The Color Morale
Know Hope


3.0
good

Review

by welljesuschrist USER (15 Reviews)
March 23rd, 2013 | 28 replies


Release Date: 03/26/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Rapps vocal performance saves them from mediocrity. Just.

Despite its reputation for signing endless genericore and any band that thinks Underoath's They're Only Chasing Safety was the pinnacle of modern metal, dig deep enough into Rise Records expansive roster and the results can be surprising. Recent inductees Rescuer's début With Time Comes The Comfort was a refreshing, vicious whirlwind of razor-sharp hardcore and recently deceased Daytrader's Twelve Years was an album of sturdy, reflective indie rock in the vein of Brand New. Emarosa are still hanging in there and with tentative talk of (a sober) Jonny Craig returning, greatness could again be on the horizon for them and the seemingly unsinkable Dance Gavin Dance's 5th album, their first with new vocalist Tilian Pearson, is due through Rise sometime this year.

So which side of the divide do The Color Morale stand on? The interminable, breakdown obsessed swarm or the maverick minority? The answer is frustrating; they have one foot obstinately planted on either side. But fortunately whether they're rigidly following the metalcore formula down to the last parentheses ('Burn Victims' I'm looking at you) or exploring spacier, more melodic avenues such as on the glorious 'Saviorself', The Color Morale have a steadfast saving grace; vocalist Garret Rapp. Boasting a rich, full-bodied, soulful tenor, Rapp puts in one of the best vocal performances post Downtown Battle Mountain. You'd be forgiven for thinking it was the Old Master Jonny Craig himself hitting those glorious highs on 'Steadfast' and 'Never Enders' – he's that good.



Recent reviews by this author
Von Dark Gods: Seven Billion SlavesBarrow Though I'm Alone
DaCast DédaleMartin Rossiter The Defenestration of St Martin
Architects DaybreakerThe Smashing Pumpkins Oceania
user ratings (235)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Outkast150 (3.5)
Kickstarting with "We All Have Demons", transitioning with "My Devil In Your Eyes", and reaching per...

Jacob Royal STAFF (2.9)
...

P.J. Quinones (4)
A cause for celebration among the Rise repertoire....

multicore (3.5)
A pleasant surprise...


Comments:Add a Comment 
welljesuschrist
March 23rd 2013


64 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Originally here - http://www.youarentcool.com/reviews/137/know-hope

welljesuschrist
March 23rd 2013


64 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh it's streaming on Youtube btw.

Calc
March 23rd 2013


12300 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

bad....the review i mean the albums aight.

you wrote one half paragraph about the vocals and the rest is useless filler. well written though but shitty review.

Digging: Mr. Oizo - The Church

welljesuschrist
March 23rd 2013


64 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fair enough, but with middling to good faith inspired metalcore there's almost nothing to say that hasn't been said before about a hundred other bands. The only thing that stands out on this is the vocals and one or two tracks where they get a bit more expansive. The first paragraph actually sets up my main point - The Color Morale have a lot of potential but fall victim to the same old metalcore cliches of many of their labelmates too often to be great. I just didn't want to spell it out like that.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2013


10362 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

It's not "shitty" like Calc insightfully said, but this review certainly could use some more elaboration. You know, you're a pretty good writer-- I remember seeing your username in the past, and being impressed. This review is great for a brief review in a magazine, but a website like Sputnik calls for more detail. Even Sobhi's reviews have more detail than this, haha.

So it isn't a bad review at all. Just try to write more next time, if you're going to also post this on Sputnik.

Calc
March 23rd 2013


12300 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I get that you may be "setting something up" but its like half of what you wrote here. the only thing you directly wrote about the album itself was that the vocals are good. so yes I crassly said it was shitty but replace it with a nicer word like poor. If you wrote more this would've been really good.

welljesuschrist
March 23rd 2013


64 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fair points guys.

AtomicShane
March 23rd 2013


1927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I bet this is decent with good vocals. This cd needs a proper review tho, this one dosnt even talk about the cd. it just mentions the same shit we already know about the band.

Digging: Trophy Eyes - Mend, Move On

sspedding
March 23rd 2013


4780 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

a bit short but you certainly get your points across. I agree with all this by and large. Pos.

Digging: Devil Sold His Soul - Belong ? Betray

SteveRogers
March 23rd 2013


190 Comments


Review is way too short. More time is spent on Rise Records history than on the actual album. And when you get to the album, it just cuts off without any sort of resolution. It comes across as rushed; it would make a better soundoff than a review in my opinion.

It's well written. Just not a great review. If that makes sense.

SitarHero
March 23rd 2013


4720 Comments


Yeah, not really a standard Sputnik review, but I enjoyed it. Perhaps a little more detail about what separates the band from its peers would've served it well, and the ending is too abrupt, but other than that, pos'd.

ILJ
March 23rd 2013


6729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I'll probably write a review for this after a few listens. It's not as bad as I thought it would be.

welljesuschrist
March 23rd 2013


64 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That outro riff on 'Saviorself' is down right beautiful.

Calc
March 23rd 2013


12300 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

its surprisingly good, the vocals really grew on me.

ILJ
March 23rd 2013


6729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

yeah the vocals grew on me too but just too many breakdowns and genericism. still isn't bad though, just a step down from their last one

DropdeadWHA
March 23rd 2013


704 Comments


I've only heard the singles and didn't really enjoy what I heard. Never been a massive fan of these guys tbh. Review is fair, could do with a bit more meat, other than that it's fine.

joshieboy12345
March 23rd 2013


5371 Comments


Review is weird, but ultimately not bad. Dunno about these guys.

lucasjcockcroft
March 23rd 2013


3714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

album is not up to par with past work, but still good.

merpmerp
March 24th 2013


803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

can someone write a better review for this please

joshieboy12345
March 24th 2013


5371 Comments


How bout you give it a go merp?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy