Steak Number Eight
The Hutch


4.5
superb

Review

by Philip Whitehead USER (27 Reviews)
March 11th, 2013 | 27 replies


Release Date: 04/22/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Steak Number Eight progress nicely with their stunning blend of post-rock and sludge metal.

Steak Number Eight are a band with a lot of momentum gathering around them. The youngest ever winners of Humo's Rock Rally in 2008, the young Belgians have since been faced with relentless comparisons to the likes of Nirvana despite having a very different, more Isis inspired sound. While their first album went relatively unnoticed, Metal Hammer's giveaway of their sophomore effort "All Is Chaos" brought them to the attention of the UK and the youngsters have been slowly building an audience supporting numerous bands in the UK, including 2012's Razor Tour (their own headline tour was less successful with near empty venues being common). Now releasing their third album, "The Hutch", Steak Number Eight show signs of real maturity and are out to prove that they're ready for the big time.

Like "All Is Chaos", the album starts with songs that showcase the much more sludgy side to SN8's sound with Cryogenius and Black Eyed delivering pummelling riffs and a marked improvement in frontman Brent Vanneste's screams. The post-rock atmospherics begin to kick in from Phototonic and the 6 and a half minute Push / Pull (in which vocals don't kick in until at least half way through) in a fairly similar pattern to the album structure of "All Is Chaos" (start heavy, have some post-rock tracks, heavy again in the middle (see Exile Of Our Marrow), before returning to the post-rock style at the end). The band don't seem to be trying anything new much here but instead are looking to build on what they already have, and this works well for them as their previous releases show that they're on the right path and they have the a good degree of progression on each album as they perfect the sound they want to make.

Overall I can't really find much negative to say about this album except for the fact that the structure is very similar to that of their last release. But as I loved their last album this doesn't bother me in the slightest and the tracks themselves still retain a good degree of unpredictability in of themselves, with the eclectic Pilgrimage Of A Black Heart being a standout track. That said, if you don't like having particularly long tracks then this won't be the album for you. The tracks go on for typically about 5-7 minutes so the lengthy passages won't settle too well for those lacking the attention span or desire to sit through these lengthy post-sludge tracks, especially in the slower tracks, for example in Slumber, which drifts along steadily, and Rust, which clocks in at over 8 minutes in length as the - although things do get rather interesting towards the end of the track.

All in all, though, if this is your sort of music then you'll love this album. The band are further developing their blend of post-rock and sludge metal and keep the listener on their toes, particularly in the heavier tracks. Even if it's not really your muse, I still suggest giving it a go. SN8 are doing phenomenally well for such a young band, they're just beginning to break out of Belgium and they're set for plenty of success in the near future. I can't wait to see some of this stuff played live.

Album picks: Cryogenius, Pilgrimage of a Black Heart, Exile of Our Marrow, Tearwalker.



Recent reviews by this author
Keistas WitheringSilvia Siffredi Kurrie!
Forever In Grey MephobiaQuinta Travessa Hora da Verdade
Vinterbris SolaceEths Ex Umbra In Solem
user ratings (57)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
DatsNotDaMetulz
March 11th 2013


1848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

http://www.standaard.be/artikel/detail.aspx?artikelid=DMF20130310_022

Stream of the album.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2013


6506 Comments


I really liked All Is Chaos. Just started listening to the stream, seems a bit weaker than their last effort so far.

Good review, good to see these guys getting covered.

DatsNotDaMetulz
March 11th 2013


1848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I dunno I think it's better and more focussed than All Is Chaos, which was rather chaotic in the heavy tracks (Dickhead is still a tune). Tearwalker is the longest track but actually the one post-rock leaning track where I was genuinely surprised to see was nearly finished when I checked how far into the track I was. It's that good.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2013


6506 Comments


Yeah, but I'm just more of a fan of the more chaotic style. I don't really like his cleans on here as well. Still, I'm only at the third track so let's see what they still got in store.

DatsNotDaMetulz
March 11th 2013


1848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

OK erm Steak Number Eight just shared this on their official Facebook page. I'm freaking out man.

EDIT: awwww it's gone now. Kinda regretting not screepcapping it now.

NonApplicable
March 11th 2013


2009 Comments


That sucks! I wonder why they un-shared it.

Digging: Skyharbor - Guiding Lights

teiwaz
April 3rd 2013


3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Best thing i've heared so far this year!

teiwaz
April 3rd 2013


3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6FdNtLQYK8

bodiesinflight57
April 15th 2013


870 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this is MUCH better than All is Chaos.

Yazz_Flute
May 5th 2013


18855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really kinda hate their band name but this is pretty sold stuff for sure.

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

DatsNotDaMetulz
May 5th 2013


1848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I'm kinda nervous as to what's gonna happen when they reach their mid 20s and get a bit more mature whether they grow tired of the name and if so what will they do cos it'll be a bit late to rename themselves and will they just break up and form a new band with the same lineup and sound or what.

Yazz_Flute
May 5th 2013


18855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Does anybody know the etymology of the moniker?

DatsNotDaMetulz
May 5th 2013


1848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nope. Probably just a bunch of random words that a group of Belgian 15 year olds that probably didn't speak much English at the time entering a band contest decided to use.

Luxas
May 13th 2013


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They're named after a song by the band of the brother of the singer (I think it was about his 8th
girlfriend or something). He died before Steak Number Eight was founded, I guess they took this name
as a homage to him. So I don't think they're planning to change their name in the future.

maartendq
May 30th 2013


7 Comments


Music-wise it's stellar, but not as good as their previous album. The lyrics are plain ridiculous though, annoyingly so from time to time. I know this is the case for most metal bands, but Steak's problem is that I can actually make out the lyrics.

leycec
July 22nd 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

(Absurdly) (Obscenely) (Undeservedly) Overrated.

I blame the inveterate Sputnik hype machine. Bright-eyed and fresh-faced with an oft-bloodied naivety, I heartily expected "Pelagial Pt. II"; instead, I heartlessly received a well-polished heap of apathetically jury-rigged pomp (without the circumstance).

Clean-cut Danish hipster youth with reasonable chops and unreasonably Dengrish-doused lyrics fraught with cloistered teen pettiness. Pablum, sounding loud and signifying nothing! Doggerel, dog-eared, and dog gonnit' dyspeptic! Lackluster! Lackadaisically lacking!

I'm sorry, but I'm well into the grief-crinkled, anger-incensed yesteryears of my 30's. And this is simply bad. Or, at least, monotonously forgettable – which is probably worse.

Try again, Sputnik. Try again.

DatsNotDaMetulz
July 22nd 2013


1848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

what?

teamster
July 24th 2013


77 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My front runner for AOTY. I love how diverse the songs are. One second we are banging our heads to
grunge/sludge/hardcore riffs, the next we are floating along an ethereal post rock/metal path.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2013


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

I'm surprised how good this is considering the age of musicians involved and all. The cleans could have been more distinctive, but overall a great effort.

Digging: Wildbirds & Peacedrums - Rhythm

teiwaz
August 28th 2013


3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6mjBfl76XQk

Concert video at Graspop '13



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy