Woodkid
The Golden Age


4.0
excellent

Review

by Panzerchrist USER (2 Reviews)
March 19th, 2013 | 20 replies


Release Date: 03/18/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Golden Age is almost here.

Yoann Lemoine is a man whose artistic vision has completely consumed him. He creates all of his music from scratch, as a singular entity. He directs all of his videos. He even creates the stories, which tie together all three of his singles. The entire complex affair is a work wrought entirely by his vivid and twisted imagination. And it certainly shows. His products are as distinct as can be, and stand as some of the most interesting spectacles in recent music (Author's massive exaggerating). But how does the album stand by itself? Is the absence of the accompanying videos enough to detriment the album as a whole? The answer, surprisingly, is no.

Woodkid's orchestral pop compositions have a sense of genuine grandiose, unlike most of his contemporaries' works. They rise and fall like turbulent waves, dark as the depths below them. And they lay claim to some impressive depths, to be sure. The elaborate layering of violin, piano and various other classical instrumentation is juxtaposed by the very nature of the music; simple pop melodies, leading into addictive choruses. Thus why the formula works by its lonesome. The music is constantly relevant, in a multitude of ways and shapes, keeping the listener fastened to the seat beneath them. Woodkid has done an admirable job of keeping each track interesting, as if each one was a bite-sized tale, to be regaled again and again.

This story book is not without it's plot-holes, however. The three singles still reign over all else in terms of relative quality, and while the other tracks do an admirable job of keeping pace, and at times rivaling them, it can feel like the rest were just arranged around what felt the most potent, as opposed to what worked in track order. Iron somehow tail-ends the album, which seems confusing considering it begins the trio of singles (as well as the story), and the middle portion tends to drag on a tad, where the tracks begin to blur into the next. This dissolves relatively quickly, but a more thought-out song order could have prevented this.

So overall, though the blemishes here and there detract from it's ravaging beauties, 'The Golden Age' ends up being almost that; golden. Maybe just silver for now, but with a potential for greatness just beyond the horizon, all Woodkid has to do now is reach.


user ratings (73)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Bees (4)
Something valuable....

DropdeadWHA (2.5)
The Golden Age is a grand, over-bloated journey through Woodkid’s eyes....

related reviews

Iron

Comments:Add a Comment 
fish.
Contributing Reviewer
March 19th 2013


21966 Comments


title track from iron was great but the rest was mediocre

omg we actually agree on something

how do you feel

Panzerchrist
March 19th 2013


126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

It's definitely worth it if you enjoyed Iron. It has the consistency of that track all over the album.

Panzerchrist
March 19th 2013


126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

If you find yourself unsatisfied with the Golden

Well

you're welcome to write my username on a napkin and yell at it

idk man

But seriously it's legit

Panzerchrist
March 19th 2013


126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Agreed

cpimentel986
March 19th 2013


82 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I would have rather given it a 3.8, but it would not make much difference. I enjoyed it. One of my faves is Conquest of Spaces.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
March 19th 2013


4950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i couldn't get behind this. wasn't a fan of his voice tbh

cpimentel986
March 19th 2013


82 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fine enough. My interest always rests on the lyrics, though. Not to say vocal range is not important. It is ambitious. That anyone can credit him for, along w/ the arrangements.

Panzerchrist
March 19th 2013


126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Really? He has some muddled verses here and there but I thought his singing was pretty good. Really warm and well fitting for the music.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
March 19th 2013


21966 Comments


is it cos of his French accent

Racist

kingsoby1
Emeritus
March 19th 2013


4950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

those frogs can croak tho

i like it the more i listen tbh, probably at like a 3.5ish

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
March 19th 2013


21966 Comments


I'm not really liking the other two singles :/

kingsoby1
Emeritus
March 19th 2013


4950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i think i'm at a 3

MichaelSnoxall
March 19th 2013


12163 Comments


title track from iron was great but the rest was mediocre not sure if i should check this out

Essentially what I'm thinking too.

Underflow
March 21st 2013


2563 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review, have a pos. Listening to this now and it sounds pretty good.

SebastianJunior
March 23rd 2013


25 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It all kind of recedes into orchestral background music. But if you really pay attention, The Golden Age is really a stunning sonic achievement. I recommend a second listen...

BallsToTheWall
April 30th 2013


44410 Comments


I Love You rules.

Digging: She Past Away - Belirdi Gece

Panzerchrist
May 5th 2013


126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

^ Yeah that's probably my pick for best track of the album

DeMilQ
December 29th 2013


91 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, I Love You is very good!

ShitsofRain
December 29th 2013


5898 Comments


the golden age is over

Digging: Anthony Shakir - Frictionalism 1994-2009

DeMilQ
December 29th 2013


91 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

plus 'Ghost Lights' 'Conquest Of Spaces' & 'The Other Side' are big songs for me.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy