Popol Vuh
Hosianna Mantra


4.5
superb

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
February 23rd, 2013 | 45 replies | 2,674 views


Release Date: 1972 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An overlooked masterpiece.

Before recording Hosianna Mantra, Popol Vuh founder Florian Fricke found religion (both Hinduism and Christianity), which led to a significant shift regarding the approach towards Popol Vuh's music. Gone were the synthesizers, the band opting for an acoustic approach, rich in piano melodies and echoed guitars, thus becoming the foundation for the songs found on Hosianna Mantra. There are some links to the first two records, Affenstunde and In Den Gärten Pharaos, and those being the use of the Indian percussion and tambura, used to a certain extent here.

While In Den Gärten Pharaos was a more abstract affair, Hosianna Mantra, like the title suggests, became a more subdued, trance inducing experience. From the gorgeous opening piano lines of "Ah!" to the weeping slides and soft vocals on "Kyrie" and even the lovely violin leads on "Abschied", the record does not show any signs of weakness. All the tracks are so well pieced together, designed to create a warm, eerie atmosphere and, in the end, to induce the listener into a mantra. No doubt, the title track is meant to be the centerpiece, building an endless, circular movement comprised of piano, delayed guitar, oboe and dreamy vocals. The free guitar licks successfully create the tantric atmosphere over the low piano rhythm, at one point beautifully intertwining with the vocals and oboe. Words are hard to express the sheer magnificent nature of "Hosianna Mantra".

Hosianna Mantra marked a significant shift both in structure and melody for Popol Vuh. The material that followed this masterpiece was more or less based on the blueprint created here. The spiritual nature of this record and the use of exotic instruments combined with classical ones placed Popol Vuh at the forefront of the New Age and contemporary World Music genres that would develop over the years.

In the end, Hosianna Mantra is an amazing, yet overlooked record which gives so much from its rather sparse structure, it's no wonder it influenced so many bands to come. It is a must listen for fans of New Age and World Music, but also for any avid music fan.



Recent reviews by this author
Kaiser Chiefs Education, Education, Education & WarMotorpsycho Behind the Sun
The Ultra Electric Mega Galactic The Ultra Electric Mega GalacticKamchatka The Search Goes On
Buckethead Monument ValleyTruckfighters Universe
user ratings (58)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2013



3157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is for SilentPotato's review game. The album is really strong.

Listen to the entire record here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ns2nvj-VJqQ

Digging: Amplifier - Echo Street

MeatSalad
February 23rd 2013



13382 Comments


Sweet review, need to check this out.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2013



3157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks. I wasn't aware of this band before potsy gave me the record to review, but this is so great. I kept listening to the record over and over again without realizing.

Jethro42
February 23rd 2013



12030 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I only know Nosferatu by them. Great 'meditative' album.
Review was well written. Listening to this album atm. Sounds great so far.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2013



3157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks. i have yet to check out Nosferatu

also, what's with the ghost neg?

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2013



18197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Awesome band/album. Great to see this finally has a review.

Very good review, pos'd.

Digging: Benoit Pioulard - Hymnal Remixes

YankeeDudel
February 23rd 2013



9290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Awesome band/album. Great to see this finally has a review.[2]

Potsy you sonofa

Digging: Shape of Broad Minds - Craft of the Lost Art

GiaNXGX
February 23rd 2013



4867 Comments


this is not overlooked at all, good review.

YankeeDudel
February 23rd 2013



9290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

only 32 ratings and didnt even have a review. on this site for a classic like this that is def sadly overlooked.

but sup gian jammin some abandon all ships? tehehee

Havey
February 23rd 2013



9313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's overlooked on sput tho

Digging: Tim McGraw - Not a Moment Too Soon

GiaNXGX
February 23rd 2013



4867 Comments


but sup gian jammin some abandon all ships? tehehee


hahhahaha


splebmusic.com, amiriteee yea

GiaNXGX
February 23rd 2013



4867 Comments


im jamming some gorement, u?

YankeeDudel
February 23rd 2013



9290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh just some univers zero. i know you dig wheres your RIO list?

Havey
February 23rd 2013



9313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whats all this talk about abandon all ships

YankeeDudel
February 23rd 2013



9290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

were you not in that guilty pleasures list yesterday come on haves abandon all ships is gians fav band where you been!

GiaNXGX
February 23rd 2013



4867 Comments


lmao, RIO list might post on rym first but tbh I've been busy these days jamming my attack attack + Galina Ustvolskaya & Rina Ketty playlist ya kno!

oltnabrick
February 23rd 2013



29282 Comments


Some1 finally reviewed this


Yeeee

Digging: Future - Honest

CaptainDooRight
February 23rd 2013



26376 Comments


glad ur neg got fixed, pos

I heard various sections off this and it was enjoyable but sometimes boring for me. I kept wishing for something more but givin a relaxing mood I would enjoy this in the evening while resting or getting ready for bed. Even for bath music.

Digging: Deniro Farrar - The Patriarch II

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2013



3157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I have to say I listened to this once while stoned, I was hypnotized. I barely realized the record was over.

toxin.
February 24th 2013



11807 Comments


Hindu is not a religion; Hindu is the word given to someone who follows Hinduism.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy