Foxfires
The Golden Age


4.0
excellent

Review

by Mr. Lean Mug USER (112 Reviews)
March 23rd, 2013 | 23 replies


Release Date: 03/05/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "We always had the will, but we never had the means. We always had the nightmares, but we never had the dreams"

To this day I'm not even close to a fan of Four Year Strong, so the fact that Josh Lyford, their former keyboardist, was Foxfires' frontman was almost a dealbreaker. Two years ago when Foxfires released their self-titled 7", I bought it because, honestly, I just dug their signature "coffin" logo. I wound up falling in love with the song "Dogma," which almost made up for the album's abhorrent production all on its own.

Now it's 2013 and Foxfires' second 7" EP, The Golden Age has recently dropped on Cleveland-based label Escapist Records. This album is, by far and away, an improvement on nearly every aspect of Foxfires' sound. The Golden Age, to be on the up-and-up, is a breath of fresh air in the stagnant New England melodic hardcore scene that, for almost half a decade now, has been completely and thoroughly dominated by the so-called "Wave" bands.

"Seven cages, seven hells, and seven deadly sins" Lyford belts out on "Crushed," providing one of the first examples of Foxfires' poignant and thoughtfully penned lyrics. Lyford has stepped up his game exponentially for this release, and the fact that The Golden Age is properly mixed and mastered makes a tremendous difference. The band's musicianship is up to snuff as well, and perhaps the best example of their chops is the bold, brash "Gravity Is Honest," the song that this review's summary quotes. Like the Defeaters and Manners' of the world, Foxfires strive to paint a living, breathing watercolor with their music, and the result on The Golden Age is stunning.

Foxfires will probably gain much more than a simple cult following post the release of this album. I expect they will garner quite a bit of support from the social networking side of the hardcore scene. I, personally, am very excited to see what they do next. If they manage to release a full length with the consistent quality of that they have shown on The Golden Age, such an album would be, beyond a shadow of a doubt, a complete and total game changer in the melodic hardcore scene.



Recent reviews by this author
Freddie Gibbs and The World's Freshest The Tonite ShowDe La Soul Smell The DA.I.S.Y.
Fucked Up Year of the DragonRome Fortune Beautiful Pimp II
Maxo Kream QuiccstrikesSelf Defense Family Try Me
user ratings (4)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hep Kat
March 23rd 2013


15356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sputnik will eat this shit up, guaran-fuckin-teed

Hep Kat
March 23rd 2013


15356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

almost forgot, this is up as a name your price download for a limited time, so act fast!

http://escapistrecords.bandcamp.com/album/the-golden-age

CasinoColumbus
March 23rd 2013


340 Comments


Heard some of their songs a while ago, but wasn't too impressed. Will give this a shot, nonetheless, because of your review. So have a pos.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 23rd 2013


20077 Comments


Good review but should just be four year strong not strongs (unless you meant to say music after strong's)

I'll check this out pos'd

Digging: Circa Survive - Descensus

CasinoColumbus
March 23rd 2013


340 Comments


Just finished and this sounds a lot better than what I previously heard. 'Gravity is Honest' especially is really good. Would like to see a full length from them.

Hep Kat
March 23rd 2013


15356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review but should just be four year strong not strongs (unless you meant to say music after strong's)

I'll check this out pos'd


yeah thats how i had it but then i got faggishly indecisive and changed it for some reason idk i wrote this review in 10 minutes right after i wake n' baked dont judge me

Hep Kat
March 23rd 2013


15356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

also yeah, "gravity is honest" is my fave from this

Kris.
March 23rd 2013


12429 Comments


ahhh dude! i didn't know these guys were even still around!

pmmets07
March 23rd 2013


5913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice, getting this now. the first ep was just ok but this sounds way better

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 23rd 2013


20077 Comments


Not judging lol

TheSpirit
March 23rd 2013


17990 Comments


this is pretty boring

Digging: The Speed of Sound in Seawater - Red Version

Hep Kat
March 23rd 2013


15356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well ya know they can't all be as exciting as la dispute!!!!

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 23rd 2013


20077 Comments


found this on spotify i thought it was pretty good

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 24th 2013


23973 Comments


will grab now

Digging: Taylor Swift - 1989

pmmets07
March 24th 2013


5913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good fences is the shit

Hep Kat
March 24th 2013


15356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah that's one of the better tracks

firewasp
March 24th 2013


62 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

on the same level as there other stuff, i have a feeling ill be listening to this alot

pmmets07
March 25th 2013


5913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

omg foxfires posted this on fb

Hep Kat
March 25th 2013


15356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

omg i kn ow i am sooooo kewl

pmmets07
March 25th 2013


5913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

did u check out new incendiary yet hep



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy