Megadeth
Risk


1.0
awful

Review

by briandillon USER (2 Reviews)
March 15th, 2013 | 43 replies | 1,565 views


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This Album Really Sucks

2 of 22 thought this review was well written

Look - There is no Reason to say anything about this CD - It sucks really bad
Biggest sellout in a real bad way in the history of Metal

I personally don't think naming the album "Risk" excuses anything. I mean, it's a bad album. If St. Anger was called "It Might Suck" would that be better? Personally, I can't stand Risk, and even if the title explains it's a "Risk", so is every single musical album ever made, this one failed, but I'm supposed to be OK with that because they thought it might?

By the way - this is not a one off bad album for Megastink - 80 Percent of their albums suck - I know Dave is not trying to be a Vocalist - But there are good Non-singers: Lemmy, Geddy Lee, Cronos, Udo and than there are people who spent an entire career actually making money with the most abominable vocals ever laid down. If Dave Mustaine went to a karaoke night and got up to sing - yeah, we would all laugh at how terrible his voKills are, but that is the fun of karaoke - but this guy made an entire career on abominable Vokills and the fans still bought it not realizing it was only the riffs that make Megedeth Good - But Dave gave up the Riffs to try and be a Singer Songwriter when he has no talent at this.

On this CD - Its not just the voKills which suck - everything on this piece of crap sucks - its to be laughed at and mocked

Other Megedeth albums that suck: - Well, Pretty Much everything starting with Youthanasia - this is when Dave
Thought he could be a "Non Great Riffs" Band and started to try and make more commercial sounding albums - if he wanted to do that he should of brought in a real singer, or at least a good non-singer. He still might have failed as he has little talent other than being a great guitarist and coming up with good riffs

Stick to Rust in Peace - Risk is the Bottom of a career of really bad albums


user ratings (1038)
Chart.
2.3
average
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
ButtsweatAndTears
March 15th 2013



340 Comments


As you would put it, This review sucks.......

demigod!
March 15th 2013



40970 Comments


great summary

Chortles
March 15th 2013



17508 Comments


lol

Digging: Chico Buarque - Construção

NapalmCrusader
March 15th 2013



1737 Comments


Loooooool

zaruyache
March 15th 2013



4799 Comments


voKills


lul pos'd.

Digging: The Great Old Ones - Tekeli-Li

sideburndude
March 15th 2013



2782 Comments


sweet summary

ChopSuey
March 15th 2013



2383 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

best review ever

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
March 15th 2013



7824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album's so underrated :/

demigod!
March 15th 2013



40970 Comments


no it's really bad

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
March 15th 2013



7824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Look - There is no Reason to say anything about this CD"

Then what was the point of even reviewing this?

Hoppoman
March 15th 2013



630 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I see random capital letters....

tempest--
March 15th 2013



10750 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

INSOMNI-OMNI-OMNI-OMNI-OMNIA

DegausserGuernica24
March 15th 2013



1134 Comments


I agree with the rating, I don't agree with the review.

Topaz
March 15th 2013



322 Comments


what the hell is a non-singer

joshieboy12345
March 15th 2013



5256 Comments


Troll review.

Digging: For The Fallen Dreams - Heavy Hearts

SatelliteYears
March 16th 2013



188 Comments


Worst review I've ever read.

Fluttertrank
March 16th 2013



16893 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This Review Really Sucks.

Digging: Xanthochroid - Blessed He With Boils

ViperAces
March 16th 2013



12357 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

review aint too bad but what the hell is a non-singer[2]

slagun
March 16th 2013



569 Comments


amazing review man, keep it up

briandillon
March 16th 2013



7 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

A Real Singer is Someone like: Bruce Dickinson, Rob Halford, Robert Plant, Ian Gillan, Geoff Tate

A Non Singer (Someone who cant sing - may be enjoyable or not) is:

UDO - Former Accept Non-singer and now fronting his own solo career -
UDO is an amazing non-singer
Lemmy - From Motorhead - Another Great Non-singer
Cronos from Venom - Great
Brian Johnson - ACDC - Love him on Back in Black and For Those about To Rock
but than his terrible voice became apparent - But he is still good at his craft
James Hetfield - He is not a great singer but those first 5 Metallica Albums he sounds real good - its only lately that his worst vocal isms are apparent
He went from a Good Non-singer to a pretty bad non singer - Last Example
Dave Mustaine: Right off the starting gate he was a terrible Non-Singer -
a person who should have never stepped up to the mic - The Guy is a genius Guitar Player and Riff Writer but he is the poster boy for a bad Non-singer
On the Last Three albums he has actually found a way to vocalize which hides the worst aspects of his non-singing voice - unfortunately Megedeth is now trying to be like they were in the earlier days and it sounds forced - it sounds like Generic Megedeth - But the Last three are much better than anything he has done since Countdown, which I consider the last good - "Classic" - Megedeth Album. On Countdown they toned down the Riffery apparent on RIP and went in a more commercial direction but it was still good. But Whatever period of Deth is always plagued by Daves Terrible Non-singer Vokills - Sometimes its not bothersome, most times it is, especially live. Its a shame that he did not either get a Good singer or good Non-singer as he clearly is one of the best riff writers and always has a top notch band - But the Vokills always suck, especially live - So essentially Megedeth are a great Instrumental Band. Its apparent to the entire world that I what I say is true but most people are in denial of this.

One other thing about Vocalists: All Vocalists will decline with age, its just a part of life - For Instance Both Bruce and Halford have declined greatly - Bruce sill sounds great in a Live situation but Halford is really struggling - of course Halford is older than Bruce and 5 to 8 years can make a giant difference -

But for Non-Singers the affect due to age is even worse



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy