Gallery 47
Dividends


3.5
great

Review

by Alex Trinkner CONTRIBUTOR (73 Reviews)
February 25th, 2013 | 49 replies


Release Date: 02/23/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If you think it's just a breakdown, I assure it's not.

Gallery 47, for those who do not know, is the pseudonym of English songwriter, Jack Peachey. Although this solo artist has not reached what could be labeled commercial success, Gallery 47 have accomplished many things is their short three year span as a band. Tracks that Peachy has written have appeared on BBC radio programs, which led to recording at Abby Road and concerts at Strawberry Fields Festival and Summer Sundae Weekender along with a vocal spot on the Maybeshewill track “Heartflusters”. So it seems that Gallery 47 is a band one break away from achieving the aforementioned ‘commercial’ success. And after a debut album in 2010 and a self-described “strange collapse into early 20s depression” earlier last year, what has been produced is truly a wonderful collection of three songs. On Gallery 47’s 2013 EP Dividends the acoustic singer/songwriter style is further solidified all while managing to prove to their loyal fanbase that Gallery 47 is a band that is here to stay.

Gallery 47’s sound can best be likened to artists such as Nick Drake or Elliott Smith, with calm finger picking acoustic guitars and comforting upper register crooning. Song structures are not complicated; instead they are overly repetitive, welcoming listeners to enter and snaring them with catchy vocals and Peachy’s penchant for heartfelt lyricism. The second track Mr. Baudelaire boasts the line Don’t you *** me up now quickly followed by the apologetic And I’m so sorry for the language I used just now, see I just forgot myself somehow. While such honesty and critical awareness of self is severely lacking in music these days Gallery 47 forgoes the perennial detachment, instead opting for a stripped down almost beat-poetesque approach to creating songs. Each track flows without pause into the next creating a sense of one perpetual encompassing track, which is in no way a form of criticism.

While it is often with negative connotations that reviewers observe songs blending into one another without a sense of one song ending and another beginning, the opposite is the case with this release. With the first plucked strings of All It Could Grow Up To Be to the fading of the final track Close to the Mind it feels as though the listener has been on one non-stop ride, without any bumps or determents. The EP is barely ten minutes in length so the fact that the entire release feels like one vast track bodes well for Gallery 47; all three tracks blend together and form a cohesive ten minute snippet of Peachy’s life circa 2013.

Although this style of music houses many artists that are clones of each other, Gallery 47 offers a breath of fresh air. In a genre flooded with every boy or girl who was gifted a guitar at Christmas, learned two chords and call themselves ‘artists’, it is a great comfort to see an artist who seems to truly care about the music they are creating. Although it is a short endeavor, Dividends marks the growth of a songwriter who has yet to realize his potential, but is inching ever so slowly towards it.



Recent reviews by this author
He Is Legend Heavy FruitGuest House I'll Get Over It I Guess
Trophy Scars Holy VacantsSeahaven Reverie Lagoon: Music For Escapism Only
Sleep Weather Two Wheels SpinningWe Are Scientists TV en Français
user ratings (1)
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
atrink
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


2845 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So i messed up the album art. Who can help? lol

But here's a short review for a pleasant surprise find. It's on spotify but it's also available for a free download on his bandcamp.

http://robotneedshome.bandcamp.com/album/dividends

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


2845 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I dig the two votes.. But not a single comment? lol

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


2845 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

no i think you're confusing this band with linkinprk4lyfe6969

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


19790 Comments


weird thought i already commented on this lol nice job man keep it up

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


2845 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lol nope. Just me and andcas holding down this thread. But thanks. I'll still cling to the hope of a ghost promotion even if that's just a ploy to keep people like you and me reviewing lol

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


19790 Comments


we can cling to hope together

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


19790 Comments


yeah hey atrink some guy got promoted to contrib and they've written 8 reviews in the last 3 years lol

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


2845 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What? I've written 11 reviews in the last monthish.. lol That's crazy. His reviews must have been pretty great. who was it?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


19790 Comments


casablanca..i've never even heard of him. even if his reviews are great that just doesn't seem right though lol

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


19790 Comments


maybe he'll prove us wrong...but i'll be very surprised if we see a review from him anytime soon.

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


2845 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just wait. The dude probably has 30 reviews sitting on his computer and he's been waiting for the
spotlight.

Thank god there's an edit button on comments.. Sometimes I make some stupid mistakes

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


19790 Comments


@atrink, NO lol

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


2845 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I say they replace him with one of you two.

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


2845 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What does that mean? I've only got 2188 comments.. So that's like the perfect amount of active?

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


2845 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And now that this has twenty something comments.. How do i get this damn album art fixed? I uploaded a new one. Do I just wait until a mod notices?

DirtBagDan
February 25th 2013


582 Comments


Really solid review, lots of well made points. Wish I could write like this.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


19790 Comments


yeah pretty sure the mods have to fix it for you.

and honestly i don't think it matters if a user is overly active as long as they're not screwing around and making pointless arguments (something I plan on doing a lot less).

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


2845 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@dirtbagdan Thanks man! For some reason I can write reviews fairly easily. The only review i've ever
taken more than a day on is this Trophy Scars review i've been trying to write for the past two
months. I'll probably just save it for their new release lol

@atari/andcas thanks guys. I hope it gets fixed soon. But yeah i dunno. I've seen staff and contrib
make some people obvious trolling comments lol

Calc
February 25th 2013


12212 Comments


"and honestly i don't think it matters if a user is overly active as long as they're not screwing around and making pointless arguments (something I plan on doing a lot less)."

again..trebor.

Digging: Milo - A Toothpaste Suburb

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


19790 Comments


well trebor's obviously popular with the staff though



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy