Appalachian Winter
Ghosts of the Mountains


4.0
excellent

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (196 Reviews)
February 6th, 2013 | 26 replies | 4,440 views


Release Date: 03/09/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A journey through the icy Alps of Appalachia; This one man black metal project climbs to the heights of his musical prowess.

Hailing from Pennsylvania, Appalachian Winter (D.G. Klyne) has been steadily releasing records in a rather primitive fashion (in a slightly under-produced kind of way), and somehow remaining under the radar. For a while now his entire discography has been available free on Bandcamp showing a development in song writing technique and the production (which at first was pretty primal, hampering the debut). Enter 2013 and this one man project is stronger than ever combining your everyday typical black metal soundscapes with some truly remarkable folk and ambient sections. Klyne’s lyrical content have a huge focus on the natural landscape, being largely inspired by the natural beauty he found in his country and the icy hills surrounding his home – Klyne also focused on how that tranquil beauty could turn into disaster when the weather turned savage, and in turn provides another level of contrast for the listener. Ghost Of The Mountains features a solid display of great creative ability wrapped up in a fifty-one minute release and bar the almost laughable album art, Ghost Of The Mountains has its chance at being the ambient/folk/black metal record of 2013.

Now as a big of a call as that seems it does have its merits, virtually the music speaks for itself; especially considering the album is largely void of vocals. Yes, they are there but there is more of a focus on the instrumental work of Klyne rather than the raspy vocals he employs to carry the albums message. Ghost Of The Mountains portrays a dark message. Take for example a lyrical excerpt from “Pennsylvanian Fire” –

It was my land first,
Where cold eyes fell upon the mountains,
And monsters rose among them
-Nailed to the land-
To take of the mountains
While others were carved away,
And left to rot by monstrous men.


The message above is clear; the destruction of the natural landscape by the very man who would like to share it. How man-kind plunders natural elements, destruction et cetera.

Appalachian Winter has always had a focus on nature and chances are that it’s not going to change in the slightest. What has changed from record to record is that the song-writing has improved, the production has come miles and more importantly has a relevant contextual message to engage the listener. For the most part the album continues with this train of thought and almost goes power metal with some soaring clean vocal work on tracks like “Patriarchs” and “Pennsylvanian Fire”. The highlight of the album however, comes in the final track “The Cemetery Where Slaves Lie Buried” which combines an eerie, even phrasing approach to both the instrumental and vocal sections of the track. This further allows the synth/orchestral element to shine through in the positive of ways. Throw in the occasional snare marching beat and a lyrical content to match the mood of the record and Klyne has largely outshone himself, simply getting better and better with each release. Overall, Ghost Of The Mountains promotes the environment that surrounds this one man project. Although the music itself is nothing out of the ordinary, it is presented strongly enough to maintain the listener throughout. Ghost Of The Mountains is an engaging story and a vast improvement on the other records in Klyne’s catalogue, for those into some straight-forward ambient/folk metal this may just be more than worth your time.



Recent reviews by this author
Mastodon Once More 'Round the SunMayhem Esoteric Warfare
Architects Lost Forever // Lost TogetherKauan Pirut
Miserable Failure HopeBong Stoner Rock
user ratings (6)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013



6934 Comments


Yes, that release date is correct but Klyne has all of his music available free on his bandcamp;

http://appalachianwinter.bandcamp.com/

He has all his music available free and early because it's his wishes. Appalachian Winter does "not spam or actively seek attention" This bandcamp link also has a single to be released 2014.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2013



3339 Comments


dude you've made 6 reviews in the last three days what is this?

Good review, have a pos. I'll post feedback in my next post.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013



6934 Comments


Yeah it all evens out I'll go quiet for the next couple, then come back to review your socks off. : ]

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2013



3339 Comments


Anyways, feedback time:

Appalachian Winter, or rather D.G. Klyne has been steadily releasing records in a rather primitive fashion, and somehow remaining under the radar.

1. "Appalachian Winter, or rather D.G. Klyne" makes little grammatical sense. I'd change it to something like "Appalachian Winter (D.G. Klyne) has..."
2. DON'T SPLIT INFINITIVES haha. Seriously, though, not a good idea. "has been releasing records steadily" works better
3. Well, of course he's going to be under the radar if he's been releasing in a primitive fashion, isn't he? And how is Bandcamp primitive?

For a while now his entire discography has been available free on ‘bandcamp’ showing a development in song writing technique and the production (which at first was pretty primal, hampering the debut).

You don't need to put Bandcamp in quotes methinks, and it should be capitalized. Also, you might want to split that into two sentences, something like "Through that discog, he shows a significant development in songwriting technique and production."

Enter 2013 and this one man project is stronger than ever combining your everyday typical black metal soundscapes with some truly remarkable folk and ambient sections.

Punctuation, my friend

Klyne also focused on how

focuses
Also, you may want to take out the hyphen and just put in a standard period.

Ghost Of The Mountains features a solid display of great creative ability wrapped up in a fifty-one minute release and bar the almost laughable album art, Ghost Of The Mountains has its chance at being the ambient/folk/black metal record of 2013.

Split this sentence in two.

Now as a big of a call as that seems it does have its merits

This means nothing to me. I'd suggest just taking it out.

is largely void of vocals

devoid

carry the albums message

album's

I don't really think you need to take that big of a lyrical chunk. The one you quoted is very large, especially considering the review is pretty short itself. I'd see if next time you could keep yourself to quoting one or two lines at a time.

More on my next comment.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2013



3339 Comments


The message is clear; the destruction

: not ;

and more importantly has a relevant contextual message to engage the listener

What has a relevant contextual message? I'd specify, because I don't think you mean the production here.

which combines an eerie, even phrasing approach to both the instrumental and vocal sections of the track

"even phrasing" doesn't mean anything to me. I'd revise it if I were you

and Klyne has largely outshone himself.

Is this a good thing or a bad thing? You make it seem like it should be good but it has negative connotations ("pejorative," as Rudy said in a comment at one point)

Ghost Of The Mountains is an engaging story and a vast improvement on the other records in Klyne’s catalogue, for those into some straight-forward ambient/folk metal this may just be more than worth your time.

I'd chop this sentence in two.

Overall pretty good review, though it does feel very rushed. I know you can write better than this, though it wasn't bad - it just feels like these 6 reviews have taken a lot out of your writing and it feels very haphazard and unedited. If you're doing this to squeeze some last writing in before your contrib application closes, I'd say you don't really need to - your previous work should speak for itself, and you don't need to impress people with some rapid-fire but slapshod reviews.

Ignimbrite
February 6th 2013



5294 Comments


Sweet review. This is on my list of music to check out, so I'm glad to hear that it's good.


fucking lol at the album art, though.

NeoSpaz
February 6th 2013



4517 Comments


is this as cheesy as his old stuff?

CaptainDooRight
February 6th 2013



28321 Comments


will def check

posd

Digging: IQ - The Road of Bones

Jacob818Hollows
February 6th 2013



115 Comments


I loved "Silence Before The Great Mountain Wind", and therefore would like this one, but... that artwork, man. That artwork.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013



6934 Comments


Thanks Will, I definietly appreciate the feedback but I'd like to clarify a few things for you : ]

And how is Bandcamp primitive?


This bit was clear; Klyne has been releasing primitive music - I know you're looking for things to pick up on but there's such a thing as reading into something too hard.

Klyne also focused on how


Nope, it's supposed to be past tense here.

devoid
- Does not need to be changed, in the grand sceme of things:

void:

adjective
1.
Law. having no legal force or effect; not legally binding or enforceable.

2.
useless; ineffectual; vain.

3.
devoid; destitute (usually followed by of ): a life void of meaning.

What has a relevant contextual message? I'd specify,


I did, line before - I used the lyrical reference as a medium.



"even phrasing" doesn't mean anything to me. I'd revise it if I were you


It probably does, but not in this sense; for example (and this is going to be a little broad in the description) think of a chug-a-long break down. It's basically built on the tempo, and repeated evenly - i.e. 1-2-3-4, 1-2-3-4- etc. The same applies to almost all parts of the music. The phrasing of vocals/ instrumentation can all fall under a 'phrasing' description. Something you pick up from aural/theory training.

More on next...



NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013



6934 Comments


Overall pretty good review, though it does feel very rushed.


Not really, I let all my reviews sit for a [minimum] 24 hrs, before editing and submiting.

though it wasn't bad - it just feels like these 6 reviews have taken a lot out of your writing and it feels very haphazard and unedited


You've been told this before, this is my normal work load, and the review isn't quite as bad as you're making out.

If you're doing this to squeeze some last writing in before your contrib application closes, I'd say you don't really need to


Again, refer to the above ^ You have already been told this - my flow of reviews just landed on my days off from work which is the usual time for me to be editing/submiting. On my days off listening to music provides that nice little break from the normal hussle and bustle and does not effect my frequency.

and you don't need to impress people with some rapid-fire but slapshod reviews.


Again, the reviews are not rapid-fire, nor are they shoddy. If this does happen to impress people, then that's certainly a positive but that's not what this wave of reviews is about.

In ending, you do make a few valid points, especially in terms of grammar. Maybe this promotion season has got you looking to be "extra helpful" with other writers, but take a step back and enjoy it dude. With critical eyes like these chances are you're a shoe-in Will. Cheers.



Brostep
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2013



3339 Comments


Cheers for the extended response IPod. I realize you're not rushing the review (I'd expect you to review with high quality results, like this). It's a good review, too - sorry if I didn't make that clear haha. I feel like sometime I can get lost in the shuffle of criticisms and find stuff that isn't there sometimes, and I probably did that a bunch here. However, no offense meant here but I've seen you make far better reviews than this. Your writing here is excellent in general but for your standards I guess I was expecting something different. No worries, I probably did the same with my latest few as well haha. And tbh I think you're easily the most deserving contributor candidate on the site, and I really hope you get in (over me, even).

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013



6934 Comments


Thanks Will, all I'm saying is even though I've thrown my share of reviews up the last few days, when reading it's alright to slow down and make sense of things first : ]

PortalofPerfection
February 7th 2013



333 Comments


Crankin out the quality man, nother awesome review. Definitely gotta check this, seems like this is one of those band/albums that you think is similar to Fen but better amirite?

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2013



6934 Comments


seems like this is one of those band/albums that you think is similar to Fen but better amirite?


Not really at all dude, and chances are i'd probably take Fen over this guy any way.

PortalofPerfection
February 8th 2013



333 Comments


^^^I'm so confused lol. Still checking this out though, sounds like my kinda atmosphere.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2013



6934 Comments


Easy to check out when its free : )

Acrosstheshield13
February 27th 2013



791 Comments


the artwork is laughable..

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 27th 2013



6934 Comments


Yep, you got mme to agree there.

Tyrael
February 27th 2013



20729 Comments


You had me at 'black metal'

will check



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy