Galerie Stratique
Horizzzons


3.5
great

Review

by Olivier De Clercq CONTRIBUTOR (40 Reviews)
February 28th, 2013 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


First off, a thank you to user silentpotato. If it wasn't for him, I'd never have listened to Horizzzons or even known it existed. But now, I get the opportunity to rave on and on about the second track on Galerie Stratique's (real name: Charles-Émile Beullac) sophomore album: the marvelously titled and splendidly unfolding 'Jolie Cycliste Sous La Pluie'. As every abstract electronic music fan knows: it's all about the images the artist can project into your head and that certainly goes for 'Jolie Cycliste...'. It's a brooding atmospheric piece, able to pull all the right triggers, with its main melody slowly and shyly creeping its way into one's neuron system and creating a cozy stay there. It marks a departure from Beullac's colder and more clinical approach on his heralded debut Nothing Down-to-Earth, radiating a certain inviting warmth and enveloping the listener in a glow of ambient excellence.

It's a shame, then, that the other tracks on here can't seem to have the same effect. While nothing to scoff at - the atmosphere Galerie Stratique creates with his foggy and fuzzy melodies is quite exquisite, really - just a bit too often his music comes off as something of a Boards Of Canada clone, albeit a very good one. Still, highlights are plentiful on Horizzzons, whether it's the hypnotizing 'Smog Urbain', drifting carelessly and taking you along the journey; or the at the same time eerie and dense closer 'Grand Kaleidoscope', which shows that Beullac's ability for manipulating and controlling his synth motives is rivaled by very few of his contemporary IDM colleagues.

On the other hand, songs like 'Cyclotourisme' 'Scorbut' or 'Toundra' just have too little going on to maintain their interest, with too short a playing length to have any lasting impact. It's no wonder the slowest songs are the best on here, because those at least get the time they deserve to fully develop and get under the listener's skin. In the end, however impressive his talent for creating engrossing ambient pieces may be - and mind that producing actual good ambient is not an easy task, despite of a plethora of generic bedroom producers that think otherwise - I still can't shake the feeling that Horizzzons would have been a stronger release if it contained fewer, but more fleshed out songs.



Recent reviews by this author
Voices From The Lake Velo Di MayaAmatorski From Clay To Figures
Ben Frost A U R O R AThe Notwist Close to the Glass
The Men Tomorrow's HitsValentin Stip Sigh
user ratings (9)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
February 28th 2013


6451 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

http://galeriestratique.bandcamp.com/album/horizzzons-short
Album can be listened to through the above link.

And at least it has a thread to discuss the music now!

Digging: Thom Yorke - Tomorrow's Modern Boxes

EaglesBecomeVultures
February 28th 2013


5245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice
have a pos

Digging: Yung Lean - Unknown Memory

ethixx
February 28th 2013


1170 Comments


nice review of this album!

i thought the same thing as what you wrote for like the first two days of listening to it but then the tracks i initially disliked grew on me immensely

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
February 28th 2013


6451 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks fellas!

I listened to it like five times or so, so I think my mindset on the record is practically fixed. I still really like it, make no mistake, but I just feel it could be quite a lot better with some minor tweaks.

Keyblade
February 28th 2013


14886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sweet review, great album

mindleviticus
February 28th 2013


8237 Comments


albums pretty sweet

Digging: Cultes Des Ghoules - Henbane

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
February 28th 2013


6451 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's what I thought!

Keyblade
February 28th 2013


14886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea horizon lontains is my favorite too

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2013


6451 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks potsy, glad you like it! :]

Heh, that's understandable. And yeah, like I said in the review, this is really well crafted ambient. I'm not a fan of the genre because there are way too much generic producers that think they can write a decent track, but this guy really knows his stuff.

osmark86
March 1st 2013


4206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

BOC clone ey? got a friend who would probably dig this based on that statement alone. gotta check it out.

osmark86
March 1st 2013


4206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh almost forgot, pos'd

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2013


6451 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ritual ambient? :p

@ osmark: can't see him not liking it then. Actually, the desciption on Bandcamp is pretty spot on: a mix of BoC and 70s electro like Jean Michel Jarre and the like.
Thanks btw!

osmark86
March 1st 2013


4206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

np, keep writing them reviews.

Havey
March 1st 2013


9690 Comments


cool to see that this reviewing game has spawned some sweet reviews already

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2013


6451 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Much obliged

Keyblade
July 17th 2013


14886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sooo good

osmark86
July 17th 2013


4206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sure is! might have to spin this again soon.

osmark86
March 25th 2014


4206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well this sure belongs in the well below the radar category. jam some.

Kman418
April 1st 2014


10598 Comments


this is like biosphere w early era autechre beats

sick

Digging: Teebs - E S T A R A

LordePots
May 11th 2014


6884 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

best boards of canada album thats not by boards of canada

Digging: Daisuke Tanabe - Flowers On A Wall



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy