Rookie Town
New Forest Floors


4.5
superb

Review

by NeoSpaz USER (32 Reviews)
March 11th, 2013 | 17 replies | 968 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The broken down landscape is still a reasonable place to take comfort.

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Post-hardcore is a genre with just as much miss as hit. Bands that can be completely innovative can be challenged by others that simply incorporate screams. Fortunately, Rookie Town is one of the later. Through strained screams, pained cleans and melodic guitar lines, the songs found on this record create a sense of longing, through portrayals of sadness, longing and sadness. As if emblazoned on the chest of this band, the passion is clearly felt with each song be it the dual vocals on tracks like I Bet All The Bats Are Hiding In The North And In The East or the building group vocals found on (sink) and the spoken word lines behind them.

There is no fooling around on this album, it is straight to the point. There are no flamboyant solos, no extended breakdowns, no overt grabs for attention by any members of the band, rather one large piece of puzzle that fits greatly into the scheme of things. The musical work is well balanced, the percussion balancing out the guitars, the bass playing a genuine part in the music, building the intensity at just the right times.

The vocals are the focus of this album, painting images of a home among the trees, a place to get lost or to wander aimlessly for hours in. Metaphor aside, the vocal style being used ranges from an post-hardcore scream, stressed cleans and a particularly enthusiastic backing vocalist. The theme of the lyrics relates to a general place, as mentioned previously, but uses this to create a unique flavour, mentioning the stasis of an empty forest, the fresh air washing over in an almost healing sensation.

Like any beginning record, this has its flaws. The guitars, repetitive at times, the bass not as defined as it could potentially be, the vocals wearing near the end of the record. Even these imperfections contribute to the overall feel of the record. Not quite perfect and it knows it, the acknowledgement that it isn't, nor will it ever be the perfect record.

Look hard enough behind any landscape and you'll find something of value, be it a scenic photograph, a small, unnoticed gemstone or a place to reflect on life. This album could be likened to a landscape, painting a place to sit and avoid the troubles of the world, if just for a short period.

4.5/5



Recent reviews by this author
Arrows Try And Stay UprightArrows Modern Art & Politics
Arrows Don't Write PoetryMiles Away Endless Roads
The Black Dahlia Murder EverblackDark New Day Hail Mary
user ratings (13)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
recommended by reviewer
Free Throw Free Throw

Comments:Add a Comment 
NeoSpaz
March 11th 2013



4506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you'd give feedback, that'd be great.

This is fantastic.

Kman418
March 11th 2013



8594 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn I was literally just about to start writing a review for his tonight haha, album rules though. It needs way more attention

Digging: Kanye West - Late Registration

Kman418
March 11th 2013



8594 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll try to give some feedback tomorrow though since I'm about to go to sleep

NeoSpaz
March 11th 2013



4506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers man, I thought you'd like to see that I'd gotten around to it

toxin.
March 11th 2013



11821 Comments


Formatting issues with italics in the intro. A few just typos?
"Like any beginning record, this has its floors" what
Also, I'm just not 100% sure you sold a 4.5 but it might have been your restraint from hyperbole.

Those were the main issues. It's a pretty good review but not sure what kind of feedback you're looking for
pos

NeoSpaz
March 11th 2013



4506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't know what's going on with my brain, I kept on seeing these glaring typos, thanks for picking that up.

I was trying to push it but at the same time I felt awkward about it. Thanks for the feedback

NeoSpaz
March 11th 2013



4506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fixed those errors, will attempt an extension of the hyperbole tomorrow, to see if that makes it flow or justify better.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2013



6734 Comments


Here we go dude:

Fortunately, Rookie Town is one of the later.


latter*

through portrayals of sadness, longing and sadness.


Did you mean to repeat here for effect; If so, consider removing the second instance and finish up the sentence, It more or less destroys whatever flow the introduction of your review built.

with each song be it the dual vocals


with each song,* be it...

There is no fooling around on this album, it is straight to the point. There are no flamboyant solos, no extended breakdowns, no overt grabs for attention by any members of the band, rather one large piece of puzzle that fits greatly into the scheme of things. The musical work is well balanced, the percussion balancing out the guitars, the bass playing a genuine part in the music, building the intensity at just the right times.


Let's break this up. Try a full-stop by 'band'. Capitalising 'Rather'. Your wording is off, not in the way that the ideas are bad, more in the way that you don't lead into your ideas.... For example; "Rather, it's one large piece of a puzzle that fits perfectly into the grand scheme of things."

What I advise, is find a place to yourself, and read the whole thing back to yourself. Think: Does that sound right? How's my spacing? For commas, full-stops etc. One breath between sections usually means comma, while a bigger pause, full-stop.
------------------------------------------------------------------
More on next post.




NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2013



6734 Comments


The vocals are the focus of this album, painting images of a home among the trees, a place to get lost or to wander aimlessly for hours in.


Scrap "in". Also, wording again - it's up to you but, I'd go with " The vocals come to the fore-front of the record. They paint a vibrant image of a home amongst the trees, a place for those absorbed in the imagery to wander aimlessly for hours."

The theme of the lyrics relates to a general place, as mentioned previously, but uses this to create a unique flavour, mentioning the stasis of an empty forest, the fresh air washing over in an almost healing sensation


As mentioned before, read this back to yourself, Does it flow or make sense? Is flavour used in the right context? (It's not). This goes for the last two paragraphs, read aloud, edit, read aloud edit.



NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2013



6734 Comments


There you go man, as requested. Hope it helps Keep writing, my first reviews were woe-bad.

NeoSpaz
March 11th 2013



4506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers, I felt really dodgy with this one, so I needed the feedback, I'll fix it all asap


NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2013



6734 Comments


Try googling a couple of grammar sites too, every so often i'll check 'grammarly' or the likes to touch up on a couple of things.

NeoSpaz
March 11th 2013



4506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah? sounds good, might have a look. thanks Ipod, you're a legend.

toxin.
March 11th 2013



11821 Comments


"Fixed those errors, will attempt an extension of the hyperbole tomorrow, to see if that makes it flow or justify better."
I didn't mean to imply you need to hyperbolize or anything. It seems to be the norm for a 4.5+ review on this site, but I don't think it's inherently right to review this way. If you think you didn't sell your 4.5 then go for it though.

NeoSpaz
March 11th 2013



4506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think I quite pushed it from what most would consider a 4 to a 4.5. Thanks for the ideas though.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2013



6734 Comments


Still missed "latter

NeoSpaz
March 11th 2013



4506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sigh.

I'll get it once I'm done class for the day. I'll do all the edits then. Thanks for hammering me about this, I'm really keen to improve.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy