Bon Jovi
What About Now


1.5
very poor

Review

by Alex Beebe USER (126 Reviews)
March 13th, 2013 | 31 replies | 6,050 views


Release Date: 03/08/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: You can just hear the midlife crisis.

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

The name of its opening track “Because We Can” pretty much sums up the reason behind why Bon Jovi’s 12th studio album What About Now was made. On it, the former hair metal megastar Jon Bon Jovi sings about how he doesn’t “wanna be another wave in the ocean," and how he’s “a rock, not just another grain of sand," but then offers no argument for why he stands out at this point in his group's career, or examples for why he’s even relevant anymore for that matter.

Now into their fifties, it’s a good thing that the members of Bon Jovi wisely chose to drop the glam metal theatrics long ago and save themselves the embarrassment, but since doing that, they haven’t been successful in making their music any less plain and bland as their now casual image. Since the turn of the century, Bon Jovi has been making new age soft rock that’s devoid of inspiration or appealing hooks, and vanilla arena anthems recycled since what seems like the dawn of time that pack frail nudges as opposed to solid punches.

And so here we are with What About Now, an album whose title actually poses a question that should be addressed: "What about now?” Is this time going to be the record that will mark Bon Jovi's comeback? Is it any different or notable from their previous flukes? The answer is, unsurprisingly, no. What About Now is really a record that’s obviously without any intention to make an impact in modern music, its sole purpose for being created is for the fun and for the fans. However, this album isn’t really much fun at all, and has very little that even the most committed and borderline-delusional fans will be attracted to.

It’s what anybody would expect, a dull hard rock album consisting entirely of turgid power ballads and fist-raisers that croon the same old sorrows and stomp to the same old rhythm. Bon Jovi actually seem unconfident in why they are taking their sound any further, and unsure of where they’re going with their music careers, so they take some notes on how to command the arenas from the current pop rock heavyweights, such as Coldplay and The Killers. Unfortunately though, as evidenced by “Army of One” and “Beautiful World," Bon Jovi can replicate the face of atmospheric rock, but none of its soul.

They’re still making rock songs for the stadiums, but who’s really filling up the seats anymore at this point? Instead of deciding to age gracefully, Bon Jovi have churned out What About Now, which is a forgettable and drab affair that’s all about never giving up and moving forward, but never really stops to think about its inspiration for doing so, and significantly lacks the spirit to back up the determination.



Recent reviews by this author
Les Claypool's Duo de Twang Four Foot ShackPeriphery Clear
Nickelback The Best of Nickelback Volume 1Eminem The Marshall Mathers LP 2
Active Child RaporJustin Timberlake The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2
user ratings (69)
Chart.
1.8
poor
other reviews of this album
Green Baron (1)
Just because you can doesn't mean you should....

Deuce8311 (2.5)
A career spanning three decades could offer so much more than another average release....

Antonius (2)
Keeping the brand name alive...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Gyromania
March 13th 2013



15495 Comments


stop making the rest of us look bad!

oh and i think commas are supposed to go inside quotes

FiveLeavesLeft
March 13th 2013



9838 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This band hasn't sounded good in ages... it's really sad

Hey, looks like we have the same number of reviews! : )

taylormemer
March 13th 2013



4916 Comments


Depends where you live.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013



50096 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

ahh you should have used my summary

Digging: Tiny Moving Parts - Pleasant Living

breakingthefragile
March 13th 2013



2955 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

"insanity" - noun - definition: "doing the same fucking thing over and over again, and expecting shit to change."

Taken from Merriam Webster's Dictionary.


Also, thanks Gyro, making edits as we speak.

Digging: The Blood of Heroes - The Blood Of Heroes

toxin.
March 13th 2013



12313 Comments


they still make music? damn

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013



6993 Comments


Show me your hairs, and i'll show you mine : ]

tommygun
March 13th 2013



24553 Comments


shit band

nice review mate but there shouldn't be an apostrophe in stadiums

Digging: Broods - Evergreen

breakingthefragile
March 13th 2013



2955 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

@Necrotica I know dude! Now that we're tied we should race lol.

@Trebor It was tempting, but I couldn't take credit for your genius work. I'll say it here for everyone to admire anyway though: "This album has less enjoyable moments than Bon Jovi has grey pubic hair." - Trebor17 (2013)

@Ipod Wow now, take it easy there buddy. At least buy me a drink first.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013



50096 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Use it idk put it in the conclusion

FiveLeavesLeft
March 13th 2013



9838 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

YOU GIVE LOVE

A BAD NAME

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013



6993 Comments


At least buy me a drink first.


Keep that up and you'll earn your self a donkey punch : ]

Can I race with you and Brendan? I think I'll win : ]

FiveLeavesLeft
March 13th 2013



9838 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

^ You already won, bastard... xD

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013



50096 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

12 studio albums

and who is to blame

you give music

a bad name

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013



6993 Comments


Lol Trebs

^ You already won, bastard... xD


Okays.... First to 500?



breakingthefragile
March 13th 2013



2955 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

How about first to 200? I think I'd go as far as to say I'd get there by the end of the year.

FiveLeavesLeft
March 13th 2013



9838 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

First to drop dead from too much reviewing? :P

DarkSideOfLucca
March 13th 2013



3273 Comments


Ahaha this album

TooLateToGoBack
March 13th 2013



1762 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

why do i always confuse these guys with U2?

Digging: Pianos Become the Teeth - Keep You

breakingthefragile
March 13th 2013



2955 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

They actually suck Bono off as well on quite a few of these songs.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy