A Plot For Revenge
Judgments EP


0.5

Review

by Axel Thunderflex USER (6 Reviews)
February 16th, 2013 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Increasingly popular metalcore band A Plot For Revenge, the kids that put to .00 in the word Br00T4L, puts out their first EP.

In the midst of a genre that seemed to have lost it's luster in 2008, A Plot For Revenge puts out a copycat album that shadows "legends" such as Asking Alexandria and Bring Me The Horizon. The lyrics advise listeners to make a positive choice with their life, "And now in your mouth your words can stay…" "When your dreams are made of [unrecognizable] will you head the call!!" being two of the prime examples. The clean vocals sound like a weasel at a pet store, the screams sound like a purified version of Waking The Cadaver, and overall this album yields nothing original.

The instrumentals tried to salvage this train wreck of writers block, but instead just muddied the waters of songwriting. The constant double bass and china symbol clangs away over never ending power chord filled progressions that have been copied and pasted across the entire album. It is still a mystery of if there is a bass in this EP, but I am assuming that they probably played an open D the entire song.

In the end we are left with a sad, over produced EP that sounds like every high school metalcore band you tried to forget. Just thank the Lord that people in these deep of creative slumps get caught in the community college system.



Recent reviews by this author
Bad Religion Christmas SongsSubkulture Patriots Subkulture Riots
Aranda ArandaAWOLNATION Megalithic Symphony
Korn The Path of Totality
user ratings (5)
Chart.
1.9
poor
recommended by reviewer
Asking Alexandria Stand Up and Scream

Comments:Add a Comment 
slimdaddy
February 16th 2013


437 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hqlE7NFhpX4 Here is one of the songs off the EP

Digging: Lil Dicky - So Hard

neurisis17
February 16th 2013


581 Comments


Have a pos

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2013


14748 Comments


Awful, awful band name..

Digging: Off Minor - The Heat Death of the Universe

Crownley
February 16th 2013


50 Comments


very good
EDIT: very good

Aspenshadow
February 16th 2013


311 Comments


wow!!!!! this review is so mean omg this band tries so hard and you bullies are just bringing them down...... you should be shamed of urselfs posting something so mean!!!!!!!!!!! I can't believe u wud do this I mean ur comments rent even constructive. omg just kill urselfs cybercullies!!!!!!!!!!!

lyzakthellama
February 16th 2013


1788 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Great album. Perseverance is my new favorite track

ethixx
February 16th 2013


1170 Comments


damn

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2013


23909 Comments


typo in the summary
typo in the first line

probably lots more typos but i am out, better luck next time!

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

TwoMonthsInTheCold
February 16th 2013


288 Comments


You should describe the album's music a little more than "Oh yeah, it's really generic and terrible." Have a pos anyway. This sounds terrible.

DotEight
February 16th 2013


5593 Comments


Am not listening. Judging by the horrible review, I'm sure the album is equally as horrible.

nononsense
February 16th 2013


3417 Comments


wow!!!!! this review is so mean omg this band tries so hard and you bullies are just bringing them down...... you should be shamed of urselfs posting something so mean!!!!!!!!!!! I can't believe u wud do this I mean ur comments rent even constructive. omg just kill urselfs cybercullies!!!!!!!!!!

Go listen to more shitty scene bands

DanielForster
February 21st 2013


2 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Just searched my band's name on google to see what came up and found this "review." Reading through this, it was embarrassing to see how little you really knew about the genre that this album is in. Obviously you have heard of Asking Alexandria and Bring me the Horizon because they are the biggest bands in the scene. Good Job. The lyrics that you quoted were not even close to correct (lyrics are on all of the youtube videos). "When your dreams are calling, will you fall or will you answer the call?" Clearly you are metalcore type vocal styles in your music based on your other reviews, so your opinions on the vocals are truly irrelevant. Have you ever heard Waking the Cadaver? They sound nothing like us, and are in a completely different genre. The part where you called the EP over produced is where I became puzzled. There is literally nothing but instruments in this EP. No synthesizers or editting other than EQing and finding guitar/ bass tones. And nothing was copied and pasted or sampled at all. The only part that was editted at all was at the end of Perseverance where the vocals have a skip. Clearly, if you are not involved in this genre of music than you have no credibility in talking about it, and this review is embarrassing. If you like metalcore, give this album a try or at least listen to some songs on youtube because this review is beyond innaccurate. Thanks.

lyzakthellama
February 21st 2013


1788 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

"No one will even remember your name!!!!" Sorry bro but its an extremely generic EP

neurisis17
February 21st 2013


581 Comments


you listen to Waking the Cadaver? Dude I really respect that you listen to earnest forms of musical expression that come from the heart.

"You can try to run.
But your done.
Run.
Gun to your head.
One more sound and your dead.
Kick in your teeth.
With my cock piece."

'nuff said.



THEAlist24
February 22nd 2013


3 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

(I'll repost this here as well): I used to accept Metalcore as "OK" because i had a bunch of friends that are really into it so i'd tag along to concerts they wanted to go to. But honestly, almost the entire genre is basically people who like to get they're anger out by learning a few cords and learning how to chug at the right times, they're is absolutely NO musical diversity. They're are very few metal core bands that i actually enjoy listening to and respect as musicians and by that point they're usually considered Progressive like Misery Signals and Ever Forthright. Now, they're are people who listen to the usual Metalcore stuff and that's fine with me they can do what they want but personally Id rather listen to something that's a bit more technically difficult to throw some creativity into the mix. If this band wants to be a million times better they should start focusing more on chord structures and layers than chugging in D or C drop with a crash/china symbol annoyingly rocking every fuckin second. Explore other things besides a double bass petal and a symbol! i mean you can tell by listening that the drummer might have the ability to do so should he chose too but no, it has to be the same thing the whole time with a couple fills thrown in. The vocals on the scream side aren't bad at all actually but the clean vocals need quite a bit of work. Lead singer needs to get an ear so he can hear when hes in tune, every other note is WAY off pitch. At the same time he has a clean voice that COULD be good, just needs to train his ear LIKE CRAZY.

DanielForster
February 22nd 2013


2 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't listen to waking the cadaver, I just know what they sound like.. And it's definitely not anything like us. I agree that this EP is not anything ground breaking or incredible. This is our first attempt at making any music and believe it or not we put a lot of work into it. No matter how many trolls will come on here and call our music shit or this genre boring. I don't only listen to metal core so Im aware of more technical music which I enjoy a lot. Bands like structures, periphery, etc. are huge on my list of favorite bands. All I ask is that you give a professional review that isn't fueled by your hatred of this genre of music. And at least be accurate in what you are saying. Don't misquote song lyrics to make them sound stupid and don't call an EP overproduced when there is literally no production other than instruments. Feedback is always helpful but this review is complete and utter bullshit.

THEAlist24
February 22nd 2013


3 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Look man, I'm just critiquing here, In my personal opinion if your band wants to be better that's what ya'll need to do. I don't hate metalcore, I just think the majority of the genre is boring and not enjoyable to listen to. It's whatever if you like it I don't care but you would widen you fan base dramatically if you'd work on some other things.

coreydurham
February 25th 2013


1 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I have yet to read a review of this EP written by someone who actually knows what they are talking about.
If you are going to bash a band, please, know what you are talking about first. Please, at least have some kind of knowledge about the subject at hand. Because you do not.

lyzakthellama
February 25th 2013


1788 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

lol this is great

THEAlist24
February 25th 2013


3 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

You know what guys, I have no respect for bands who can't take critisism. Just because you like a band and someone else doesn't
, doesn't mean they don't know what their talking about. If you don't like what we think about your band, impress us with your new
shit and prove us wrong don't just sit their and get defensive, if you think I'm wrong you can say that but there's a respectful way
to do that bro. And it's music, everyone's got their different opinions, no one is wrong or "doesn't know what their talking about,"
the only way that's the case is if they actually haven't heard the music, which I have. And I'm pretty sure the "subject at hand" is
this EP, I read the top of the page and listened to it. Which by the way, credits me to give an opinion.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy