Veronica Falls
Waiting For Something To Happen


2.5
average

Review

by Alex Beebe USER (126 Reviews)
February 13th, 2013 | 12 replies | 1,952 views


Release Date: 02/12/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Waiting for expectations to be met.

The self-titled debut album from rising indie pop group Veronica Falls was an interesting album to say the least. Some could argue that the general sound it possessed barely differed from the cookie cutter shape of neo-independent noise pop that’s been done to death by countless artists, but structurally, the album was a bit of a lovable oddity. It could be appreciated if the unpredictable and surprising musical arrangements were taken into account. The album’s urgency constantly kept listeners on their toes, and nothing felt planned or mapped out prior to recording, making for hooky pop music that masterfully avoided cyclical nature while remaining catchy.

Though that debut showed a lot of promise from them in the indie pop scene, fans may find themselves sorely disappointed with the band’s follow-up album Waiting for Something to Happen, which leaves behind a hollow feeling of great potential unrealized. The most striking issue is that it seems Veronica Falls have already run out of ideas. Waiting for Something to Happen is very much the same raw and organic, yet cleanly produced independent jangle rock/noise pop music from their debut, but it feels as though they’re referring to their debut’s blueprint, promptly snuffing the sense of unpredictability that album had. Without that quality, this album sounds like obvious indie pop with a laid out structure that can be foreseen before a song finishes.

Waiting for Something to Happen has its share of decent hooks, but not much else. There isn’t anything exciting or notable here for anybody who isn’t on their first rodeo with indie pop, which was the audience that was attracted to Veronica Falls to begin with. It’s a mediocre, but uninventive album that fails to build and expand upon any of the structures laid down by their debut, and merely ends up replicating them to same-old results instead.



Recent reviews by this author
Les Claypool's Duo de Twang Four Foot ShackPeriphery Clear
Nickelback The Best of Nickelback Volume 1Eminem The Marshall Mathers LP 2
Active Child RaporJustin Timberlake The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2
user ratings (17)
Chart.
2.9
good
related reviews

Veronica Falls

Comments:Add a Comment 
SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2013



4372 Comments


Check that first sentence of the last paragraph for the italics error. Other than that, good review as always. Keep this pace up
and we may have to erase your name from our contributor group ;].

breakingthefragile
February 13th 2013



2942 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Haha, thanks as always man, fixed the errors. If I do end up getting promoted I'm gonna miss being on the same team as you guys, so in the case that I do get the staff position, I can only hope that some of you guys get promoted along with me! But yeah, I'm sure there will be a lot of missing each other regardless of who gets the position and who doesn't. Can't wait to see the results, it will certainly be interesting.

Digging: Glassjaw - Everything You Ever Wanted To Know...

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2013



4372 Comments


I think we'll all still be here and be the same people, regardless of what tag is under our name. So technically, we're still on the same team just in a different 'ranking'. I dont know how many people they're going to move up to Staff, but every contributor that has applied would do an excellent job if promoted. They really can't go wrong with who they choose, whoever it may be. Even if I don't get chosen, I'd be glad to see someone like you, who is constantly writing and getting better, get the position.

breakingthefragile
February 13th 2013



2942 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

As would I be happy to see you or any one of the other guys get promoted even if I myself don't. I mean, afterall, I wouldn't have gotten to where I am without your continued feedback and support dude.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2013



4372 Comments


Hey, you've supported me more times than I can even begin to remember. But you got to where you are because you, yourself are a dedicated, and quite frankly, gifted writer. Good luck on the results.

breakingthefragile
February 13th 2013



2942 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks bud, best of luck to you as well.

Gyromania
February 13th 2013



15164 Comments


brevity ftw. seriously alex, you are a machine. idk how you keep pumping out review after review without any missteps

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2013



9033 Comments


I think this is a waste of a review. It's well-written, sure, but it's 11 sentences of telling me that it sounds just like the debut album that I haven't heard.

breakingthefragile
February 13th 2013



2942 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well, I described what the music generally sounds like, so I don't see what the issue is. I could have
gone more in depth, but there's really only so much I can flesh out about how conventional indie pop
cliches generally sound.

Adabelle
February 20th 2013



4213 Comments


Haven't heard this yet but expect to love it as much as their self-titled

BallsToTheWall
February 24th 2013



44164 Comments


If she's not naked and getting stuffed then I'm not interested.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 22nd 2013



23798 Comments


probably gonna go see this band tonight.

by the way alex (sorry) I've gotta say this is the first time I've really read one of your reviews I think (I don't read many) but this is really really well-written. You're quite good at contextualizing the album. Reads really nicely.

Digging: Ought - More Than Any Other Day



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy