Echolyn
Suffocating the Bloom


4.0
excellent

Review

by ClemintineBree USER (12 Reviews)
March 11th, 2013 | 18 replies


Release Date: 1992 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Whoa

Echolyn is a progressive rock band that was formed in the early 90's. They are strongly influenced by legends Gentle Giant. They have fantastic levels of musicallity which are fully evident in each of the band members talents. Their music has great flow and their discography is quite solid. Suffocating the Bloom is a fantastic record about winter and other naturistic landscaps. Although 21 tracks long its actually one song. "Memoirs From Between" showcases some beautiful vocal melodies from Brett William Kull. The backing progressive folk melodies blend well with his voice.

Tracks like "In every garden" are really excellent. The flutes blending well with the chimming ride slaps and Bretts voice makes me want to dance and leap off building in full confidence. It's kind of like that scene on the movie called the game where Michael Douglas at the end jumps off the building because he's so sad he shot his brother and when he's falling in slow motion is in every garden, it's just perfect. Sometimes Bretts voice will climax like the mid three minute section of this same track. The synth tricklings of the synth master Christopher Bizby, are really good.

"A little nonsense" is truly jazz fusion. Gentle Giant really shines here. Even the mid-clapping part with vocal hamonies is purely Gentle Giant's influence. In fact, you should really hear this track. When the bass lines of master Thomas Hyatt[not to be confused with the hotel] comes in you will immediatly be wow'd because he's really good. In fact, when he slaps the bass it gives off a rather distinct reverb falangee effect that only he can do. In fact, he's really good at staying in harmony. I don't know how he does.

Gentle Giant are clearly the main influences so wouldn't you check this. Gentle Giant are the foundation of good music and jazzy prog vibes and Echolyn really have learned the essense of copying good stuff. But not just stuff that is good butt stuff that is tasty and warm like baths. In fact, jeanluc ponty like riffs of violin are heard throughout. "The sentimental chain" is one of the most beautiful songs I've ever heard. My dad once said "son, if you see beauty then go after it" and with Suffocating the Bloom all I heard was beauty. The only downside is the non-fitting album art. When I listen to suffocating the bloom all I feel is blue and winter and gloom and passion but red is too bull like. Please hear this, you have to hear this. You hear.



Recent reviews by this author
Soul Cycle Soul Cycle IIMonolithe Monolithe III
Necroven Worship of HumiliationTidal Force Nebula
The Caretaker Persistent Repetition of PhrasesAllan Holdsworth Secrets
user ratings (9)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2013


22212 Comments


Wow major props for reviewing this.

Digging: Jasmine Guffond - Yellow Bell

Jethro42
March 11th 2013


12855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Memoirs From Within rules

Great review, posd.

Jethro42
March 11th 2013


12855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah it's a question of faith.

Jethro42
March 11th 2013


12855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I assume you meant 'Twelve's Enough'. Sweet little instrumental it is.

JS19
March 11th 2013


4572 Comments


One of their best

Digging: Matana Roberts - COIN COIN Chapter One: Gens de couleur libres

JS19
March 11th 2013


4572 Comments


Memoirs from Between is my fav. And funny you should mention the Gentle Giant influence, because I'm not really a fan, but I do like this album. Hmmm

JS19
March 12th 2013


4572 Comments


Oh, my favourite album by them is either Mei, or the new s/t one. They're both pretty great. I don't see the Maynard thing myself but I can sort of see why you would...

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
June 17th 2013


20261 Comments


haha this really is captain look at all the comments

Digging: Make Do and Mend - Don't Be Long

Friday13th
December 14th 2014


3343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

SET A COURSE UP AHEAD

STRAIGHT INTO HEAVEEEEEEEEEN

Digging: Daniel Amos - Darn Floor - Big Bite

Jethro42
December 14th 2014


12855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^Such a beautiful song!

Friday13th
December 15th 2014


3343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah probably my favorite on here. That ending reminds me of Starship Trooper.

Jethro42
December 15th 2014


12855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I never noticed that but true, I definitely hear it. At the last part of Starship as well.

Friday13th
December 15th 2014


3343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

These guys do the Yes/Gentle Giant thing better than most though. I put them off for too long!

Jethro42
December 15th 2014


12855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gentle Giant for sure. But they have hard times to produce a consistent album, even if they try. This is probably their best but you sadly always find some fillers into their material.

Jethro42
December 15th 2014


12855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've rated Cowboy Poems Free at a 4 as well but I havent jam them for so long either. If I jam them again, I'll start here first and then with Cowboy.

edit; But wait, will you choose Echolyn to start with the contest?

Friday13th
December 15th 2014


3343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah there's filler for sure. Have you heard Mei? I thought it sounded consistently great from my first listen. Nah, not doing Echolyn for the contest...I wanna pull out some real old-school prog :D

Jethro42
December 15th 2014


12855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No I just saw Mei on you tube. I'm gonna try this one soon!

Oh I see, obscure and old-school prog...why not. I was going to choose Landberk, formed in the 90's as well. I'll try another one it seems :D

Friday13th
December 16th 2014


3343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't wanna be out-progged ;] I'll probably end up picking something you know already lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy