Your Demise
Cold Chillin'


2.5
average

Review

by fish CONTRIBUTOR (44 Reviews)
February 8th, 2013 | 25 replies


Release Date: 02/07/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: At least they're trying

There’s not much to say about Your Demise that hasn’t already been said before. With vocalist George Noble they released a simple yet effective hardcore punk album (2009’s Ignorance Never Dies)- groovy and loaded with catchy breakdowns. Soon afterwards, the two parties would completely fall out and George Noble would depart from the band, to be replaced with former Centurion vocalist Ed McRae. From there, the band would tone down their sound and increase the focus on melody (for which they have no discernible talent). This would eventually culminate in last year’s unbearably insipid The Golden Age.

The subsequent backlash was unprecedented and despite claims from Your Demise that they didn’t care about the criticism and were just writing what they wanted to, Cold Chillin’ EP sees them at their heaviest since Ed McRae joined the band. What this EP really tells us is that when it comes down to it, it’s about the quality of the music rather than the style. Compared to their older stuff, Cold Chillin’ is a shadow of Your Demise’s former self. The same explosive groove that burst out of songs like “Burnt Tongues” and “TF” just isn’t there like it was. Nor are those thunder-***ing breakdowns that would make you feel silly as you threw yourself about in unison with the rhythm (but helplessly so). And at times, boring chugging and melodic gang vocals manage to seep themselves back into the music. On the other hand, Cold Chillin’ at least shows Your Demise trying to do what they do do best, even if it isn’t as good as before. Ed McRae’s voice doesn’t have the same deep raw that George Noble’s did, but here he makes up for it with a powerful screech of his own; and the guitars belt out some catchy and energetic riffs, especially on standout track “Karma”. The remaining three songs don’t match up to the solidness and quality of the first, but they at least contain some of those enjoyable elements. On the whole, Cold Chillin’ is a relatively pleasing, albeit unremarkable and forgettable slice of pop-tinged hardcore punk. On a more pessimistic note, it doesn’t look like those who are hoping for another album like Ignorance Never Dies will ever see it.



Recent reviews by this author
Azealia Banks Broke With Expensive TasteJMSN †Pllajë†
Say Lou Lou Better In The DarkSky Ferreira Night Time, My Time
M.I.A. MatangiThe Weeknd Kiss Land
user ratings (18)
Chart.
2.8
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2013


22047 Comments


On the borderline between 2.5 and 3

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

KSK1
February 8th 2013


4094 Comments


Karma was a decent jam but the rest was kinda crap for me. But hey at least it's a lot better than The Golden Age

xist
February 8th 2013


171 Comments


Heard Karma on the radio and it wasn't very impressive. On the strength of that i had no interest in the EP....and now i learn it's the best on offer here? Looks like a bad start to the year for British Rock/Metal/Punk.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2013


22047 Comments


If this review reads badly it's cos I'm really fucking tired

Going to sleep at 2am every night has caught up with me. At least it's the weekend

bloc
February 8th 2013


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

I had faith in this...I was a fool.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 9th 2013


22047 Comments


I expected it to be an improvement over before but not to love it.
Basically what happened

Owantjaaaa
February 9th 2013


3405 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

This is worse than TGA in my eyes, except for karma.
Atleast the golden age had forget about me and born a snake. This is just them trying too hard to be heavy and tough.
I mean, what is this..;
http://youtu.be/znaFJrZiZao?t=43s

Nice review btw

Digging: Sick/Tired - Dissolution

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2013


6201 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

uhhh definitely don't get the 1.5s and 2s, this is surprisingly pretty aight

Maybe it's just because I came at it expecting it to be terrible but the first song is pretty good and the second and fourth aren't bad either.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2013


6201 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

mmmm perhaps I spoke too soon.

Spluger
March 8th 2013


1188 Comments


There's something about the cover of this that makes we want to avoid all of it.

bloc
March 8th 2013


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Do that

Owantjaaaa
April 15th 2013


3405 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

So it seems they are breaking up

bloc
April 15th 2013


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

If they had just released Ignorance Never Dies, then I would probably give a damn.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2013


22047 Comments


Out on a wimper


Apparently they're not actually breaking up until March 2014 though

Spec
June 29th 2013


27298 Comments


this one just sounds forced

MuhNamesTyler
June 29th 2013


4433 Comments


That youtube link up there was so bad

Digging: Knocked Loose - Pop Culture

Owantjaaaa
June 29th 2013


3405 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Please don't remind me

Owantjaaaa
May 12th 2014


3405 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

wtf is going on?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rLZgzuaA3Ds
New album with george?

Owantjaaaa
May 12th 2014


3405 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

that's for sure

Owantjaaaa
May 12th 2014


3405 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

https://www.facebook.com/yourdemise2004?fref=ts
heh



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy