The Black Dahlia Murder
Nocturnal


4.5
superb

Review

by Samuel Mclean USER (7 Reviews)
February 26th, 2013 | 41 replies | 1,079 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This album is heralded by many as the magnum of opus of the US melodic death metal effort The Black Dahlia Murder ..... and for good reason.

0 of 3 thought this review was well written

This album is heralded by many as the magnum of opus of the US melodic death metal effort The Black Dahlia Murder
..... and for good reason.

Many will notice the continuing Gothenburg sound, but as some will point out as well, this album has a unique blend of some black metal sound being tossed into the mix as an interesting spice. This can likely be heard on tracks such as "To a Breathless Oblivion".

This album is filled with heavy melodies from the dual guitars, they harmonize together extremely well and it's very hard not to like it.
Trevor Strnad continues his effective blend of high-screams and guttural grunts that make this band such a pleasure to listen to. His lyrics though are extremely good, the twisted poetry used within is highly effective, conjuring nightmarish imagery that you will love to visualize (or not) as the songs go on.

The highlights of this album are notably; What a Horrible Night to Have a Curse, Deathmask Divine and To a Breathless Oblivion (which is my favourite of the album)

Those songs capture the essence of this band in an extremely good way, poetic vitriol, relentless drums and guitars, and amazing work all round.

Bass we can't hear, but in the metal scene this is becoming something commonplace, so that's not as big of an issue. I'm fairly certain it is somewhere.

The drums, yes, Shannon Lucas is the drummer on this album (formerly of All that Remains) and he does not dissapoint either. And those of you who are fans of him, should by now know exactly why.


If I wanted to sum up the best moment of the album, it would be the chorus of To a Breathless Oblivion.
Just ***in' read these lyrics and put it on.

"Beyond those cursed stars above, lies the answer that I seek
On the backs of bullets rides my name, longing to kiss my cheek
Resentfully decline, retire this hated life
Without guilt I break these veins, carved with salvation's knife"

That's all.
Buy this album.
You will not be disappointed with it.
Do it now.
Enjoy yourself for a night of nocturnal blight.



Recent reviews by this author
Whitechapel This Is ExileKorn Life Is Peachy
Slipknot IowaNaglfar Teras
Ne Obliviscaris Portal of IWhitechapel The Somatic Defilement
user ratings (1306)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
DespisedIcon621 (4)
All in all, this is an excellent release, fans of the modern day extreme music scene will like this,...

Micheal Scarn (5)
The defining album for a band struggling so hard to define themselves. Well worth a listen....

ThyCrossAwaits (4.5)
Cannibal Corpse Meets the Wolfman...

Luke M. Jenkins (Confessed) (4)
Nocturnal takes everything that makes The Black Dahlia Murder unique and interesting and multiplies ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Jalix
February 26th 2013



104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And I am finally back.

I'm going to be as impersonal as I can since my previews reviews got a lot of shit because I was an insufferable cunt.

tempest--
February 26th 2013



10848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If I hadn't heard this album I would know nothing about it.
You've barely said anything about it, apart from that the guitars are melodic.

That's all.
This is a bad review.
I am disappointed with it.


NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2013



6734 Comments


Okay going to be blunt here, but I think you can take it:

has a unique blend of some black metal sound being tossed into the mix as an interesting spice.


Black metal? This needs explaining. As for the description of "tossing in as an interesting spice". It doesn't add a lot to your description, and as a chef I know just how this has been misused.

His lyrics though are extremely good, the twisted poetry used within is highly effective, conjuring nightmarish imagery that you will love to visualize (or not) as the songs go on.


Um... What? Try rewording and actually plan out your sentences. Try: "The vocalists lyrics are well presented, utilising a form of twisted poetry that works well with the music. Conjuring a nightmare-ish imagery that the listener will love to visualise throughout the record."

The highlights of this album are notably; What a Horrible Night to Have a Curse, Deathmask Divine and To a Breathless Oblivion (which is my favourite of the album)


Rather than having a one sentence paragraph, try incorporating why you think these specific songs are a highlight. Include descriptions and don't be afraid to add the why...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
More to Come.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2013



6734 Comments


Those songs capture the essence of this band in an extremely good way, poetic vitriol, relentless drums and guitars, and amazing work all round.


and

Bass we can't hear, but in the metal scene this is becoming something commonplace, so that's not as big of an issue. I'm fairly certain it is somewhere.


Again, one sentence is NOT a paragraph.

In all honesty, this review needs a lot of work. Adding in lyrical excerpts does not really take the place of opinion, especially when they are not backed up in any way. I didn't vote one way or the other by the way.

Jalix
February 26th 2013



104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Aye, I am fully aware that I didn't elaborate much into this as it is a straight copy-paste from my Encyclopedia Metallum review, much better suited to EM anyway.

I'll likely redo this, as I haven't slept for 2 days and lacked the creative drive needed for this album.
The criticism is welcomed and appreciate guys.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2013



6734 Comments


I'll likely redo this, as I haven't slept for 2 days and lacked the creative drive needed for this album.
The criticism is welcomed and appreciate guys.


In that case, I have a bone to pick with this. Edit, than post. If you haven't slept for a couple of days; sleep, edit than post. It's not good enough to put a half-arsed attempt online than expect the Sputnik user-base to eat it up.

I'm going to be as impersonal as I can since my previews reviews got a lot of shit because I was an insufferable cunt.


The review is still "insufferable". Sleep, try again tomorrow. When you do, throw a link in my shoutbox and we'll see just how much things can improve. Don't be afraid to ask for help.




NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2013



6734 Comments


Keep in mind, I'm not calling you out, nor am I trying to actively be a dick. If you're serious about writing some decent reviews, the only direction you can go is up.

tempest--
February 26th 2013



10848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ipod you just wrote than 3 times in that comment when you mean then ;-]

Also how the hell do you indent sentences like that?!

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2013



6734 Comments


same way you bold (and i just noticed that lol - I still stand by the fact that the rest of it was spot on.

For:

this is in the middle



Write without spaces of course; [ quote] this is in the middle [ /quote ]

Glad I could help out with something.

sixdegrees
February 26th 2013



15760 Comments


yeah I was always wondering that myself, sweet

Digging: Tam Tam - Polarize

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2013



6734 Comments


Tick; : ] help out members of the userbase lol

tempest--
February 26th 2013



10848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you, finally!
I knew it was some code, but I wasn't quite sure what to put in there!


NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2013



6734 Comments


Go on try it : ] it'll make you feel special

tempest--
February 26th 2013



10848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

...please work, please work

it'll make you feel special


SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 26th 2013



4337 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I haven't heard this in a while but "To A Breathless Oblivion", "Warborn", "Virally Yours" and "Of Darkness Spawned" are probably the best tracks from here.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2013



6734 Comments


Wait until you can do this

tempest--
February 26th 2013



10848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Holy crap, that made me laugh.

Fluttertrank
February 26th 2013



16963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

review is eh.

Digging: Xanthochroid - Blessed He With Boils

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 26th 2013



4337 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

@Ipod
Oh yeah? Well, wait until you can do this. (Look up at my rating)

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2013



6734 Comments


That's not fair, you could at least do mine.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy