Trivium
Ascendancy


4.5
superb

Review

by Trivium USER (3 Reviews)
March 13th, 2006 | 110 replies | 7,457 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


5 of 5 thought this review was well written

First let me start this thing off by saying that I don’t agree fully with the hype. There will never be a "the next metallica". However, Trivium is the metallica of our generation. If you disagree, maybe you need to realize their opening for Iron Maiden in front of hundreds of thousands next November, and are currently headlining their second sold out tour in some of the UK's biggest venues.

Ascendancy is an amazing start for an amazing band. Trivium doesn’t have enough material out for us to really critique them. The majority of this album was written by Matt Heafy at the age of 18. Most critics say they write bland riffs, and fall into the horrible metalcore category that seems to be sweeping ozzfest and modern metal heads.

Though they could possibly be classified as metalcore, they destroy bands like It dies today and atreyu in every musical aspect possible. Their guitar work is masterful compared to the noise behind the screaming that seems to be what most bands are doing.

Musically trivium can be compared much to the likes of Iron Maiden, Metallica, Slayer, and even some In Flames and black metal influences.

The screams are exceptional, and the singing that is heard mostly during the chorus' is done very well.

Trivium have so far released 4 singles (in order):
Like light to the flies
Pull harder on the strings of your martyr
A Gunshot to the head of trepidation
Dying in your arms

By far their best video was Pull harder. Like light was done prior to the release of the album, and the gunshot video is rather boring. Dying in your arms is just a compilation of live footage.

The Album starts off with the calm track The End of Everything, which is a good ominous song that lets you know something big is coming. Soon after it goes into the crunching riffs of Rain, and then into the thrash (soon to be classic) Pull Harder on the Strings of your Martyr. In my opinion, the title track Ascendancy is lacking, and is not one of the strong points of the album. The highlight of their guitar work is the solo from the next song, A Gunshot to the Head of Trepidation. Matt and Corey go back and fourth exchanging amazing, structured guitar solos. Like Light to the Flies starts off heavier than any other song, with one of the best riffs off the album, and an intensely screamed verse. Dying in your arms, their 4th single, is their "ballad" type of song, that without the screaming in the middle, could easily be played on almost any mainstream radio. Though many hardcore fans hate it, it is a very catchy and well done song. The Deceived was written back during the writing their first album, and is one of the heaviest songs. Suffocating sight is probably the best sung song on the album with the exception of dying in your arms.

Their last two songs, Departure and Declaration give some insight into what will be their next album. These two songs contain some heavy singing, much like Hetfield on ...and Justice for all. These two songs are possibly the most musically dynamic, and are the two longest songs off the album.

Pros:
- Amazing solos
- Great vocal work, screaming is some of the best in the genre
- A young band writing some great songs that hint back to when metal was actually good.
- Catchy songs you can bang your head to

Cons:
- The entire album is written in drop D, and most of it is in the same key. Anyone who can play this album on guitar knows the songs can be very similar musically.

Recommended tracks:
- Pull Harder on the Strings of Your Martyr
- Rain
- Dying in your arms
- Like light to the flies
- Suffocating Sight


user ratings (2081)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Drunken Viking
March 13th 2006



1023 Comments


Good review but very biased. It'd be better if you didn't keep refering to them as the "Metallica of our Generation" (not in those words but with that messae), and if you didn't compare them to Atreyu and other metalcore bands it would help.

Shadows
Moderator
March 13th 2006



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

^ There are programs that remove vocals from the mix. I own one.

Very nice review. I don't care for Trivium and it was nice to see a fan who admits they aren't the next Metallica.

The comparisons are a little questionable though. Slayer? Black metal? I'm interested to know what aspects of their sound are rooted in thrash or black metal.This Message Edited On 03.13.06

Trivium
March 13th 2006



9 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

eh its hard for a fan like me to give more of the positive. Though its not really a bias, reviews like this are opinions of the writer

Hatshepsut
March 13th 2006



1997 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The clean vocals aren't bad at all. Guitars are great too, like you said in your review. It was a good one.

Cravinov13
March 13th 2006



3854 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I like Matt's voice...

pattern_recognition
March 13th 2006



950 Comments


Matt's scream is bearable, but his clean voice is a bit meh...still, he writes some nice riffs. Suffocating Sight, anyone?
As for their style, it's clearly just swedish melodeath mixed with lighter metalcore. Can't see any real thrash or black metal touches here.
Anybody seen what Brandon Schiapatti from Bleeding Through has to say about Matt?...'I heard him say "what Metallica did in six albums, we're going to do in two", and I thought, shut the fuck up, you're just some rich 19 year old kid from Florida.'
Hah, pwned. Still, Trivium are better than Bleeding Through.
Wow, I've gone off topic here. Er, bye...

Shattered_Future
March 13th 2006



1539 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Swedish melodeath? Where the crap have you been living?

Trivium is just plain American metal, basically, and a poor representation of it IMO.
The only saving graces from the band are the drummer (who actually IS quite good)
and the guitar solos on occasion. The rest is bland, boring, repetitive, and
absolutely horrid, most of all Heafy. He's basically a big prick who relies way too
much on autotuning his voice, while he doesn't have one of his own. He sounds like
every American metal singer out there today, and does it much poorer than a good
portion of them.

Good review though.

However, it IS ridiculously fun to watch the video for Pull Harder fastforwarding the
whole way through. Quite funny, really.This Message Edited On 03.13.06

Bfhurricane
March 14th 2006



6194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I would have to mostly agree with this review. I like Heafy's voice, and I think the guitarwork is very well organized and thought out throughout most songs. The solos arent just random shredding, most of the notes have a meaning and are all great solos. The songs can get a little repetitive at times though.

But theres no way Trivium can be compared to Iron Maiden or Metallica. I love trivium, but those bands helped revolutionize metal (mostly Maiden). Trivium is just another american metal band continuing the work that bands like maiden and metallica started.

pattern_recognition
March 14th 2006



950 Comments


Swedish melodeath...listen to Like Light To The Flies and tell me that there's not some Gothenburg creeping in in that single note harmonized prechorus...listen to the mix of melody and brutality throughout the entire album, and then tell me that there's not a certain influence from the likes of Dark Tranquility and In Flames, albeit nowhere as heavy and somewhat homogenised.
Not exactly disagreeing with you here Shattered Future, just explaining my opinion. It's all good. Can't we all just...get along?
I definitely agree that Heafy's a prick though.

Storm In A Teacup
March 14th 2006



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Nice review, don't like the band though. Heafy's work on Roadrunner United was a lot better, but still not exactly great.

Drunken Viking
March 14th 2006



1023 Comments


[QUOTE=]Swedish melodeath...listen to Like Light To The Flies and tell me that there's not some Gothenburg creeping in in that single note harmonized prechorus...listen to the mix of melody and brutality throughout the entire album, and then tell me that there's not a certain influence from the likes of Dark Tranquility and In Flames, albeit nowhere as heavy and somewhat homogenised.

Not exactly disagreeing with you here Shattered Future, just explaining my opinion. It's all good. Can't we all just...get along?

I definitely agree that Heafy's a prick though.[/QUOTE]
Why is he a prick? And I can't sence the Gothenburg, but I'm not a huge fan of the genre.

Bfhurricane
March 14th 2006



6194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Like Light to Flies does have some melodic work in there, and me being a big fan of classical music to death metal, i can sense some melodeath influence in there. But Trivium is still nothing short of basic American metal

south_of_heaven 11
March 14th 2006



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

this album/band bores me...i find the guitarwork bland and dull...and whoever thought of them being the next metallica must be on crack, IMO because there will never be another metallica, end of story. and the lead vocalists voice for trivium sounds like he has something stuck in his throat, and sounds like he is gargling.

good review tho, a bit biased, but goodThis Message Edited On 03.14.06

Drunken Viking
March 14th 2006



1023 Comments


I wouldn't say dull, but it is bland as hell yes.

The atheist in me
March 16th 2006



5 Comments


trivium are good dont get me wrong, but they dont live up to the hype. Killswitch are much better in my opinion
yeh the review is gd
but they never a new metallica
kl review tho

south_of_heaven 11
March 18th 2006



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

i dont know mudvaynian...i had heard a lot about these guys and were lookin forward to seein them at ozzfest last yr and i just wasnt impressed at all...so i borrowed the album from my friends dad (the guy owns every effing cd known to man, its amazing) and it still didnt do anything


Drunken Viking
March 18th 2006



1023 Comments


That score is very unjustified, even for those reasons.

south_of_heaven 11
March 19th 2006



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

im not sure if youre talkin to me or not there Drunken Viking, but i just dont like this cd....the guitar-work didnt impress me, although like ShadowsFallen said on his review, they got the talent...which they do, i just didnt see a good representation of it on this cd. I also pointed out that Heafy's voice really bothered me, and is one of the main reasons why I didnt like this album. I think they could produce much much better, and im actually looking forward to seeing it.

Drunken Viking
March 19th 2006



1023 Comments


I was talking to you, you might not like this album to much, but you did say they have talent. And Shadows Fallen justified his review, he says they are not original and generic which is true, you just don't like representation (whatever that is) and the vocals.

metalman75
April 13th 2006



8 Comments


Good album, but in my opinion to much screaming. The guy can actually sing, so why doesnt he?

Good riffs and drumming too. If you really like them you should check out Bullet for my Valentine. they should by up your guys' alley.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy