita or the spotlight while performing with his main project Trophy Scars, Jones always adds a dynamic that is difficult to replicate. His vocals ooze with sleaze and he can hardly sing in the traditional sense, yet Jones possesses a definite charisma. His side project Super Snake was brought to life early last year, and serves as an outlet for Jerry’s apparent reoccurring angst. Although Trophy Scars has inched further and further away from their hardcore roots, it seems as though Jerry Jones still feels the need to express himself through fun and aggressive hardcore tinged music. But that is not to say that Super Snake’s second ep in as many years does not pack a punch in its own rights. It is as hard hitting and straight forward as its predecessor, yet Rider is an entirely different entity.

The extend play is only comprised of four tracks and under 20 minutes of new material, but it serves its purpose to hold Trophy Scar’s fans over until Holy Vacants is actually put forth. These four tracks all contain a certain fun-ness absent in Jerry Jones’s previous body of work, a fun-ness that brings to light a different side Jones . The rest of the band is comprised of a hodge-podge of competent artists from currently defunct hardcore bands. The fact that the rest of the band manages to steal the spotlight from Jones constantly is merely a testament to the fact that each member belongs aside one another. Guitar solos are prevalent and grooves constantly sound as though they are chiseled off of a grill deep within Georgia, and smothered with enough barbeque sauce to last a lifetime. Samples are still impeccably placed, only further lending to more comparisons to Trophy Scars, but the truth remains that Super Snake, regardless of the inclusion of Jones, is a band that does what they want, whenever they want. Songs secrete smut and the album covers imply an apparent objectification of women…and Super Snake does not give a fuck.

Take for example lead single Yes, I’m A Doctor. Party lyrics are disguised within Jones crooked crooning and the song drives and drives without ever leaving listeners a chance to catch their breath. Coupled with a ridiculously off-putting yet somehow hilarious music video, this track is the antithesis of the seriousness imbedded within Trophy Scars, creating a vivid contrast between the two.

For what it is, Rider is an album that delivers. Although it is an obvious placeholder in lieu of Holy Vacants, Rider is an ep that sees Super Snake simply not caring what anyone has to think. Be it the play on the classic Hey Mickey in Red Tango or the gravely and grimy vocals over an insanely distorted bass-line on Nevada, Super Snake finds themselves having fun and taking no prisoners. An easily digestible hardcore album sprinkled with blues aspects and southern influences, this record is what it is. Fun.



Recent reviews by this author
He Is Legend Heavy FruitGuest House I'll Get Over It I Guess
Trophy Scars Holy VacantsSeahaven Reverie Lagoon: Music For Escapism Only
Sleep Weather Two Wheels SpinningWe Are Scientists TV en Français
user ratings (15)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013



2844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Everyone need to do two things before they listen to this ep:

1. Look at this picture http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=424960317559658&set=a.376344602421230.92228.189497401105952&type=1&theater
2. Watch the music video for Yes, I'm a Doctor

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013



2844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Why can't i say fuck in a review?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013



19606 Comments


you can but it bleeps it out maybe say give a damn if you want it to show up? : P

Digging: The Who - Tommy

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013



2844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just edited it back and now it's showing up. I have to show my angst somehow!

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013



19606 Comments


i haven't even heard trophy scars so much music out there lol. great review as always though pos'd

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013



2844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What? You must have at least heard of them. Nearly everyone here loves them.

But thanks man

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013



19606 Comments


i've heard OF them haven't heard them.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2013



16083 Comments


"Guitar solos are prevalent and grooves constantly sound as though they are chiseled off of a grill deep within Georgia, and smothered with enough barbeque sauce to last a lifetime."

i puked of how it was

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013



2844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That was the first simile that came to my head while writing this and I said I'd change after I finished he review. But I sat and tried to fix it and change it and I couldn't think of anything else. So I decided to keep it

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013



2844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You weren't goong to review this too were you?

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2013



16083 Comments


Nah I didn't wanna review this and Holy Vacants, jerry might think I'm stalking him or something

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013



2844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lol I was going to review holy vacants but I figured you were going to. So I settled for this instead.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2013



10041 Comments


Them tig 'ol bitties

Colliiiin
March 26th 2013



670 Comments


Definitely gonna check this out, last one was pretty enjoyable. Also good review.

Digging: Mitochondrion - Archaeaeon

Mad.
March 26th 2013



3665 Comments


Had to do a double take on that artwork.

Digging: Anubis - Hitchhiking to Byzantium

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013



2844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lol their first album cover is worse. And their Facebook profile picture is a completely topless chick..

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2013



2844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A lot of quality music is being released right now. This is going to be overlooked : (

RangerTaffles
March 28th 2013



256 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Can't find any good downloads for this

Itunes and Amazon don't work for my area. FML!

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 28th 2013



2844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They streamed it on spotfiy. I'm not sure if it will work in your area or not

RangerTaffles
March 29th 2013



256 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nope, doesn't work also; wish this was on bandcamp.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy