The All-American Rejects
Move Along


4.5
superb

Review

by AliceSeason USER (2 Reviews)
March 14th, 2013 | 56 replies | 1,278 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A catchy album that will keep you singing along the whole way through

2 of 6 thought this review was well written

The All-American Rejects are an Alternative Rock band formed in Stillwater, Oklahoma in 1999. They released their first album "The All-American Rejects" in 2003. This is the bands follow up to that album, entitled "Move Along".

The All-American Rejects are:
Tyson Ritter- Vocals, Bass
Nick Wheeler- Lead Guitar
Mike Kennerty- Rhythm Guitar
Chris Gaylor- Drums

This album holds a lot of memories for me. Back when i was about 7 years old, i heard a song on a bionicles commercial that i thought just kicked ass. Turns out it was "Move Along". Then my dad got me the album for christmas, and my i heard for the first time a superb rock band.

The opening song, "Dirty Little Secret" is one that i think everyone knows; a quick, simple pop-punk diddy. Other songs that people are quite familiar with are the swinging "Move Along" and the piano ballad "It Ends Tonight". Now personally i think every song on this album could be a hit, with "Can't Take It" being the exception. They are all catchy, mostly upbeat songs about love and loss, something that appeals to most audiences.

This album does see growth for the band, Mostly in Tyson's voice. On their first record, his voice was incredibly nasally, and it sounded like he was trying, but failing, to sound British. The other big change this time around is real drums. The first record had an electronic drum kit, and Chris's drum playing is very strong and very appreciated.

Another thing you'll notice about this album is more ballads. "It Ends Tonight", "Straitjacket Feeling" and "Can't Take It" are all very ballad sounding and that is something yhou would not here on the first record.

At the other end of the spectrum, they still have the faster, livelier songs, like the happy-go-lucky "Change Your Mind" filled with string instruments the whole way through, the mellow yet still up-tempo "Dance Inside" or the energetic "11:11P.M." A song you'd think came straight from the debut album.

The band even manages to throw some distortion in there; "Night Drive" is among their heaviest, "I'm Waiting" has a very hard rock-esque riff, and "Top of the World" sounds like a spanish punk song.

Tyson's voice is at it's best on this one. He's still a kid basically, and can reach those high notes great, but also has a very mature sound to him. Just listen to him belt out some notes on string-driven "Can't Take It".

Nick's guitar is much more simple on this album, but a lot more catchy as well. He still throws in the odd solo, and his riffing is really improving here.

Mikes rhythm guitar isn't really all too unique, he's basically following Nick's lead; But no complaints there as they both fit each other suitably.

Chris is a HUGE addition to the band. He hits the drums so hard, you'd think he was in the same room as you. He really gives this album that extra step.

Tyson's bass playing is very audible, but never really strays too far from the guitar. At least you can hear it well though.

Now for the few cons i have on this album. They never really rocked out as hard as they did on their debut, which kind of dissapointed me just a tiny bit. "Night Drive" i consider to be a skip track, just because it's too heavy to fit the mood of this album if you know what i mean.

I would highly recommend checking out this album. It's nothing groundbreaking, but it's certainly great for a collection, and after one spin of the record, you'll be singing along to every track.

Pro's: Tyson's voice
Chris's drumming
Extremely catchy songs
Dance Inside
Can't Take It

Cons: No really punk songs on this record
Night Drive

Recommended Tracks: Dance Inside, Can't Take It, Straitjacket Feeling, Dirty Little Secret

This is my 2nd review, and my first non track-by-track review, so any criticism/feedback would be greatly appreciated!


user ratings (558)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
1 of
  • ZackSh33 (4)
    With Move Along, the Rejects avoid the common pitfalls of the sophomore slump, and create ...

    jmorris724 (4)
    Darker and more intricate than it's predecessor. The perfect mix of modern alt-rock and 80...

    teamsleep698 (2)
    This is really an annoying album. Every once in awhile it gets tolerable, mainly the first...

    Ian (3.5)
    ...

  • captain chris (3.5)
    ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
AliceSeason
March 14th 2013



32 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This was incredibly hard for me to write as first off, i have no clue how to write a review unless it's track by track, and 2nd off, I was thinking i'd get alooot of negative feedback. Some constructive criticism really would be nice though!

Gwyn.
March 14th 2013



14897 Comments


title track was my jam a few years back

Digging: Grief - Come to Grief

AliceSeason
March 14th 2013



32 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@gwynbleidd
Ya that's the type of song that anyone can get into no matter what genre you listen to it's great!

toxin.
March 14th 2013



12021 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yea title track and dirty little secret (that was this right?) ruled

AliceSeason
March 14th 2013



32 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@toxin.
Yup that was this! and ya those songs are great!

toxin.
March 14th 2013



12021 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I see you're looking for feedback. I've gotta go right now but hopefully I remember so I can give you a proper response.

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2013



9687 Comments


I'll give you some reviewing tips in a bit, k? Just a bit busy right now with boring music theory homework :/

AliceSeason
March 14th 2013



32 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@toxin. Thanks very much it would be greatly appreciated!

@Necrotica Thank you! i really appreciate that and yaa music theory sucks :/ had it 2 years straight -.-

MeatSalad
March 14th 2013



14193 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

lol

Digging: Love - Forever Changes

tmagistrelli
March 14th 2013



714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm gonna have to neg this one. It seems to be a habit of yours of telling me what it means to you. When frankly, I'm sure you're an awesome guy and everything, but I don't care. Talk more about what makes the album great, and less personal input.

MMX
March 14th 2013



4784 Comments


MOVE ALONG MOVE ALONG LIKE I KNOW YOU DO

Digging: 68 - In Humor and Sadness

toxin.
March 14th 2013



12021 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^
Disagree hard. Anyone can describe music ad nauseum, and most descriptions don't really tell you anything anyways.

In fact, I learn more hearing about the specific aspects of the music that really resonate because that's really what I'm looking for---music that will resonate with me on some level. Even if it's a superficial "wow this is the fuckin' jam and I'm gonna be playing this in my car everyday" that's still more valuable to me than "the vocalist has a bit of a whiny inflection on his voice that really kills the enjoyment of the album" (i.e. what if I don't find it whiny? What If I don't care that it's whiny?)

Not every good review has to be personal and not every personal review is good (and this review could definitely use work) but talking about what makes the album great in tandem with personal experience often is a formula that works out great.

ViralOblivion
March 14th 2013



7679 Comments


I guess it depends cause I could give a shit about people's personal stories with albums

toxin.
March 14th 2013



12021 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ok well I present to you Chan's tdgarim review which you personally might hate but people in general seem to love

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2013



19464 Comments


i often prefer a more straightforward approach but a good reviewer can often sell me an album with a more personal review. (i'm looking at you toxin. regarding your jimmy eat world -futures review)

i want to do a more personal review sometime, like a 5 for say anything - is a real boy but i'm not ready yet i don't think my review would do it justice lol.

Digging: The Who - Tommy

toxin.
March 14th 2013



12021 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

haha I won't lie that I was thinking about my review too, though it's been done better. I just think
if it helps funnel your thoughts into a proper thesis which you can elaborate on, your review comes
off as more focused and polished.

The issue with this one, though, is the reference to the author's life never seems to really have a
point. I think of Observer's "When You're Through Thinking, Say Yes" review, and just how excellently
the first paragraph read and tied into the rest of his review, and it seems the review is all the
stronger for the personal tie in. On this review, it's pretty extraneous.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2013



19464 Comments


how long did it take you to write that review toxin?

toxin.
March 14th 2013



12021 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The whole process actually took a while, honestly. I don't think I'd have written it without first
writing a different review that I was completely unsatisfied with and ended up scrapping. That one
itself took about 1 1/2 hours.
The one I posted took about an hour to write (I just got a burst of inspiration one night when I was
thinking too much instead of sleeping) and I probably spent another hour over a few days fine tuning.
Much longer than my normal reviews but nothing obscene I'd say.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2013



19464 Comments


I hear u. Well the extra effort paid off though.

toxin.
March 14th 2013



12021 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha thanks. Re: Is a Real Boy, I'd say don't force anything and one day I think it'll just click.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy