Witxes
Sorcery/Geography


3.5
great

Review

by Dan H. CONTRIBUTOR (52 Reviews)
March 7th, 2013 | 47 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist


Ambient music has always struck me as an otherworldly entity. Its composition, its impact, and practically everything about it is so far detached from the normal parameters by which we judge music that it effortlessly distinguishes itself as a different beast entirely. The roots of ambience can be traced back to the mid 1970’s when a certain Brian Eno first coined the phrase; and he’s widely accredited with both its formation and its popularity. It has evolved and been infused with other electronic genres since then; including drone music. This is the focus of Witxes’ efforts, and some of the denser atmospheres that they craft on Sorcery/Geography are comparable to the more wandering moments on Godspeed You! Black Emperor’s Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend! such as “Their Helicopters Sing.”

Given that to truly appreciate most music, the instruments need to be scrutinized and the passages dissected in order to evaluate its efficacy and importance, it’s almost surreal to listen to an album and intend to do the exact opposite - but it’s exactly what the nature of the music commands. Ambient music is open, it lacks structure, it’s ambiguous and it thrives off textures, and it’s pretty much everything that pop music isn't. Using primarily keyboards and synthesisers to achieve its effects, Sorcery/Geography doesn't want to be scrutinised. Hell, it doesn't really even want your full attention. Instead, it prefers to lurk in the background and swirl and ebb and flow, like a river slowly eroding a rock into a pebble over hundreds of years, where, at its completion you marvel at the process and the way in which it achieved the end result.

The atmospheres created on Sorcery/Geography vary significantly. Sinister sounding rhythms protrude from the mists created by the lush synthesisers and make their presence felt in the most awkwardly effective way possible, epitomised by “After the Horsefight.” On the opposite end of the spectrum, Witxes occasionally allow the mists to clear and you are treated to a glimpse of daylight through smooth jazz, as saxophones permeate the all encompassing denseness and provide brief reprieves from the eeriness, most notably on “Canyon Improbable.” To talk about highlights in depth however would be to largely ignore the genres primary purpose, which is the feeling the listener is left with upon the album’s conclusion. In Witxes case it’s the carefully balanced ambience and drone techniques which encourage hope and unease respectively, and they succeed in crafting an almost cathartic experience that drifts in and out of the foreground, subtly shaping its surroundings but never allowing itself to go unnoticed.



Recent reviews by this author
FACT WitnessWillis Earl Beal Acousmatic Sorcery
Interpol El PintorMaybeshewill Fair Youth
Talons New TopographicsRise Against The Black Market
user ratings (25)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
MichaelSnoxall
March 7th 2013


12163 Comments


Good review, good album. Good stuff. Pos.

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2013


970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Originally posted at: http://www.muzikdizcovery.com/

Never reviewed an album quite like it. The comparison at the end of the first para is accurate and
hopefully encourages you to listen.

Cheers Michael.

Keyblade
March 7th 2013


14832 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

whoaa this has a review. was this for the review game?

great album, but the EP is betta

Digging: Strawberry Switchblade - Strawberry Switchblade

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2013


970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No game man just been meaning to review this for a while! Finally got round to it. New album in May.

Keyblade
March 7th 2013


14832 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good job man, pos'd the review btw. wow didn't know about the new album...hopefully it's free too

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2013


970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man, I was hoping the exact same thing!

Hopelust
March 7th 2013


1010 Comments


The album art for this is pretty faaackin' cool.

Hopelust
March 7th 2013


1010 Comments


Also, great review. pos!!!!!!!!!

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2013


20652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Excellent album. I personally prefer this to their EP.

Great review, pos'd.

Digging: Townes Van Zandt - Townes Van Zandt

eternium
March 7th 2013


16338 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Should have a higher rating for sure.

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2013


970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cheers guys!

Agreed about that album art too.

CaptainDooRight
March 7th 2013


29131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'Ambient music is open, it lacks structure, it’s ambiguous and it thrives off textures, and it’s pretty much everything that pop music isn't.'

Nice contrast.

"it prefers to lurk in the background and swirl and ebb and flow, like a river slowly eroding a rock into a pebble over hundreds of years, where, at its completion you marvel at the process and the way in which it achieved the end result."

Genius.

"Witxes occasionally allow the mists to clear and you are treated to a glimpse of daylight through smooth jazz, as saxophones permeate the all encompassing denseness and provide brief reprieves from the eeriness, most notably on “Canyon Improbable.”"

One of my favorite elements. Fantastic review. This greatly needed one. Pos'd hard.

Digging: Kangding Ray - Solens Arc

Rail
March 7th 2013


521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Great to see a review for this. I frickin adore this project/album.

If you're an eejit like me, and you paid for the download before it was free then send a message to Maxime. He'll throw a couple of quid off the price of the vinyl.

Digging: Phaeleh - A World Without

YankeeDudel
March 7th 2013


9313 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

niceeeee

Digging: Walknut - Graveforests And Their Shadows

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2013


970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The kind words are much appreciated Captain! I'm really glad there's others on here who enjoy this just as much/even more than me.

mindleviticus
March 7th 2013


8229 Comments


this is a good album

Digging: Cultes Des Ghoules - Henbane

North0House2
March 8th 2013


5856 Comments


Very strong review. Props to you. I've reviewed ambient before as well, and man it is pretty rough stuff.

I enjoy this album quite a bit, I need to give it another spin.

Digging: This Will Destroy You - Another Language

Havey
March 8th 2013


9681 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

cute review

Taxt
March 20th 2013


639 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review, I'm digging this

Hopelust
March 20th 2013


1010 Comments


Only heard the first three tracks on bandcamp and I can tell it's a winner. Lovin' it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy