Asking Alexandria
Under the Influence


1.5
very poor

Review

by multicore USER (6 Reviews)
February 22nd, 2013 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 4 karaoke classic rock songs and an asking alexandria song <

For the life of me, I can't work out why Asking Alexandria, who KNOW they are nothing more than a chugtrain outfit, keep dragging classic rock into their 'DNA'. I've seen plenty of interviews where the band says they are spurred on by old glam/hard rock bands, and that AA will be packing out stadiums in years to come. They have managed to open up for Guns n Roses in the last couple of years, which brings an image of a crowd that consists of 50% mustache-laden men and 50% 14 year old girls to mind. 0% fun.

After releasing Stand Up & Scream, they released Life Gone Wild, an EP with 2 Skid Row Covers (which turned out to be quite decent), 2 dubstep remixes (which turned out to be dog***), a demo version of I Was Once, Maybe, Possibly, Perhaps a Cowboy King (which was awful) and a new song which was on the following studio album. They've managed to repeat this cycle, this time with the EP containing 4 classic rock covers and a new song, presumably a taster from the upcoming album they've rustled up at Sturgis towers.

Here I Go Again is first, and while you may expect the band to actually make it their own and give the vocals a harsh makeover, that's far from reality. What you get, is Danny Worsnop trying to make the song sound as close to the original as possible. In fact, with the exception of slightly beefier (lol) backing instrumentation, and the use of almost midi-quality synths, it sounds like the band wanted to be as carbon-copy as they could be. The only song that Danny's voice works for is Hysteria, but only because he's less raspy in this track and sounds like he's giving it some time and effort. It does sound like he's recording it on a dictophone at times though. The problem I have (and what I expect many other people will have) is just how different these covers are to the REAL Asking Alexandria. It's almost bait n switch. A Skid Row fan might listen to their cover of 18 Gone Wild from Life Gone Wild and enjoy it because it's a good cover, try an actual AA song and get greeted by the likes of The Match or one of those horrible dubstep tracks off Stepped Up & Scratched, which nobody wants.

The last track, Run Free, is the actual AA song on the EP, and it's nothing new. It's slightly improved over the formula they used for Reckless & Relentless, but it's still breakdown city and the clean chorus is just a grey slab of nothingness. Solid instrumentation, and the verses aren't bad at all, but it's not enough to salvage this car-crash of an album that needs a good towing off the road by the AA. Heh, it's funny. They both deal with breakdowns.



Recent reviews by this author
Farewell Run It Up the FlagpoleThe Color Morale Know Hope
Crown the Empire The FalloutKids in Glass Houses In Gold Blood
Farewell Isn't This Supposed To Be Fun?
user ratings (63)
Chart.
1.7
very poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
multicore
February 22nd 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Baaaaaaa. What I meant by 'they released Life Gone Wild, an EP with 2 Skid Row Covers (which turned out to be quite decent)', was the 2 cover tracks, not the entire EP

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2013


19785 Comments


kickstart my heart is not def leppard it's motley crue

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2013


19785 Comments


and hysteria isn't whitesnake lol damn

multicore
February 22nd 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I didn't do the tracklisting on this, bro

DirtBagDan
February 22nd 2013


582 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

The band sucks but this just feels like a pointless rant, no offence. It's not refined enough. I don't like negging because that doesn't get anyone anywhere, and would rather give criticism where it's due. Try to actually admit that the album has some positives or you aren't a critic, you're a kid on a rant. Look at the "heh, it's funny bit" and the metaphor about the break down. That doesn't work and is unnecessary.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2013


19785 Comments


"I didn't do the tracklisting on this, bro"

fair enough but i find it hilarious.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2013


8007 Comments


I was gonna fix the tracklisting but Asking Alexandria fans will never be able to tell it's wrong anyway

Digging: Beach Slang - Cheap Thrills On A Dead End Street

multicore
February 22nd 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I gave it half a positive in the way that I mentioned his voice isn't too bad for Hysteria, guess I could have expanded on that. I just don't seen any positives in the EP.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2013


19785 Comments


lol curse. yeah i thought about getting it changed but it's not even worth it fuck this band.

multicore
February 22nd 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

see*

jesus

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2013


19785 Comments


well it's the definitely the first thing i noticed hehe

DotEight
February 22nd 2013


5539 Comments


Must be nice to have no talent and make money doing nothing.

J0ckstrapsFTW
February 22nd 2013


3652 Comments


Fuck this band

DirtBagDan
February 22nd 2013


582 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Nope, your role as a critic is to explore both the good things and the bad about an album in a mature manner, not to rant about it. It's not a bad review, so i won't neg, and you made your points and feelings clear but there is always something decent about an album, whether it is the latest Triple A album by a band like Immolation, or whether it is a piece of shit like Brokencyde. there's always something to like about an album

multicore
February 22nd 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

No wonder no-one had reviewed this before me then :3

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2013


8007 Comments


there's always something to like about an album




wrong, wrong, wrong, a thousand times wrong

multicore
February 22nd 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Cheers for the contructive though dirtbag, I get what you mean

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2013


8007 Comments


their second album i guess

ButtsweatAndTears
February 22nd 2013


340 Comments


They already butchered Skid Row now their just working their way through all my favorite 80's bands.....

multicore
February 22nd 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I thought the Skid Row covers weren't bad, maybe thats because they were off the back of SUAS.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy