Maston
Shadows


4.0
excellent

Review

by MisterTornado CONTRIBUTOR (46 Reviews)
February 14th, 2013 | 25 replies | 2,347 views


Release Date: 02/12/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Originality is overrated.

We music devotees spend far too much time arguing over artistic integrity purely based on arbitrary claims of "originality", as if it’s the end all be all to a much larger discussion. In an age where the standard music taste is drastically beginning to widen and widen, genres are beginning to spill into one another like the brush of a surrealist painter, and tiny micro-evolutions/niches in sound pop-up every year (thank you internet culture!), unclassifiability and anti-consensus rule. So why is there such a cold shoulder to those who enjoy updated sounds from the past? This question instantly popped into my head upon listening to Maston's debut album, as images of psychedelic's late 60s blossom began to float through my ears and into my head (while the sound was still relatively cute and innocent sounding, just before it got all blown up and over-saturated by whirling guitar-on-fire solos).

Opening with a choppy organ line and a vintage set of dusty baroque instrumentation emulating 60s suburban drive-in film credits, Shadows wastes no time in taking us back to the past with a sugary, flamboyant gesture on the opener “Strange Rituals”. A mix of Pet Sounds sunshine, thick Sgt. Pepper sky, and twirling Binki Bottom clouds dissolve into "(You Were) in Love", a surfy polka dot pill ensuring a short but heavenly trip through a whimsical rainbow. The trip gets a little cloudy on "Messages", a suspenseful Apocalypse Now gun slingin' sunset pop crooner lost in a pitch black silhouette. Meanwhile the hazy pop nugget "Looks" sways around in a moody diner, somewhere out in the mountains. Like a smoggy daydream waterfall, "Young Hearts" pours out a misty up-tempo psych hook, elegant pop evaporation like Bradford Cox crooning under a Beach Boys single.

Further evidence of Maston's modern influence point to the absolutely gorgeous "Judge Alabaster", guided by banging percussion like a horse sprinting off in the distance, with a lush americana harmony floating in the wind, similar to the folky atmospheres of Grizzly Bear. So once again I ask the question, why such a cold shoulder to those who enjoy updated sounds from the past? Clearly Maston borrow heavily from the pop sonics of The Beach Boys and The Beatles in order to create a retro-esque vibe splattered throughout the album, but carefully injected into their nostalgic world is appropriate modern influence, tropical exotica-laced hi-fi, lush instrumentals worthy of film-score, and irresistible, catchy hooks. It's a short burst of ten infectious, ultra-nostalgic pop songs that rarely pass the three minute mark, but no matter if recorded in 1967 or 2013, Shadows makes for some damn fine pop music in any generation.



Recent reviews by this author
Oneohtrix Point Never Commissions IEcho Lane Afterschool Inc. bikes clouds cranes phones
Taku Sugimoto Quartet / OctetWhite Suns Totem
Delroy Edwards Teenage TapesAnne Guthrie Codiaeum variegatum
user ratings (10)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 14th 2013



4214 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Short 'n sweet review for a short 'n sweet album. The best psychedelic pop album I've heard in a long
while, it's like Pet Sounds in 2013. Except it could have been released in 1966.

2013, you've done it again!

Stream it here: http://www.imposemagazine.com/bytes/stream-maston-shadows-debut

Digging: Ju Sei and Utah Kawasaki - ??????

oltnabrick
February 14th 2013



29282 Comments


heard this, not really sure if i like it though

Digging: Gucci Mane and Young Thug - Young Thugga Mane La Flare

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 14th 2013



4214 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

all i hope is this doesn't get sucked into p4k hype and get backlashed on. please stay relatively obscure, but reach enough people so that we can all hold hands in a small, fun little circle

foxxxythnksustnk
February 14th 2013



2132 Comments


*mastodon

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 14th 2013



4214 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

*mastodon

was only a matter of time till that came

foxxxythnksustnk
February 14th 2013



2132 Comments


was only a matter of time till that came

was only a matter of time till that came

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 14th 2013



4214 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

was only a matter of time till that came [2]

was only a matter of time till that came [2]

was only a matter of time till that came

foxxxythnksustnk
February 14th 2013



2132 Comments


good review pos next time tho include a 'these users will def like this:' section so i dont have to ask

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 14th 2013



4214 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that should be a new feature on reviews

foxxxythnksustnk
February 14th 2013



2132 Comments


i was thinking about asking mx to implement a feature akin to last.fms recommended artists section
i havent thought it all the way through, how it would work internally but in my mind it would take your ratings cross checked with users ratings to find people with similar taste cross checked with last.fm recommended artists cross checked again with the users ratings that the second cross check found similar
or something

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 14th 2013



4214 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah that'd be nice. submit that to the sputnik overlords

foxxxythnksustnk
February 14th 2013



2132 Comments


they are omniscent they smell wats cookin

GiaNXGX
February 14th 2013



4867 Comments


(anthony fantano will review this then p4k will review this and then idk)






I like Pet Sounds!

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 14th 2013



4214 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

probably so Gia, probably so. still a crime this only has 2 ratings. c'mon sputnik, there's an audience for this lets go

CaptainDooRight
February 14th 2013



26467 Comments


checked stream chil al Pos'd

Digging: Deniro Farrar - The Patriarch II

FelixCulpa
February 15th 2013



1236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is really good. Pos'd.

Also you've found some quite interesting stuff from 2013 so far Tornado! Besides this I've dl Cornelius and future faces. Good stuff!

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 15th 2013



4214 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome, glad you liked it. The new Cornelius is amazing

Havey
February 16th 2013



9320 Comments


really good review, did u apply for contrib?

Digging: Tim McGraw - Not a Moment Too Soon

Days of Future Passed
February 16th 2013



461 Comments


Mispelling of 'irresistable' in the last paragraph, but apart from that review was well-written and concise. Def won't be surprised if you get a contrib position.

Is this anything like Unknown Mortal Orchestra?

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2013



4214 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Mhm I did Havey. Nice catch DOFP, thanks. It is a bit, has the similar sepia-toned type atmosphere of a UMO, but it's definitely more Beach Boys / Exotica influenced.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy