Nosaj Thing
Home


3.5
great

Review

by Olivier De Clercq CONTRIBUTOR (40 Reviews)
February 8th, 2013 | 20 replies


Release Date: 01/13/2013 | Tracklist


Prepare yourself for another little half hour of floating away on chilled-out hip-hop beats: Home, the second album of the popular beat artist Nosaj Thing (alias of Jason Chung), has turned out to be a worthy follow-up to the in 2009 well received Drift. In the wake of one Flying Lotus and the rest of the Brainfeeder crew, Chung has managed to claim a prominent spot in the contemporary LA beat scene with his debut containing - as its title already hints at - plenty of dreamy synth motives, backed by firm but gentle percussion. Now, four years later, Home proceeds on a similar premise, bringing with it little radical changes and surprises, but instead a more refined and profound version of the Nosaj Thing sound.

The prereleased 'Eclipse/Blue' created some very high hopes for the album, and subsequently is the best track to be found on here as well. The combination of a more traditional ambient blueprint with a marvelous acoustic middle piece and the chopped-up, angel-like vocals of Blonde Redhead singer Kazu Makino shows Nosaj Thing at his most confident and at ease with all his fancy equipment. The song sets the bar high, maybe even a bit too much so, for the rest of the record, but rest assured the other tracks aren't to be scoffed at either. Where Drift still had that undefined restlessness in it, typical for the debut of a rising star in the business, what we get on Home instead is a more focused attitude. See, for example, 'Glue' which arguably hosts the most refined percussion on the entire album, alongside some funky home-cooked samples that give the song a futuristic neon nightclub feel of sorts. A bit further, 'Distance', 'Tell' and the enjoyable little intermezzo 'Prelude' show Chung from his most intimate side - the side I personally enjoy the most.

However, various bits and pieces are on the other hand a bit too tame for my tastes, like the Toro Y Moi-collab 'Try', or the reserved and cold 'Phase III'. Therefore, album closer 'Light #3', due to its more direct and playful character, is the refreshing odd one out and concludes Home rather nicely. Nosaj Thing's second is in either case a very enjoyable record and because of its short playing length never really begins to drag. Compared with Drift, his productions have matured and became more fulfilled, and Chung has reached a temporary peak in his knowledge and skills as a producer. However, the scope of his current sound has probably reached a barrier and although Home is nevertheless very much recommended, Nosaj Thing should do best in keeping a few extra surprises on hand in the future.



Recent reviews by this author
Voices From The Lake Velo Di MayaAmatorski From Clay To Figures
Ben Frost A U R O R AThe Notwist Close to the Glass
The Men Tomorrow's HitsValentin Stip Sigh
user ratings (52)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
mindleviticus
February 8th 2013


8232 Comments


Good review,man. I liked it a lot more than a 3.5 at first but then it wore off on me fast

Digging: Cultes Des Ghoules - Henbane

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2013


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks!

This was always a 3.5 for me. I like Drift a bit more than this, because he just kinda settled for a "easy" sound, instead of taking some more chances. Still, 'Eclipse/Blue' and 'Light #3' are some of his best tracks to date.

Nice dig btw ;]

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

mindleviticus
February 8th 2013


8232 Comments


Yeah I'm listening to Exai now and I love how he's gone back to his sound like what he did on Draft 7.30. Especially on the
2nd half.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2013


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, the second half seems to be the strongest so far. I'm still on my second play-through, so I don't know what to make of it yet.

mindleviticus
February 8th 2013


8232 Comments


bladelores is so fucking good. I also love the song recks on because it has normal beats

mindleviticus
February 8th 2013


8232 Comments


Everything on here fucking rules though

Rev
February 8th 2013


9423 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great review man


i'm loving this

FelixCulpa
February 8th 2013


1240 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review! Totally agree.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2013


23828 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

this was a pretty big letdown for me, but it still jams.

nice review, though I'm not sure I'd agree that this is a "worthy follow-up" to Drift. I loved that album quite a bit, and this doesn't do too much for me. Still a great piece of work, but I definitely expected more from this album.

pos by the way, naturally

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
February 9th 2013


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks fellas!

Saying it's a worthy follow-up, doesn't mean it exceeds or even is on par with Drift. I like the debut more as well, tbh. But taken in itself, Home is still a great album that I really enjoyed listening to.

I think my expectations were maybe a bit too high after hearing Eclipse/Blue. That may be the best thing he's done yet.

Sleaper
March 29th 2013


3374 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

aquarium is probably the best electronic track ive heard in like..forever.
wish it was on this album

Digging: Iceage - Plowing Into the Field of Love

Ziio
April 1st 2013


55 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I definitely agree with "Eclipse/Blue" being the best track. Enjoyed the opener and closer as well. Kinda iffy on everything in between though.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 1st 2013


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, appreciation for this really depends on how you like this whole intrumental hiphop/beats/Brainfeeder scene. Thanks for reading!

Keyblade
April 1st 2013


14857 Comments


saw this album on a magazine was hoping it'd be better

ShitsofRain
July 31st 2013


5897 Comments


i like drift more

Digging: Anthony Shakir - Frictionalism 1994-2009

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 8th 2014


10207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I DEFINITELY prefer this to Drift. This shit is killer.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

Rev
March 8th 2014


9423 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

definitely not as weak as people say it is but i still think it pales in character to Drift

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 8th 2014


10207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a sound that's less unique than Drift is, but I personally find Drift to be a bit grating on the whole. It has three or four songs I love, but its sonic palette is a little meh to me- there's always at least one sound in each of its tunes that I don't care for.

While Drift has the whole spooky atmosphere going on (which is interesting, but something I can't quite get behind fully,) this feels so much warmer and organic for Nosaj. And while that change isn't something everyone will appreciate, it's the right kind of progression for me.

Rev
March 8th 2014


9423 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I feel ya


the track on Acid Rap is unfortunately superior to anything on here imo

ShitsofRain
August 5th 2014


5897 Comments


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NOQNf8ePiN8



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy