Silverstein
This Is How the Wind Shifts


2.5
average

Review

by Alex Trinkner CONTRIBUTOR (70 Reviews)
February 11th, 2013 | 140 replies | 6,362 views


Release Date: 02/05/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Silverstein has indeed done it again.

There is not a single doubt in my mind that Silverstein is a consistent band. Throughout most of the last decade we have seen Silverstein release album after album, rarely deviating in sound. 2004 saw Silverstein introduce themselves to the world with an accessible, if not clichéd debut. As the years progressed there was always a monumental sense of hope that Silverstein themselves would progress album to album. But what has been made clear with their 2013 release This Is How The Wind Shifts is the fact that Silverstein will forevermore forgo progression, instead settling on their own watered-down version of post-hardcore.

The album itself starts off promising enough, as Stand Amid the Roar is Silverstein at their best. With aggressive intro vocals and moderately catchy guitar work, this album opener will stand as a bright light in an album muddled by clichés and lack of inspiration. But this is not saying that Stand Amidst The Roar is perfect by any measure, as the harsh vocals grate on overtop a riff that doesn’t deserve to be repeated three or four times. As the album continues it is apparent that the short lived joy felt while listening to the album opener was a mere delusion, with the second track being nearly identical. On Brave Mountains We Conquer, opens with semi-harsh vocals transitioning to ‘sailing’ cleans and traditional song structures. Lyrically we are meant to take lines such as I never thought you would leave me here. A jaded mess full of hate and fear. I'm playing the victim but I only have myself to blame. I'll rename, restart this game or You've taken everything and left these broken wings. So here, I lay... seriously, the former being repeated 3 times.

It seems nearly every song can be divided into two different camps, songs that ‘start off with a bang’ and songs that start off slowly and attempt to build to an emotional apex. Aside from the three minute long interludes, there is only one song that finds itself outside of these two pigeon-holed song-structures. In a Place of Solace is a song that exacerbates my disdain for this album. A relatively short experimental track,In a Place of Solace shows listeners the type of music that Silverstein is capable of, and should be making at this stage in their career. While this track is cause for hope, it is simultaneously immensely frustrating, further proving the point that Silverstein is capable of music pushing the boundaries much more than they have created.

But, as in life, when there is a glimmer of hope, it is typically crushed as quickly as possible. Pertaining to this album In Silent Sails We Drown acts as a reminder that all good things must end. With one of the most ill-advised breakdowns in the history of the band, this track is exactly what we have heard the last 8 tracks and it has truly become tiresome. It seems that vocalist Shane Told, while having more than adequate clean vocals, lacks the power and aggression to ‘pull off’ the harsh vocals present on these 14 tracks.

With their 2013 release, Silverstein refuses to break free from the mold they have created for themselves, instead opting to release a record akin to countless records released from faceless bands. More often than not when they do try to progress, such as the three tracks less than three minutes, they come off as tacky and ultimately uninspired. While there are positive aspects sprinkled in, they are few and far between, causing the seventh release of these post-hardcore vets to come up short in almost every sense of the word.



Recent reviews by this author
Seahaven Reverie Lagoon: Music For Escapism OnlySleep Weather Two Wheels Spinning
We Are Scientists TV en FrançaisWilliam Fitzsimmons Lions
Prawn / Joie de Vivre SplitMy Epic Behold
user ratings (391)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
SILYW (3)
For the most part it's business as usual, with brief moments of flair and intensity....

Hogan CONTRIBUTOR (4)
This Is How a dying genre should be revived....

NorwichScene (4.5)
Silverstein have silenced all their critics with their best album to date...

Aaron Arneson CONTRIBUTOR (4)
Silverstein has done it again....


Comments:Add a Comment 
atrink
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2013



2774 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hai guyz... Can't wait for a bunch of phantom negs

NorwichScene
February 11th 2013



1340 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Think you need to give this a few more listens...

"In Silent Sails We Drown acts as a reminder that all good things much end". That's one of the best songs on it!

Digging: There Will Be Fireworks - The Dark, Dark Bright

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2013



2774 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I accidentally type much instead of must and you give me a neg? : (

But well i've been listening to this pretty regularly since the stream went up

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2013



2774 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I couldn't think of a different summary. I didn't think it was too bad. Is it?

NeoSpaz
February 11th 2013



4496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The indeed in the summary seems kinda, i don't know, irritating, like it messes the flow of the sentence

Calc
February 11th 2013



10825 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i agree with rating.

sixdegrees
February 11th 2013



15707 Comments


summary is fine. pos'd

Digging: TIMO DA LEGEND - molsom love/my life

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2013



2774 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well I've seen other people do it, and i've done it on a review before. I'll change it. He knows i'm
reviewing this and my view on it. It's not like i'm mocking his review man. But i'll change it.

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2013



2774 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks. so you weren't the neg then? lol But I'll ask atari and see if it bothers him.

NorwichScene
February 11th 2013



1340 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I didn't neg or pos

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2013



2774 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

sorry for being presumptuous lol Thanks for pointing it out though

HSThomas
February 11th 2013



668 Comments


Shit band. Weird how much hypocrisy there is on this site when people rag on Linkin Park but worship bands like these guys and Emery who are as equally shit.

Also great review and keep the summary.

Ecnalzen
February 11th 2013



5846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hmm... that summary looks awfully familiar...

"It seems that vocalist Shane Told, while having more than adequate clean vocals, lacks the power and aggression to ‘pull off’ the harsh vocals present on these 14 tracks."

I feel that exact opposite. I have always thought his clean vocals are not so great and his scream is pretty excellent. It's why I generally prefer their heavier songs with less cleans.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2013



18570 Comments


reading right now but yeah that summary is pretty much identical to mine lol

Digging: Somos - Temple of Plenty

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2013



2774 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

So just to clear this up. I'm not mocking Atari or anything. The crux of my argument is that silverstein has released the same old record, which to me isn't good. I thought the best way to sum up my review was to sarcastically play off of atari's summary.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2013



18570 Comments


it doesn't bother me go ahead and keep the summary idc

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2013



18570 Comments


so i disagree with pretty much everything you said lol but the review was well written so i'll pos

toxin.
February 11th 2013



11801 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"So just to clear this up. I'm not mocking Atari or anything. The crux of my argument is that silverstein has released the same old record, which to me isn't good. I thought the best way to sum up my review was to sarcastically play off of atari's summary."

as long as Atari's review remains flagged (as opposed to a random review by someone else) it's all good, since it emphasizes that it's a rebuttal to the main opinion. if his review gets un-flagged by, say, a Contrib/Staff review (though unlikely) then you'll look like an ass

Ecnalzen
February 11th 2013



5846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The summary kind of makes you look like an ass, regardless of your intentions. If there were some other reviews up, it might not. That's just me though...

I am sure there is another way you could word that to get your point across, but you do what you want. It's your review and Atari doesn't seem to care.

nononsense
February 11th 2013



3263 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gonna pretend like I didn't just read someone trying to compare this band and emery with linkin park. (2)

It always interesting to read the other side of the spectrum. Well done, pos. I don't agree with your opinion, but your thoughts were clear and valid, I can see how you came up with your arguments.

Digging: For The Fallen Dreams - Heavy Hearts



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy