Dilute
The Gypsy Valentine Curve


2.0
poor

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (82 Reviews)
March 9th, 2013 | 27 replies | 1,015 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sorry Potsy

So I was assigned this album for Silentpotato's album reviewing game, and I've been dreading reviewing it because I kind of hate it. I know I should like it, I mean it's chock full of intense and all over the place guitar playing, a pounding rhythm section, and charismatic vocals that I seem to usually like, but for some reason Dilute's debut album turns out being much less than the sum of its parts.

Dilute are weird and abrasive, and it feels like they're trying too hard to make their music an unlistenable cacophony. Dilute play a similar brand of indie rock as bands like Built To Spill and Modest Mouse; the kind of indie that tend to have long songs with many parts and always ends up on the weird side of things. Dilute have everything those bands have, but manage to overdo all the elements that make these kinds of bands great.

Every song on Gypsy Valentine Curve is over five minutes long, with the final three tracks all crossing the ten minute mark. The first few tracks are enjoyable enough, but the last three tracks make for a truly exhausting album. A lot of the latter tracks just feel like jamming that goes on forever with no point. The musicianship is adept enough, but there's no emotional connection and it all feels like the band just doesn't know when to end songs.

Gypsy Valentine Curve is technically a good album, but by the end of it loses any appeal it once had by dragging on for way too long and I end up never wanting to listen to it again. Dilute have made quite the chore of an album with interesting parts popping up every now and again, but not nearly enough to make for an enjoyable listen.



Recent reviews by this author
Age Sixteen Open Up Finders, PleaseIssues Issues
Sport Bon VoyageModern Baseball You’re Gonna Miss It All
The Lawrence Arms MetropolePixies EP1
user ratings (11)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Lani Parker (3.5)
Marty Anderson is bonkers....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2013



48524 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Short review for a very longwinded album

Digging: More Than Life - What's Left Of Me

Calc
March 8th 2013



10829 Comments


treb, you're pretty alright so I won't neg this...

toxin.
March 8th 2013



11804 Comments


I'm gonna get in trouble from Aids et. all for pointing this out but:
"The kind of indie that tend to have long songs with many parts and always ends up on the weird side of things Dilute have everything those bands have, but manage to overdo all the elements that make these kinds of bands great."
There's a missing something in here. Comma before Dilute maybe? I don't know.

Anyways my album's indie-folk but I almost feel exactly the same about my album as yours, except there are enough moments to warrant probably a 3

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2013



18577 Comments


lol this needs some edits treb

Digging: Somos - Temple of Plenty

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2013



18577 Comments


"they're trying to hard "

too hard

"and I end up never wanted to listen"

wanting

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2013



48524 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

There was supposed to be a period there fuck typos and shit damn

toxin.
March 8th 2013



11804 Comments


Then that sentence is a fragment. ("The kind of indie...")
It seems it should have a comma or em dash before it. But it also conveys a full thought so I guess it's okay

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2013



18577 Comments


lol it happens to the best of us

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2013



48524 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

semi coloned that shit

toxin.
March 8th 2013



11804 Comments


sweet pos'd

wait

YetAnotherBrick
March 8th 2013



4315 Comments


aww this album rules

purty gewd review tho

Digging: The Beatles - Revolver

mindleviticus
March 8th 2013



7937 Comments


Everything that claimed was bad about this is actually good

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 9th 2013



48524 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I know man, on paper I should like this album

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
March 9th 2013



7783 Comments


ok review

Digging: Kettle Rebellion - Kettle Rebellion

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 9th 2013



48524 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Dude I jammed Boris and metal today
Yeah this review sucks

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
March 9th 2013



7783 Comments


im still gonna do mine ive been swamped at work which is the only time i sput hard

sixdegrees
March 9th 2013



15707 Comments


yo potsy do you plan on doing another review game any time soon?

Digging: TIMO DA LEGEND - molsom love/my life

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
March 9th 2013



7783 Comments


having a life kills sput careers u wouldn't kno

sixdegrees
March 9th 2013



15707 Comments


^^gotcha, count me in on that.

sixdegrees
March 9th 2013



15707 Comments


seems I already did, oh



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy