That's Outrageous!
Psycho


1.5
very poor

Review

by Tony Li USER (36 Reviews)
March 10th, 2013 | 32 replies | 3,198 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Insignificance at its finest

8 of 10 thought this review was well written

It’s important to take everything with a grain of salt, and in this case that grain of salt is the foreknowledge that what you are about to hear is low-substance, low-impact, low-talent music. The band’s previous album, “Teenage Scream” was a mishmash of cheesy electronica, breakdowns, and autotuned vocals. As trite as it was, it still contained enjoyable hooks. “Psycho” is essentially a carbon copy of “Teenage Scream” in the big scheme of things, albeit with a few largely inconsequential differences. Harsh vocals are marginally better due to the replacement of the original harsh vocalist. Album structuring is also different, with some songs lacking harsh vocals almost entirely, instead being solely comprised of clean vocals and lamebrain dance beats. There is also more meaningless filler. Production is poorer this time around, with the vocals becoming easily drowned out in the mix. It’s a damn shame, too; the vocals are perhaps the only part of the album that gives it any sort of personality.

Hemmed in by a lack of creativity (possibly superimposed, we all know how oppressive the industry can be), That’s Outrageous! can do nothing but write the same songs over and over again. It’s a fine line to walk; if the songs aren’t catchy enough, if the hooks aren’t strong enough, if the production isn’t perfect enough, then they will continue to go stale. “Psycho” is a prime example of a band that has achieved insignificance at its finest, and serves as a trivial symbol of what has become the mainstream post-hardcore industry.

Recommended tracks:
Pretty Little Liars
Obliviate
Paging Patrick Bateman



Recent reviews by this author
How to Dress Well What Is This Heart?Lana Del Rey Ultraviolence
The Amity Affliction Let the Ocean Take MeClosure in Moscow Pink Lemonade
Adestria Gilded HeartsSave Us From The Archon Thereafter
user ratings (44)
Chart.
2.7
average
other reviews of this album
HaytonLloyd23 (3)
All in all, "That's Outrageous!" have crafted a fun little thrill ride of an album, that rarely lets...

related reviews

Teenage Scream

Comments:Add a Comment 
Azn.
March 10th 2013



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Also shitty album cover, may I add

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2013



3414 Comments


Surprisingly good short review, have a pos.

Azn.
March 10th 2013



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

thanks! short review for a short-term appeal band

kingsoby1
Emeritus
March 10th 2013



4950 Comments



It’s important to take everything with a grain of salt, and in this case that grain of salt is the foreknowledge that what you are about to hear is low-substance, low-impact, low-talent music.
- i dont really like this cliche. taking things with a grain of salt means taking bad with good. i would find another hook.

The band’s previous album, “Teenage Scream” was a mishmash of cheesy electronica, breakdowns, and autotuned vocals. As trite as it was, it still contained enjoyable hooks. “Psycho” is essentially a carbon copy of “Teenage Scream” in the big scheme of things, albeit with a few largely inconsequential differences. Harsh vocals are marginally better due to the replacement of the original harsh vocalist.
- delete the second harsh, redundant

Album structuring is also different, with some songs lacking harsh vocals almost entirely, instead being solely comprised of clean vocals and lamebrain dance beats.
- this is also redundant and you're using the word harsh too frequently. i also dont understand how clean vocals affect the album's structure. structure should more be dedicated to the record's organization (which you dont really need to mention here). I'd find a way to clean this up. Remember, you dont need to tell the reader twice that the vocals are clean (which you do by saying songs are lacking harsh vocals and they are clean).

There is also more meaningless filler.
- how? examples/ descriptions help in this instance.

Production is poorer this time around, with the vocals becoming easily drowned out in the mix. It’s a damn shame, too; the vocals are perhaps the only part of the album that gives it any sort of personality.
- this is a good example of a good short description


kingsoby1
Emeritus
March 10th 2013



4950 Comments



Hemmed in by a lack of creativity (possible superimposed, we all know how oppressive the industry can be), That’s Outrageous! can do nothing but write the same songs over and over again.
- this is fine, but there are more creative ways to say they write the same song over and over again. also possible should be possibly?

It’s a fine line to walk; if the songs aren’t catchy enough, if the hooks aren’t strong enough, if the production isn’t perfect enough, then they will continue to go stale. “Psycho” is a prime example of a band that has achieved insignificance at its finest, and serves as a trivial symbol of what has become the mainstream post-hardcore industry.
- this is good

decent overall. i would work on your diction (which only comes with practice and reading). make sure to read each of your sentences and understand exactly why you put it there, if it flows well with the paragraph, and if it leaves the reader asking why?

Azn.
March 10th 2013



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

thanks a ton! so I guess I need to say more meaningful things but keep it consise at the same time

feedback is much appreciated

Cygnatti
March 10th 2013



21349 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

close to the correct rating, azninva!

band sucks.

Calc
March 10th 2013



12116 Comments


wtf how do you get staff to comment on your reviews they never offer me any criticism lol

Digging: He Is Legend - Heavy Fruit

Azn.
March 10th 2013



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

you ask

Calc
March 10th 2013



12116 Comments


hmm...I never thought of that.

Azn.
March 10th 2013



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

lol
fucking skele negged my review again

Azn.
March 10th 2013



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"Some of these sentences feel rushed and the lack of the use "the" is disturbing to the point it makes no sense and the whole review feels too short and not enough time was put into it. Neg. Im not negging because it's you either."

Skele do you really fucking think I'm as stupid as you? I just had two goddamn contributors/staff members call my review AT LEAST decent.

Jeez you're the most fucking useless soul to ever walk this planet

Vakarian12
March 10th 2013



3709 Comments


hahahaha

Digging: Sepultura - Arise

Azn.
March 10th 2013



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

you know if a contributor or staff dude neg me, then whatever

but you're legitimately stupid and you're trolling

Azn.
March 10th 2013



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"Might i also point out that said staff also pointed out a ton of stuff that needs fixing. You arent as good as you think you are."

can you even read
no shit I have flaws in my writing, but it was called "decent overall"

you can't hold a candle to even my most disjointed prewriting scraps

Azn.
March 10th 2013



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

god this guy's SUCH an annoyance

Azn.
March 10th 2013



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"you're so up your own arse it is unbelievable. your reviews suck and you can't accept it. you assume every neg comes from me (the one that got removed wasnt me at all) and whine about it like a little girl. Take the feedback and accept that you need to improve. You say i wont make it to any noteable position (my shoutbox) but neither will you. "

lol I've said it before once and I'll keep saying it

you're a damned hypocrite

paradox1216
March 10th 2013



445 Comments


Good short write-up for an album that there's really not much to day about. I'm surprised these guys even got signed again: they were originally funding this via kickstarter, but almost no one donated.

Digging: He Is Legend - Heavy Fruit

Azn.
March 10th 2013



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

me too, I didn't realize they had a new album, I thought the band was torn up by stupid scene-band drama

intotheshit
March 10th 2013



3639 Comments


My God. Looks like az and skele let their bloody vaginas leak all over Sputnik again. Plug that shit up already.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy