Funeral Advantage
Demo


4.0
excellent

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (82 Reviews)
February 14th, 2013 | 14 replies | 1,355 views


Release Date: 02/04/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dream pop meets twinkly emo

Demos typically exist to show what a band can do. Bands usually record demos with low audio quality on their own and ship them out to record labels to give a glimpse of what the band might sound like with a proper studio budget. Funeral Advantage have done just that with their release simply titled Demo, but the difference is that the lo-fi audio quality actually goes well with the band's sound. Funeral Advantage use swirling guitar chords typical with the dream pop genre, but add a unique spin by implementing guitar riffs and arpeggios typically associated with twinkly midwestern emo. This type of guitar work blends surprisingly well with the dream like low-in-the-mix vocals used by the band. Funeral Advantage's dream like and atmospheric sound shines through perfectly with the lo-fi demo quality, making for a highly enjoyable EP that doesn't sound like it would need to be re-recorded or benefited from a large studio budget.

Funeral Advantage's demo is also noteworthy for it's use of keyboard, which is used sparingly and only used only when it can really elevates the music, like the bridge in "No Wind," and to create atmosphere in "Christine Forever." The well placed keyboard along with the effects laden guitar makes for a great full sound that compliments the low key vocals and results in a relaxing and enjoyable listen.

Funeral Advantage basically sound like a midwestern emo band on adderall whose singer is standing a bit too far away from the mic. They're musically downbeat, but surprisingly not in a depressing manner. It's rare that a band gets it right on the first try, but Funeral Advantage certainly have with their demo which is a great start to what is sure to be a great discography.



Recent reviews by this author
Age Sixteen Open Up Finders, PleaseIssues Issues
Sport Bon VoyageModern Baseball You’re Gonna Miss It All
The Lawrence Arms MetropolePixies EP1
user ratings (11)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2013



48528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I think a lot of people would like this

Digging: The Hotelier - Home, Like NoPlace Is There

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2013



23634 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good review, suitably short and to the point

I wanna 3.7 this so hard

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2013



48528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah there isn't much to say about this but it's great
I would probably 3.8 it if I could

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2013



23634 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd probably try to reword this though: "Their music is musically downbeat"

SeaAnemone
February 13th 2013



18802 Comments


Luv this

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2013



48528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Double wording yeah need to change that

auberginedreams
February 13th 2013



5981 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

cool will check out.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2013



4337 Comments


I just heard a few tracks from their bandcamp page, and this is pretty good.

You're review is pretty good too, as Aids said, it's brief but informative. POS'd.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2013



48528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks man
My reviews aren't usually long and this is only 15 minutes long so yeah short review, not my shortest though

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2013



4337 Comments


No worries. I saw that it only has 5 songs and all of them are around the 3 minute range. Also, short reviews aren't a bad thing at all, especially if they cover everything you need to know (which this one does well).

This demo is actually really good find, it's got a nice mellow vibe.

breakingthefragile
February 14th 2013



2935 Comments


Congrats on your 50th review man! Gonna have to check this out.

Blackbelt54
February 18th 2013



4266 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so yeah this is really good stuff

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2013



48528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

1 of 3 thought this review was well written

now I'm sad

necromechanical
March 25th 2013



519 Comments


this album is mad good. my friend is the bassist hehe, and part of the band is from my home town



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy