Ikue Mori
One Hundred Aspects of the Moon


1.5
very poor

Review

by Finbar USER (21 Reviews)
March 4th, 2013 | 67 replies | 1,850 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Lunacy.

3 of 9 thought this review was well written

One Hundred Aspects of the Moon is a series of works by painter Yo***oshi. This album is 40 minutes of random noises.

Yo***oshi is an artist. Ikue Mori is a woman messing around with a computer.

What people will accept as music and take seriously these days. On one hand there are the people in their incense-candle-lit rooms ejaculating over the "avante-garde", "musical prowess" of the sounds of a screeching monkey and a person who has fallen asleep with their head on a keyboard. On the other, there are the horny, pubescent teenagers ejaculating (literally) over a man having a violent spasm on a drum kit and another throttling a pig in front of a microphone, AKA doom-death-grind-jazz-whatever-core.

This foul entity begins with The Moon And the Abandoned Old Woman, an eerie 2 minutes and 42 seconds of a droning bass, what appears to be a couple having a conversation while they try to open a jar, with some strange sound effects thrown in for good measure. This would be passable as the introduction to an album of music but it only gets worse from here. What ensues is a collection of musical instruments being abused in unspeakable ways and what a child would produce if left alone with a synthesizer for half an hour.
The only track that sounds as if it could be music is Received Back Into Moon Palace which begins nicely with a violin playing a slightly-too-high pitched melody but inevitably, Mori comes in halfway through like a toddler that has just discovered a piano for the first time, stabbing keys in no particular order until a man walks into the wrong gig and starts singing lyrics which I do not care to decipher.

This "album" of "music" was "reviewed" as part of curseworship's Review A Random Album Game Part Iv. Damn you, curse.



Recent reviews by this author
Santeria Year of the KnifeTumbleweed Dealer Western Horror
Amplifier The Astronaut Dismantles HALMessenger Illusory Blues
Mars Red Sky Stranded in ArcadiaGazpacho Missa Atropos
user ratings (5)
Chart.
2.8
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mad.
March 4th 2013



3587 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Et voilĂ .

Digging: Dwellers - Pagan Fruit

Mad.
March 4th 2013



3587 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Haha it censors Yoshitoshi.

YankeeDudel
March 4th 2013



9305 Comments


sounds pretty cool you just suck

Digging: DJ Spooky - Songs Of A Dead Dreamer

JasonCarne
March 4th 2013



241 Comments


Reminds me of more restrained Angizia without the ludicrous vocals, neither are really a good thing. Music like this is just weird for the sake of being weird I think.

Mad.
March 4th 2013



3587 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I second this ^^

WeepingBanana
March 4th 2013



10047 Comments


it's my game ya dingus, i just let curseworship handle this round

WeepingBanana
March 4th 2013



10047 Comments


oh also bad review. won't neg though cause i don't believe in negging

Mad.
March 4th 2013



3587 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Please, tell me the faults of my review.

WeepingBanana
March 4th 2013



10047 Comments


well it sounds like you listened to it once or twice without really meditating on it and decided that since you didn't get it you're gonna call them names write a negative review on sputnik to take out your anger

YankeeDudel
March 4th 2013



9305 Comments


review is awful yeah

Cygnatti
March 4th 2013



21349 Comments


agreed

gotta neg

Digging: The Avalanches - Since I Left You

Mad.
March 4th 2013



3587 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Well yeah, that is about right actually. Though half of the reason for its awefulness is how, despite my request to be given something else to review since I wasn't experienced in this kinda music and "didn't get it", darn WashboardSuds told me to write what I did get from it. And here you have it, though it was more cynicism than anger. xD

WeepingBanana
March 4th 2013



10047 Comments


you signed up for the game. you knew that you might have been handed something you're not familiar with. this review looks like you didn't even try

Mad.
March 4th 2013



3587 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I stated my opinion and backed it up with several points, using correct standard English.

Damn, don't take this so seriously.

toxin.
March 4th 2013



12021 Comments


tbh your opinion is fine, I'm sure I'd have written something similar were I assigned this
it's the way you presented your opinion that makes this a bad review.

altforazninva5in
March 4th 2013



263 Comments


Gonna have to neg

Overall it seems too rant-like and rushed


Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2013



7970 Comments


this is a not good review

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2013



2809 Comments


OH NO! YOU'RE REVIEW GAME IS FALLING APART!

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2013



6026 Comments


Lunacy LUNACY LUNACY LUNACY LUNACY

Digging: Your Old Droog - Your Old Droog

WashboardSuds
March 4th 2013



4984 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm pretty sure you're taking subtle blows at me in the first paragraph but, oh well

I was hoping this album would get a deeper analysis since I myself wanted to hear an alternate perspective on the album but, instead it gets a pretty unfairly harsh critique turning people off to the album, shame considering this album is not nearly as bad as you claim.

also you can darn me all you want, I was trying to help you out when I said write what could get from the review since you said you were struggling.

Digging: Acid Bath - When the Kite String Pops



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy