The Little Explorer
Siderali


3.5
great

Review

by Alex Trinkner CONTRIBUTOR (71 Reviews)
March 6th, 2013 | 59 replies | 2,328 views


Release Date: 02/21/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: At what point is progression too much progression?

Progression and adaptation is paramount to the survival of nearly everything. Without keen awareness of your surroundings and necessity of change, there can never be improvement and without improvement one is destined to fade away nearly as quickly as they arrived. But this is not to say that change always perpetuates survival; even if a band is to adapt and progress in a positive manner they can still cease to exist much before they should; The Little Explorer is such a band, as 2006 was their final year together. Although this album was recorded in 2006 it never saw the light of day until late last month, when Crash of Rhinos decided to dredge up this previously unreleased album. Although this is a definite progression in sound and a glimpse into what Crash of Rhinos would produce, it seems almost too much of a jump for a band that released such an emotionally explosive album only three years prior. While Siderali serves as a perfect stepping stone between The Little Explorer and Crash of Rhinos, it does not quite live up to illustrious Italian title.

With The Little Explorer’s sophomore album Siderali it is almost easier to list what has remained the same, as these constants are far outnumbered by changes. But this is in no way to be taken negatively. One of the few things that stood the test of three years is The Little Explorer’s love for instrumental tracks. There are three on this album, although these tracks would feel out of place on their first record as they expound upon post-rock tendencies far more than previous releases. Album bookends Harmonics and Siderali share similar acoustic guitar lines, with the former perfectly implementing a glockenspiel. Album highlight Glued is also fully instrumental and highlights exactly why this young band had such vast potential with its sailing harmonies and driving instrumentation.

The previously mentioned changes are, in contrast, nearly innumerable; the spastic instrumentation is traded in for layered guitars, the raw tone is replaced by warm production and the harsh vocals are seldom employed, giving way to the welcome addition of clean vocals. Along with this addition of clean vocals there is a newfound prominence placed upon lyrics. Where with their debut it would not be uncommon to find songs with only one or two lines, Siderali finds nearly every song containing full sets of lyrics. With this emphasis on lyrics it would make sense that song parts are repeated less than on their self-titled debut. With more words to sing and shout, songs progress without over-repetition, creating songs devoid of conventional structures. A Fork in the Road introduces listeners to this shift if ideologies, as it starts off with chaos and slowly and nonchalantly leads the listener to the niche the rest of the album remains in. But the biggest deviation is without a doubt the shift in vocal styles. The harsh vocals have all but disappeared, leaving clean vocals the spotlight. This is a change that seemed almost inevitable, as highlights of their previous works often included clean vocals, although this drastic change is surely excessive. But this excess of clean vocals mange to make the rare occurrences of harsh vocals to seem all that much more emotional than The Little Explorer has ever been.

Living begets change, and no more is this adage on display than the life span of The Little Explorer. A tumultuous life span of only three years, in which a label picked them up and not soon after decided to severe ties, lead to obvious changes in the young men of The Little Explorer. But through the hardships and near superfluous progression, The Little Explorer still managed to go out and a relative high note, perfectly segueing to their future projects.



Recent reviews by this author
Trophy Scars Holy VacantsSeahaven Reverie Lagoon: Music For Escapism Only
Sleep Weather Two Wheels SpinningWe Are Scientists TV en Français
William Fitzsimmons LionsPrawn / Joie de Vivre Split
user ratings (11)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2013



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well now I have reviewed The Little Explorer discography in two days lol. Time to focus on my review for curse's review game. Some weird prog stuff. Anyway. it's late here and i'm sure there are mistakes to be found, so let me know so i can fix them.

Not as good as their first record, but it's still definitely worth a listen.. it's also free on their bandcamp

http://thelittleexplorer.bandcamp.com/album/siderali

Mad.
March 6th 2013



3587 Comments


Woo for weird prog stuff.

Digging: Dwellers - Pagan Fruit

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2013



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Woo for only two comments lol

But i see your review for the review game wasn't very well received lol

omnipanzer
March 6th 2013



21425 Comments


Yah free music... it better be good...

Digging: The Ettes - Shake the Dust

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2013



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Get their self titled cd first. They're both free. Both pretty good

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2013



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Apparently I picked a bad day to post a review lol

omnipanzer
March 6th 2013



21425 Comments


You did say they were defunct since 2006 right? Got the Debut as well.

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2013



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah. They recorded this in 2006 but broke up that year before this record could be released. But good plan.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2013



19465 Comments


well shit i missed this one..I can't keep up wth all your revews man lol

Digging: The Who - Tommy

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2013



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A lot of people did. Good thing i subtly hinted at it with a list and that comment on my other review ;) It's probably because i reviewed the other The Little Explorer album the day before.

But i'll probably take a weekish break from this site review-wise. I have another website i have actual review quotas to meet lol. And they don't want me reposting reviews

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2013



19465 Comments


"It's probably because i reviewed the other The Little Explorer album the day before."

yeah i've reviewed 2 albums by the same band back to back and the same thing happened to me. maybe people are all..oh we already heard about that band yesterday lol.


Ecnalzen
March 7th 2013



6398 Comments


"Although this album was recorded in 2006 it never saw the light of day until late last month, when Crash of Rhinos decided to dredge up this previously unreleased album."

I believe the comma should be after '2006' instead of 'month.' Maybe?

"Album highlight Glued is also fully instrumental, and highlights exactly why this young band had such vast potential, with its sailing harmonies and driving instrumentation."

I don't think this needs either of the commas. I could be wrong though. This comma shit can be confusing.

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2013



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I hate commas. There's so many rules for when to use them and when not to use them and every single rule has like 10 exceptions. It's ridiculous

Ecnalzen
March 7th 2013



6398 Comments


I know. I have been reading up on them the last few days. Fucking ridiculous.

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2013



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Same here! I have a handbook called Rules for Writers i'm working my way through and the comma section pissed me off lol. It was 16 pages long

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2013



19465 Comments


I know this is completely unrelated, but i'm gonna make a list for balance and composure - separation ranked!

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2013



19465 Comments


also pos'd the review

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2013



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks

Did you just get into balance and composure? lol I hope you have stonehands near the top of that list

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2013



19465 Comments


i've actually had separation on my ipod for almost 2 years lol but it's one of those things where I'm just now getting really into them. I used to think they were good but underwhelming but i'm close to 4.5'ing separation now.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2013



19465 Comments


basically you reviewed the balance and composure split and that prompted me to relisten to them and they just grew on me man



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy