Iceage
You're Nothing


2.5
average

Review

by fish CONTRIBUTOR (43 Reviews)
February 16th, 2013 | 188 replies | 4,666 views


Release Date: 02/19/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Brief glimpses of brilliance are overshadowed by largely dull music

When it comes to music, subtlety is an art, especially when you play a feral brand of post-punk which often seems to act in the same vein as hardcore. Among the flurries of guitar distortion which provide the core of the music it’s the small fractures of melody in the screamed vocals, the drum trills and the guitar licks which should make it interesting. Beneath the dense, sweaty energy of the music, it’s these ideas which provide the final bite to the whole substance and vibe of the song. Getting the balance is difficult. At one end you risk making the music sound homogeneous, but at the other the music loses its depth. It certainly works on “Ecstasy”, where the vocals tumble forward in frenzy whilst a bass thunders underneath; then there's the pulsating chorus of ”Pressure, pressure, oh god no” above a gripping bass riff which brings the music to a tense, momentary standstill.

But then things turn sour. On subsequent songs the vocals become clumsy and the melodies within them become erratic and senseless. The instrumentals are mostly dull and lose the perfect equilibrium briefly teased before. Even with the occasional interesting ideas, the parts as wholes don’t come together to form anything atmospheric, absorbing or truly energetic. The guitar leads provide the most interesting aspects but rarely do anything which harmonises with the rest of the music or adds to its grit. Meanwhile, the vocals flutter about in a directionless daze (such as on “Morals”) and the guitar chords paddle along in the foreground as Iceage seem content to tread water and quickly dispose of the remainder of the album, which ends up sounding increasingly, and disappointingly, boring.



Recent reviews by this author
JMSN †Pllajë†Say Lou Lou Better In The Dark
Sky Ferreira Night Time, My TimeM.I.A. Matangi
The Weeknd Kiss LandNK Nothing To Be Gained Here
user ratings (194)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Adam Downer STAFF (3.9)
Come on Ian, baby. It doesn't have to be like this....

Funeral (3)
We don't need no revolution...

related reviews

New Brigade

Comments:Add a Comment 
fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2013



20198 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Stream: http://pitchfork.com/advance/27-youre-nothing/

Album's officially out on the 19th of February

I get the feeling this opinion won't be very popular

Digging: YG - My Krazy Life

MrElmo
February 16th 2013



1950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nope

YankeeDudel
February 16th 2013



9290 Comments


well considering you rate different than everybody else yea. isnt a 2.5 amazing to you or are you still confused by your own "system"?

Digging: Shape of Broad Minds - Craft of the Lost Art

TheNexus100
February 16th 2013



2364 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i liked new brigade a lot

Digging: Thou - Heathen

MrElmo
February 16th 2013



1950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Didn't listen to new brigade but this album is just awesome and dirty from start to end

MalleusMaleficarum
February 16th 2013



12183 Comments


lol yankeedudel

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2013



20198 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yankeedudel posts a dumb comment what a surprise

ApplicationToHeaven
February 16th 2013



1550 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not quite as good as new brigade but great nonetheless. seeing them on the 28th cant wait

YankeeDudel
February 16th 2013



9290 Comments


you need to figure out what exactly your values are mr fish

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2013



23612 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good review

yankee get bent

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

YankeeDudel
February 16th 2013



9290 Comments


nah im curious what a 2.5 actually means to mr fish here. if a 1.5 is his average then a 2.5 must be pretty good no? thats equal to a 3.5-4 for us normies. why then is this review so negative and ends his first post with "derp this opinion wont be very popyeuhler"

he is confused. this reads like a regular 2.5 review. not a splendid, positive rating system, mr fish review.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2013



20198 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Do you even know what average means

Review reads like I liked bits but overall I didn't enjoy the album. Which is what a 2.5 is.

wabbit
February 16th 2013



6742 Comments


obviously at least a 4

MrElmo
February 16th 2013



1950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If i could i'd rate this a 3.8

YankeeDudel
February 16th 2013



9290 Comments


Yea thats what a 2.5 is to most of us. So basically you're saying you dont rate any different than anybody else then? You really are very confused lol.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2013



20198 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I go by that link I showed you. Go read that and figure it out

3.76 average rating seriously

YankeeDudel
February 16th 2013



9290 Comments


All your system means is you start from 1.5 and stretch your average albums and above out from there. Cutting out all the albums you dont like. Which means a 2.5 is a great album to you, but this doesnt read that way. Just sounds like a normal 2.5. Not hard to figure out that you're confused.

MrElmo
February 16th 2013



1950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"3.76 average rating seriously"

Yeah seriously, some people like this more than you do I'm affraid....

RiffOClock
February 16th 2013



779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

2.5 lol

Digging: Venn Rain - Twin Beaks

RiffOClock
February 16th 2013



779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

alternative summary: Whats the use in good ideas if you dont sound like slipknot?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy