Off With Their Heads
Home


4.0
excellent

Review

by Aaron Arneson CONTRIBUTOR (109 Reviews)
March 13th, 2013 | 140 replies


Release Date: 03/12/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Don’t focus on the band name. This is one of the most enjoyable, anthem-fueled rides of 2013

It’s kind of hard to believe that one of the more enjoyable releases of 2013 so far comes from a band named Off With Their Heads, but it certainly seems to be the case with their newest effort Home. It’s the band’s first release since 2010’s In Desolation and it’s sure to turn heads with the most anthem-like, upbeat songs the band has ever laid to record. Backed by dirty punk vocals, the band will likely be an instant hit with fans of The Menzingers or Sharks, but they’re sure to gain some new listeners as well with their most ambitious release to date.

Home is packed tightly with huge choruses and sing-along verses that are sure to get the listener’s foot tapping. Despite the rather gruff vocal performance, the lyrics are surprisingly audible over the bouncy guitars and rapid drums. However, few songs are as downright fun as ‘Shirts’ or ‘Come Find Me.’ Both tracks are overflowing with energy and are made even better by flashy guitars and enjoyable gang vocals. The band also shows off their softer side on the ballad-like tracks ‘Don’t Make Me Go Home’ and ’Stolen Away’. They contain some of the most soothing vocals on the album and make for a nice break between the relentlessly fast-paced punk songs that surround them. The latter of the two stands out as one of the most memorable songs on the album as the vocalist actually gets the chance to show off his surreal singing voice. It sounds great in contrast to his harsher vocals and ‘Stolen Away’ is a prime example of his talent as a punk vocalist.

After nearly a 3 year absence, Off With Their Heads have finally refined their craft to release one of the most addicting and energetic punk albums of 2013. Once you can get past their band name, there’s a lot of substance to be found and it’s never been as apparent as on their newest effort. Whether it’s in the captivating guitars that breathe life into every song or the strong vocal performance, Home is a highly memorable affair. The band may still have a ways to go before they reach the heights of The Gaslight Anthem or The Menzingers, but it seems they’re definitely on the right track. It's almost as if they’re finally home and they’ve never sounded better.



Recent reviews by this author
The Residents EskimoTrvth Approaching
Agalloch The Serpent and the SphereThe Byrds Mr. Tambourine Man
Somos Temple of PlentyFireworks Oh, Common Life
user ratings (59)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013


19756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so yeah this was released today and i promise it doesn't suck.

check it out...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VwFNXEvEC18

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013


50380 Comments


Holy shit look at those similar bands

Digging: Viper the Rapper - You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013


19756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol you'd probably like these guys treb. they've been compared to the lawrence arms.

drasticaction74
March 13th 2013


1736 Comments


what's wrong with the band name?

Digging: L666N - Exposure To Japanese Porn

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013


19756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@drastica,

I guess it's not too bad but the band is a lot better than the their name suggests if that makes sense. I really dig them though.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013


50380 Comments


Checked a song on youtube, new alkaline trio song was next in line, fuck so good

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013


19756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah i'm stoked for new alkaline trio

Kman418
March 13th 2013


10482 Comments


I thought In Desolation was pretty meh tbh, should I still check this out?

Digging: AIDS Wolf - Cities of Glass

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013


19756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Kman, at least check the link to the song i posted. i haven't heard all of desolation i just checked a few songs but this definitely sounded better to me

CaptainDooRight
March 13th 2013


29132 Comments


oh hey hi y hasn't anyone Pos'd

THIS ATARI PEOPLE

fixed

Digging: Kangding Ray - Solens Arc

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013


19756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol thanks captain

now i'm wondering if i should change the summary cause the band's name seems kind of irrelevant. but i just don't want people to overlook this based on the band's name hmmm

CaptainDooRight
March 13th 2013


29132 Comments


summary is true, I'd say keep it, BUT who am I

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013


19756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They should? I had never heard of this band till a few days ago lol



mryrtmrnfoxxxy
March 13th 2013


13139 Comments


IS THIS OFF MINOR SIDE PROJECT

Digging: Electric Wurms - Musik Die Schwer Zu Twerk

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013


19756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@captain, haha I'll keep the summary just for u bro m/

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013


19756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that's a cool idea

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013


19756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I wasn't gonna steal your idea lol just saying it was cool

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013


7996 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think In Desolation is stronger all around, but this is still a blast

joshieboy12345
March 13th 2013


5370 Comments


Really don't like the vocals. Nice riff though.

mitch91
March 13th 2013


409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't get what's wrong with the name? I think this is a bit more varied than In Desolation, and better for it.

Digging: Dry The River - Alarms in the Heart



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy