Quadrupede
Quadrupede


3.9
excellent

Review

by Eli EMERITUS
February 26th, 2013 | 27 replies | 5,625 views


Release Date: 01/19/2013 | Tracklist


Not too often do I sit down with a record and become instantly transfixed, refusing to do anything else. But with Quadrupede that’s exactly what happened. It’s the little EP that could, combining the intensity of post rock with all the quirkiness of noise and beauty of electronics. Is it a mess? Why yes, yes it is. But it is an engrossing mess nonetheless; an extremely effective exploration of bombastic instrumentation with clever and unique songwriting.

Quadrupede are a little two piece math –rock/electronic outfit hailing from France. Their disparaging influences call to mind Kashiwa Daisuke, And So I Watch You From Afar, and 65daysofstatic. It’s an interesting whirlwind of electronics, wild percussion, and piano that works well because of the palpable energy present during each and every second. The record begins with a solemn guitar, leading into a very lovely but somewhat typical post-rock bridge. This does not hint at what is to come, but rapidly the layers become added and the “Judoka” blossoms into a starkly dramatic and unwieldy beast. Pianos and drum dance wildly in an almost ad lib fashion until glitchy flourishes lead the song into an explosive finish.

What is most impressive is how each of the three songs sound so distinct. “Burkina Faso” is completely different from the pack as it stands out as surprisingly “dance-like.” The tempo moves along deliberately as the listener struggles to keep up with the overwhelming layering. After that, “TMWIHTII” closes things out in a grandiose fashion. It works as an amalgam of everything presented up to that point, with plenty of stylistic shifts to show off the duo’s musical chops. At times sparse and beautiful while at others messy and cathartic, the song feels is a behemoth of a track and an incredible way to end the EP.

No matter your place on the musical spectrum, Quadrupede are well worth being on your radar. Their self-titled debut is a marvel of thoughtful and daring musicianship that attempts to bring together a world of instrumental music into one cohesive package. Luckily, it works very well and gets this reviewer excited for what the French duo have up their sleeves.



Recent reviews by this author
Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) You Will Eventually Be ForgottenSaintseneca Dark Arc
Have a Nice Life The Unnatural WorldThee Silver Mount Zion Fuck Off Get Free We Pour Light on Everything
Fell Voices Regnum SaturniHammock Oblivion Hymns
user ratings (31)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Xenophanes
Emeritus
February 26th 2013



10593 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

http://qdrpd.bandcamp.com/

It's free so get on it.

EaglesBecomeVultures
February 26th 2013



5224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sounds interesting eli good looks

CaptainDooRight
February 26th 2013



28851 Comments


excellent rev, I love this section:

"The record begins with a solemn guitar, leading into a very lovely but somewhat typical post-rock bridge. This does not hint at what is to come, but rapidly the layers become added and the “Judoka” blossoms into a starkly dramatic and unwieldy beast. Pianos and drum dance wildly in an almost ad lib fashion until glitchy flourishes lead the song into an explosive finish."

listening to track one right now and I'm enjoying it quite a bit, the drums are excellent.

EaglesBecomeVultures
February 26th 2013



5224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"become added" reads kind of weird though

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2013



1653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this a lot

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2013



23806 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

definitely sounds like something I'd be into. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2013



1653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wow, that listen was nothing short of an amazing experience

Gyromania
February 26th 2013



15503 Comments


album cover and review both rule

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 26th 2013



10069 Comments


65animalsonartwork is an influence, you say?

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

LilLioness
February 26th 2013



2496 Comments


Not sure I wanna fuck with this (at least anytime soon). I am already backlogged.

SpritzSpritz
February 26th 2013



528 Comments


this is awesome. great review

ProjectFreak
February 26th 2013



1318 Comments


good review, listening to it now and it seems just weird enough to work

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 27th 2013



4412 Comments


That was a pretty good listen, it's 3 songs but very elaborate throughout. 'TMWIHTII' was probably my favourite of the three. Good review, as always.

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

oubli
February 27th 2013



67 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is totally amazing.

Tyrael
February 27th 2013



20826 Comments


Hmm

Your post-rock quality detector seems to have been broken for quite a while now but I'll get on this because I appreciate the effort you put into your work

Winsomniac
February 27th 2013



7968 Comments


http://qdrpd.bandcamp.com/album/quadrup-de is the link that worked for me; yours gave me only an error and moment of panicked despair.

Checking this out now, I post-rock.

Asdfp277
February 27th 2013



1064 Comments


why can't people just see the ? is it that hard to spot?

zaruyache
February 27th 2013



6273 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What "?"?? Clearly, if I have no idea what you're talking about.

Digging: CHVRCHES - The Bones of What You Believe

EaglesBecomeVultures
February 27th 2013



5224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah awesomeness confirmed

DamnVanne
February 27th 2013



1774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah this is dope

Digging: Junius - Days of the Fallen Sun



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy