Within the Ruins
Elite


2.5
average

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (196 Reviews)
February 25th, 2013 | 26 replies | 6,803 views


Release Date: 02/26/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Anything but...

Within The Ruins, loved, adored or hated. Hailing from Westfield, Massachusetts, the band has more-or-less teetered the line between metalcore and deathcore since the group’s inception and unfortunately, a focus on the genre’s stereotypes leaves the listener with a record that’s stale from a band that actually showed some promise. Now, let’s get a few things in order. The album itself isn’t actually bad, but it’s not exactly a show-stopper either. This could be from an almost revolving door in line-ups but the result is clearer than ever; an affair filled to the brim with chug-a-long riffing and same sounding vocal lines. Within The Ruins have given life to an album that is focused, yet unwilling to stretch beyond the stereotypes and in turn have showed how Elite, moves the band absolutely nowhere.

Simply put, Within The Ruins can and more importantly, have done much better than this. For what it’s worth Elite should be a successful release, building off the back of invade showing a band building off the momentum of past releases. Alas, Elite is a step back for the band who could have been so much more, but as far as the genre goes Within The Ruins sits squarely within the typical, formulaic structure of both the deathcore and metalcore genres respectively. As far as the band’s music goes, an onslaught of breakdowns is expected, but by album’s end the effect is overbearing, simply becoming too much of the same thing and ultimately, leaving the listener somewhat nonplussed. Within The Ruin’s 2013 record may not be the fully enjoyable masterpiece, nor is it the proverbial train-wreck. Elite does a little less than what’s expected. Within The Ruins is now a while away from their high-school roots but the band has regressed by shape and sound. Casual metalcore/deathcore will find something to enjoy within the forty minute display of Elite, but unfortunately, the band has proved they are anything but the album title.

Conforming to the stereotypes of the genre, Within The Ruins promotes the idea of releasing a record that simply goes nowhere, throwing in splashes of technicality and moderately enjoyable breakdowns. Elite makes all the right moves but fails to impress on most grounds. Yes, aspects of the record do appeal to the avid listener, but those moments are either far and few between or overdone to a point of a tediousness. Within The Ruins can take it in their stride that they have not released a bad album per-se, just incredibly average. For loyal fans, Within The Ruins have managed to cement their sound with their 2013 release, but for the casual listener, there is definitely better out there. The occasional addition of flair does not make up for the almost forty-minutes of repetitive phrasing and on par vocal groupings.



Recent reviews by this author
Mastodon Once More 'Round the SunMayhem Esoteric Warfare
Architects Lost Forever // Lost TogetherKauan Pirut
Miserable Failure HopeBong Stoner Rock
user ratings (191)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
John Henry Pitts, III (3)
Within the Ruins take a one step forward/two steps back mentality with their signature “paint-by-n...

Andrew Gold CONTRIBUTOR (3.5)
Elite shows a talented band playing music far beneath their capabilities with successful results....


Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013



6937 Comments


Short review, breaking the Contributor ice.

Gyromania
February 25th 2013



15199 Comments


Hailing from Westfield, Massachusetts, the band has more-or-less teetered

hyphens aren't necessary.

Simply put, Within The Ruins can and more importantly, have done much better than this.

reads a little awkward with the comma.

good review though and apt summary

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013



6937 Comments


Thanks dude, I was taking Jom's words under the wings of this one i.e. don't let things get stale/ show no signs of progressing - So I took a slightly more conversational tone.

DirtBagDan
February 25th 2013



582 Comments


Brilliant review IPod you deserve the contrib spot so hard bro

TheMoreira
February 25th 2013



6948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It seems to me like these are three paragraphs of the same. You could have gone a bit deeper on your analysis. My opinion.

Digging: Vinterbris - Solace

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013



6937 Comments


You could have gone a bit deeper on your analysis. My opinion.


I digured adding track references and such would've compromised the end result of the review. The detail's there, just not with a "take track A for example:" format,


TheMoreira
February 25th 2013



6948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't see that man.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013



6937 Comments


Fair enough. It was more of a broad, all encompasing review, rather than focusing on a number of mediums to put across my points,

Tyrael
February 25th 2013



20738 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Still better than the new BMTH

good review

DotEight
February 25th 2013



5476 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Still better than the new BMTH"

This shit kicks anything BMTH has made. And I have this at only a 3.

Progger6009
February 25th 2013



1069 Comments


Good review Ive been putting one together since yesterday but damn everyones doing one. BMTH new cd will be better than this, this gets super boring fellas.

Digging: Darkest Hour - Darkest Hour

DotEight
February 25th 2013



5476 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Good review Ive been putting one together since yesterday but damn everyones doing one. BMTH new cd will be better than this, this gets super boring fellas."

You do know it's leaked already and we are basing our opinions on the fact we've heard both albums?

TheMoreira
February 25th 2013



6948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm pretty sure he knows Dot..

"Fair enough. It was more of a broad, all encompasing review, rather than focusing on a number of mediums to put across my points,"

Yes i see that mate. You accomplished that well, that's true.


bloc
February 25th 2013



34675 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

So I guess the Ipod Shuffle has become an Ipod Nano? ;)

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

DotEight
February 25th 2013



5476 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"BMTH new cd WILL be better than this"

That would imply otherwise. Just saying.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013



6937 Comments


What foR you mean bloc? I have a BMTH review waiting,kinda glad ive been promoted, no more neggin

Tyrael
February 25th 2013



20738 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Apple players are really expensive for what they are but the Ipod Classic is still my fav one cuz it's a lot cheaper than the competition who always pair a big hard disk with stupid shit like huge touch screens, movie playing options and internet connectivity (wtf)

bloc
February 25th 2013



34675 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

What foR you mean bloc?

Congrats on your promotion, dummy...

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013



6937 Comments


Its alright bloc, i can still shuffle ; )

Progger6009
February 26th 2013



1069 Comments


Should not have put that there my mistake. I know its out but ive tried downloading it 3 times and failed. So im just gonna wait till one of my friends get it before i try any longer. I'm only saying that because at least im sure it will be something new to their sound. This album is same old shit.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy