Silverstein
This Is How the Wind Shifts


4.5
superb

Review

by NorwichScene USER (9 Reviews)
February 13th, 2013 | 25 replies


Release Date: 02/05/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Silverstein have silenced all their critics with their best album to date

‘This Is How the Wind Shifts’ is Silverstein’s sixth album.

Most post-hardcore bands are enjoying less commercial success at the moment. While Silverstein’s ex-Victory contemporaries such as Aiden, Atreyu, and Hawthorne Heights had their fair share of fame in the genre around the mid-2000s, Silverstein’s belief, creativity and bold vision has kept them relevant after 10 years.

‘This Is How The Wind Shifts’ is a concept album about duality, partnering songs from two different outcomes. It is their first album without lead guitarist Neil Boshart, who is replaced by Paul Marc Rousseau. Paul has made the band push themselves with an ambitious mix of fast and slow tracks that work equally well. Even the slow songs have an intensive memorable sound. Paul wrote ‘Stand Amid the Roar’, ‘Arrivals’ which he sings beautifully on and ‘Departures’.

I’m sure we all know Shane’s gritty emotional vocals have not always fitted Silverstein’s songs as effectively as they could have, however he has upped his game here, took his time and made them fit perfectly into every song. These lyrics are still typical Silverstein, about being romantic and broken hearts.

Each track from the first half of the album has a corresponding one in the second half, telling the story from a different point of view with one crucial detail changed:
"Massachusetts" pairs "California"
"Arrivals" pairs "Departures"
“On Brave Mountains We Conquer” pairs “In Silent Seas We Drown”
and so on.

The best example here is the title tracks “This Is How” and “The Wind Shifts”. The whole concept of the album is that a single decision / event can change the course of history, depending how the wind shifts. Played the same time you get this: https://soundcloud.com/deadoaksband/silverstein-this-is-how-the

There are quite a few stand out tracks throughout "This Is How The Wind Shifts" such as ‘Massachusetts’ about an abusive relationship and the struggles a person goes through to get out of it. ‘A Better Place’ although a sad song lyrically, is up tempo (like ‘The Ides of March’ from ‘Discovering the Waterfront’) with a catchy as hell chorus and ‘California’ a triumphant song about positivity, hope and inspiration.

It’s quite an achievement that Silverstein still manage to keep their sound. As stated above with ‘A Better Place’, the song ’Hide your secrets’ also sounds similar to ’Giving Up’ off their very first album ‘When Broken is Easily Fixed’.

Halfway through the album we are treated to Silverstein’s heaviest work to date in songs “In A Place Of Solace” and “In Silent Seas We Drown”. These songs truly have made Silverstein one of the best at what they do making heavy melodic songs translating the pain and struggle a person can go. The lyrics are fun at times such at at the start of the latter ''I'm running just like the wind'' making me want to get up and do some exercise.

On “In Silent Seas We Drown” Shane sings what I believe are his best vocals to date ‘’I silenced all my critics, silenced everyone except myself’’. The vocals are screamed with such intense passion and angst. He then follows it up with ‘you won’t believe what I’m capable of’. No doubt he has now fully found his voice and it’s superb.

Overall this is without doubt Silverstein’s best and most consistent work to date. I can’t wait to see what they do next.



Recent reviews by this author
Lonely the Brave The Day's WarFlood of Red Throw
Heart in Hand Almost ThereMallory Knox Signals
The Amity Affliction Chasing GhostsSilverstein Short Songs
user ratings (435)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
SILYW (3)
For the most part it's business as usual, with brief moments of flair and intensity....

Hogan CONTRIBUTOR (4)
This Is How a dying genre should be revived....

Alex Trinkner CONTRIBUTOR (2.5)
Silverstein has indeed done it again....

Atari CONTRIBUTOR (4)
Silverstein has done it again....


Comments:Add a Comment 
fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2013


22047 Comments


Silverstein have silenced all their critics with their best album to date

they haven't tho cos it's still the same sound

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

NorwichScene
February 13th 2013


1523 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Its a reference to 'In Silent Seas We Drown'. Its a more mature sound.

I believe they have, this album will gain them more fans than previous releases, probably the same amount as going from 'When Broken is Easily Fixed’ which was an average album to 'Discovering the Waterfront' which was excellent.

I think this is my best review, but no doubt it will get slated as usual

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2013


22047 Comments


It's ok but you can improve

‘This Is How the Wind Shifts’ is Silverstein’s sixth album.

This isn't necessary

Paul wrote ‘Stand Amid the Roar’, ‘Arrivals’ which he sings beautifully on and ‘Departures’.

There must be a typo here somewhere

I’m sure we all know Shane’s gritty emotional vocals have not always fitted Silverstein’s songs as effectively as they could have

Awkward. Most people can't pull off the first person so it's better to avoid it for now.

Try to keep punctuation uniform. Most people put album titles in italics and song names in inverted commas.

The paragraphing is a bit dodgy. Kinda makes the review look a bit ugly and that can put people off at just a glance. Try to make it more structured and build a whole point within a paragraph cos here it just seems like a few scattered points loosely strung together and many just give little bits of information, like what the album's about, without connecting it to the music and why it's good.

Otherwise it kinda reads awkwardly in places and doesn't always flow well. Sentences seem a bit choppy and it feels like there are connecting words and punctuation missing here and there.
e.g.
such as ‘Massachusetts’ about an abusive relationship

These songs truly have made Silverstein one of the best at what they do making heavy melodic songs translating the pain and struggle a person can go.


And a lot of the points don't seem that relevant and overall don't go that deep into the actual music.


Keep at it and you'll no doubt improve. Reading reviews by staff and the like is actually a good way of seeing how to make a review read well.

Funeralopolis
February 13th 2013


11891 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

they haven't tho cos it's still the same sound [2]

these ratings are getting ridiculous

Digging: Owen Pallett - In Conflict

demigod!
February 13th 2013


45254 Comments


sputnik overhyping an average band? whaaa?

Digging: Black Sabbath - Master of Reality

Funeralopolis
February 13th 2013


11891 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Really getting tired of people grossly overbloating their ratings for reviews, in reality if you usually knock off a 1 increment you'll get the actual rating the review should be. Like is this really a 4.5 bro? like really is this just off being a classic to remember? Is this as good as Is This It, Boxer, Revolver, Worship and Tribute? fuck you.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2013


20155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn

Digging: Angels and Airwaves - The Dream Walker

demigod!
February 13th 2013


45254 Comments


that reminds me that I still need to listen to Boxer

i bought it for super cheap a few weeks ago
never listened to the national

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2013


22047 Comments


His rating is 4.5 regardless of the review

NorwichScene
February 13th 2013


1523 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Crikey calm down Funeralopolis, we're over the Wednesday hump soon be the weekend : )

Maybe i'm a bit of a fanboy, have followed their career since the start and seen them live a couple of times. I'm hoping they do a UK tour with Amity Affliction and Funeral for a Friend. I'll keep dreaming


NorwichScene
February 13th 2013


1523 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

P.S. Didn't know if i'm allowed to put the link in for “This Is How” and “The Wind Shifts”? Its pretty hard trying to play them at the same time through 2 speakers lol

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2013


20155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I pos'd by the way good effort but I agree with most the feedback anarchistfish gave you so just keep at it man

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2013


22047 Comments


P.S. Didn't know if i'm allowed to put the link in for “This Is How” and “The Wind Shifts”? Its
pretty hard trying to play them at the same time through 2 speakers lol

I wouldn't put that bit in at all

That's the kind of thing you drop in the comments

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2013


20155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd put the link in the first comment actually

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2013


20155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn fish keep beating me to it lol

NorwichScene
February 13th 2013


1523 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks Atari. I'm a civil engineer not a music reviewer lol, its just something I like to do in my spare time

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2013


2845 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Don't rate it a 2.5 though. People will get crabby lol

NorwichScene
February 13th 2013


1523 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

crabby lol. Least you can review atrink


NorwichScene
February 13th 2013


1523 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Ill try to stop talking about them Andcas but I can't promise : )

I didn't know whether to bother reviewing this, but I got bored and love it.

Anyone know where Hollyoak is? Sounds cold, so Canada?

ButteryBiscuitBass
February 13th 2013


10328 Comments


Need to check this band.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy