Go Radio
Close the Distance


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dakoda Jones USER (8 Reviews)
March 17th, 2013 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's different from the Go Radio people might know but it's still incredibly good.

I am a huge fan of Lucky Street. It is my all time favorite album, mainly because it's so diverse and has so much heart. I was without a doubt extremely excited about Close The Distance. Did it live up to my expectations? Yes. Is it as good as Lucky Street? Simple answer would be, no, but it is an excellent record that any Go Radio fan should check out.

The biggest change to the band is their songs are no longer structured around guitar riffs, or so it would seem. Most tracks are focused more on piano underneath Jason Lancaster's voice with a nice bit of strumming throughout. They're not so much a rock band anymore as Collide and I Won't Lie are the most guitar oriented tracks. They have adapted into more of an adult contemporary outfit. If you're going to change, take notes from Go Radio because never have I seen such a great transformation into a more radio friendly sound but still sticking true to the signature Go Radio tone that we have grown to love.

I have to say Lancaster's vocals are better than ever. More polished but still remaining very raw and emotional. And tracks such as Hear Me Out, What if You Don't and The Ending have such rich verses and chorus's that contrast so well with the more rough sound of tracks such as Go To Hell, Collide and I Won't Lie.

The thing that really gets me is the fantastic mixing of each track. The drums sound crisp and poppy, the guitars have a great country vibe to them and the piano has never sounded better. And all this blends so well and comes together perfectly with the flawless writing. Each track has its own unique tone and writing style. that's what makes Go Radio so good is the shear uniqueness of each piece they work on. they don't fail to impress on Close The Distance.

Some of the best tracks are possibly the ones that stray most from Lucky Street. Pointing to the more poppy tracks such as Over Me and Baltimore. These and others sound like The Beatles or Elton John which is not bad by any means. So, no, it's not Lucky Street and it's not the alternative sound we know. But if you can look past that you'll find an incredible record that no one (fan of the genre) should miss out on.



Recent reviews by this author
Stages and Stereos Small Town FavoritesThe Story So Far What You Don't See
The Plot In You Could You Watch Your Children BurnCrown the Empire The Fallout
City Lights In It To Win ItStructures Divided By
user ratings (68)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
brandontaylor (3)
Go Radio begin closing the distance between themselves and mediocrity. Almost there!...

Atari CONTRIBUTOR (3)
A good effort in itself, but unable to match the consistency of "Lucky Street"....


Comments:Add a Comment 
pepster50
March 17th 2013


335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

aoty 2012 !

Asdfp277
March 17th 2013


1422 Comments


^no

edit: "mainly because its so..."
-it's*

"Is it as good as Lucky Street."
-Lucky Street?*

"Simple answer would be, no,"
-extra comma before no

"The biggest change to the band is their songs..."
-you don't mention any change in the previous paragraph. i know you wrote about it in the summary,
but still...

"Their not so much a rock band anymore..."
-they're* re-read the damn reviews before posting them

"If you're going to change, bands need to take notes from Go Radio "
-delete the 'bands', as you first refer to us.

"And tracks such as Hear Me Out, What if You Don't and The Ending"
-put the " for songs

"have such rich verses and chorus's that contrast..."
-choruses*

"and the piano never sounded better."
-has never sounded better*

"Each track has its own unique tone and writing style and that's what makes Go Radio so good is just
the shear uniqueness of each piece they work on and they don't fail to impress on Close The
Distance."
-just check this sentence plz.

"Pointing to the more poppy tracks such as, Over Me and Baltimore."
-you don't need to put commas before mentioning the tracks

"These and others sound (to me) like The Beatles or Elton John"
-this is your review, you don't need to tell us that it sounds like that to you.

Digging: Saiko - Informe Saiko

DAKODA
March 17th 2013


47 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pepster50, its on my list of best albums of 2012!

DAKODA
March 17th 2013


47 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha! I don't get a lot much feedback from anyone, so thanks for pointing out my little hiccups. helps me write better in the future.

Yazz_Flute
March 17th 2013


18875 Comments


Review was solid; nice and to the point.

Digging: DIR EN GREY - Arche

Spec
March 17th 2013


27298 Comments


I saw these guys live.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 17th 2013


20158 Comments


yeah not a bad review. i didn't like this as much as you but agreed about 'hear me out' that's a great song

Digging: Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

DAKODA
March 17th 2013


47 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks! And yeah, it's just a personal favorite of mine!

joshieboy12345
March 18th 2013


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Solid album.

Cygnatti
March 18th 2013


22293 Comments


meh album, sounds way too much like cheesy mainstream piano rock.

where's mah swear it like you mean it

Digging: Jerry Lee Lewis - Live at the Star Club, Hamburg

joshieboy12345
March 18th 2013


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Mayday > Go Radio.

Cygnatti
March 18th 2013


22293 Comments


well yeah, but omg swear it like you mean it is too good omg

joshieboy12345
March 18th 2013


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lucky Street is a tad better than this, but this isn't a 2.

pepster50
March 18th 2013


335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

They went for a more radio friendly sound which I usually don't like, but the melodies on this album are just way catchier than on Lucky Street. Collide is such an amazing song !

Maydays A Lesson in Romantics > Go Radio, but their last two releases don't even touch Go Radio

joshieboy12345
April 12th 2013


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Have you heard the acoustics from this? Holy shit, Jason Lancaster's voice is godly.

pepster50
April 13th 2013


335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

no i haven't where?

joshieboy12345
April 13th 2013


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qG8FD3tOKA0
Soooo damn good pepster.

pepster50
April 14th 2013


335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

ya man that was killer. His voice is orgasmic

joshieboy12345
April 15th 2013


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm totally homo for Jason and Dallas Green.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy