Bleed from Within
Uprising


3.0
good

Review

by Andrew Gold CONTRIBUTOR (58 Reviews)
March 23rd, 2013 | 111 replies | 9,944 views


Release Date: 03/25/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Wholly consistent yet almost completely unremarkable.

Deathcore stereotypes aside, it’s been demonstrated (by bands like Emmure) that when it comes to making a name yourself in the deathcore scene, talent really isn’t a factor. However, a deathcore band with talent definitely a plus, as aptly shown by Bleed from Within. They sure as hell can play their instruments, they can put songs together pretty well, and they actually have potential to be an excellent band. Thing is, deathcore is an extremely limited genre for expression. Even the best deathcore bands incorporate other influences to give them some form of uniqueness. Unfortunately on 2013’s Uprising, Bleed from Within do not, and what we’re left with is a 50-minute tread through the monotonous headache that is generic deathcore.

Uprising starts promising with a minute long intro setting the mood of the record, but from ‘Colony’ on is like listening to the same song twelve times with ever so slight modifications. This brings me to the main thing Uprising has going for it: consistency. Not one song is noticeably worse than another, nor is any song much better (only exceptions being ‘Uprising’ and ‘Devotion’ which are easily the best of the bunch). The riffs and drumming are what you’d expect from a metalcore record – standard issue breakdowns, fast thrashy sections connecting said breakdowns, and the occasional clean interlude to break up the monotony. The vocals and production are worthy of a mention though. Scott Kennedy has a full, rich tone in his screams and can hit highs and lows like it's nobodies business, and the production is clear enough to pick out each rhythm guitar counter melody yet muddy enough to provide a brooding, dense atmosphere to the already dissonant riffs.

There are admittedly great things at work here. Some guitar work is very solid by melodic metalcore standards and a number of breakdowns are damn crushing (‘Our Divide’ comes to mind). ‘Strive’ also has some nice grooves, the shout section in the title track can pump anyone up, and ‘Devotion’ closes the album out with a culmination of the greatest highs on the album compact into a short four and a half minutes. In a sense, Uprising is a harmless release. Its consistency is enough to please both longtime fans and casual headbangers, plus the lack of mindless chugging prevents Bleed from Within from falling into the same pit other deathcore bands do. However, if you’re expecting any form of innovation or replay value on Uprising, there’s no doubt you’ll be left sorely disappointed.



Recent reviews by this author
Lacuna Coil Broken Crown HaloNeuraxis Imagery
Ringworm Hammer of the WitchCreepoid Creepoid
Mudvayne Lost and FoundJay-Z Magna Carta... Holy Grail
user ratings (74)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 22nd 2013



19494 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Stream:

http://loudwire.com/bleed-from-within-uprising-exclusive-album-stream/

Digging: Cult Leader - Nothing for Us Here

Incision
March 23rd 2013



86 Comments


Is this streaming? had no idea this was coming out

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 23rd 2013



19494 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^^

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 23rd 2013



19494 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That avg rating is ridiculous someone listen to this and lower plz

SlMBOLlC
March 23rd 2013



4446 Comments


dude 10 ratings

NonApplicable
March 23rd 2013



1825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think you should listen to this again because I'm getting some really cool vibes on this album.
The most surprising of which is a heavier/more pissed off Lamb of God.

Although I am no writer, I had many issues reading your review. The biggest is that I don't feel you
accurately described the album.

Funeralopolis
March 23rd 2013



10427 Comments


empire was pretty sweet

Digging: CunninLynguists - Oneirology

sspedding
March 23rd 2013



4715 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

devotion is superb. this album is really good, hush ya sounds.

asaf
March 23rd 2013



873 Comments


your theory on the genre is shit my friend. this is just another notch on the youth metal genre. it's been evolving for 10 years with comparable production, how can you say "little to no staying power"?

asaf
March 23rd 2013



873 Comments


your theory on the genre is shit my friend. this is just another notch on the youth metal genre. it's been evolving for 10 years with comparable production, how can you say "little to no staying power"?

asaf
March 23rd 2013



873 Comments


your theory on the genre is shit my friend. this is just another notch on the youth metal genre. it's been evolving for 10 years with comparable production, how can you say "little to no staying power"?

mindleviticus
March 23rd 2013



7937 Comments


your theory on the genre is shit my friend. this is just another notch on the youth metal genre. it's been evolving for 10 years with comparable production, how can you say "little to no staying power"?

mindleviticus
March 23rd 2013



7937 Comments


your theory on the genre is shit my friend. this is just another notch on the youth metal genre. it's been evolving for 10 years with comparable production, how can you say "little to no staying power"?

mindleviticus
March 23rd 2013



7937 Comments


your theory on the genre is shit my friend. this is just another notch on the youth metal genre. it's been evolving for 10 years with comparable production, how can you say "little to no staying power"?

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 23rd 2013



19494 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Lmao

Deathcore has not been evolving at all dude. More like devolving.

mindleviticus
March 23rd 2013



7937 Comments


no deathcore used to be a trilobyte now it's a human lern sumthing

mindleviticus
March 23rd 2013



7937 Comments


pos'd btw

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 23rd 2013



19494 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ur right I fgt oceano is the first band to make human music silly me

And thx

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 23rd 2013



19494 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nonapplicable what do you suggest I elaborate on?

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 23rd 2013



19494 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

triple post



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy