Opul
Personnel


4.0
excellent

Review

by Andrew Gold CONTRIBUTOR (65 Reviews)
February 6th, 2013 | 18 replies


Release Date: 01/16/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A unique and refreshing take on progressive rock.

The origins of Opul are very much an enigma. The band seemingly came out of nowhere, releasing their debut EP Personnel earlier this year on Bandcamp with little to no publicity or references. I didn’t know what to expect going in, but to my surprise Personnel is one of the most polished sounding releases of 2013 thus far and the freshest take on progressive music I’ve heard in a long time.

Opul play an interesting blend of metal with progressive tendencies, but to call them a progressive metal band would be misleading. There’s little technicality to be found on Personnel. All three songs (four including the bonus track) are straightforward heavy-ish songs with infectious choruses and relatively simple structures. Nothing on here is experimental or pushing any genre boundaries, yet at the same time none of the music is generic or predictable in the slightest. Everything sounds refreshingly new, and I think that’s the main thing Opul has going for them on Personnel.

The vocals are perhaps the most unique aspect of the band. They’re entirely sung, which is fairly rare in metal these days and it’s a great call since screams would sound very awkward over this type of music. The vocalist doesn’t sing the entire time though, giving the instrumentalists their time to shine during the mellower sections and reserving his singing for appropriate times, emphasizing the more emotional parts of the songs. The tone of his voice can get a bit tiresome after a while since he uses the same tone throughout the EP. While some may find them monotonous, personally I find them to be refreshingly honest. He doesn’t try to do anything he knows he can’t – he sticks with what he does best, which is creating catchy melodies above the already melodic instrumentals, and I think he does an excellent job in that respect. The highlight in my opinion however is the glorious instrumental closer ‘No Important Decisions Today,’ which showcases their most atmospheric and forward thinking songwriting without ever becoming overbearing or pretentious.

Realistically, Personnel is a gem bound to be ignored by many in the grand scheme of things. It’s a shame really, because with what sounds like little effort, Opul managed to create a unique, enjoyable progressive experience in only a little over 20 minutes - short enough not to drag and long enough to get its point across. To show this kind of maturity on only their first release really shows how bright Opul’s future may be if they come to realize their ever-present potential.



Recent reviews by this author
Inanimate Existence A Never-Ending Cycle of AtonementWithin the Ruins Phenomena
Sonic Syndicate Sonic SyndicateOrigin Omnipresent
Muse Dead Star/In Your WorldJustin Timberlake The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2
user ratings (9)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013


21097 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listen/download for free here: http://opul.bandcamp.com/

It's only 20 minutes, do yourself a favor and listen to this. It's really great

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013


7041 Comments


Anything along the lines of Riverside?

CaptainDooRight
February 6th 2013


29147 Comments


Sweei love bandcamp digz, will def check and Pos'd

Digging: Kangding Ray - Solens Arc

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013


21097 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Capt!

And I wouldn't say that Ipod. I haven't heard much by Riverside but Opul don't use any odd time signatures or fancy guitar work. They're on the more straightforward catchy side of prog rock

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013


7041 Comments


i'll have to check it out for myself then, probably the best method.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013


21097 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hah yeah I highly recommend it. Worst case scenario you don't like it and only 20 min of your life is wasted.

I assure you it's better than the new BFMV though :P

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013


7041 Comments


pos'd btw, good write up

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013


21097 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man

Gyromania
February 6th 2013


15716 Comments


great review as per. here's to hoping you nab a promotion.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013


7041 Comments


You know dude this wasnt half bad ins.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013


21097 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers gyro i really appreciate it.

And glad you didn't hate it Ipod lol

LilLioness
February 6th 2013


2496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Badass for reviewing this. :D I am glad it now won't just be another band and album I added to sputnik that goes unnoticed.

LilLioness
February 6th 2013


2496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I finally found the source of where I found the page. The vocalist is Matt Lupo of East of the Wall. http://www.heavyblogisheavy.com/2013/01/18/east-of-the-walls-matt-lupo-debuts-new-solo-ep-personnel/

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013


21097 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll check em out. If theyre anything like this band I'm sure Ill dig it

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013


7041 Comments


Sometimes i wish i had the staffer's rating system, thinking a 3.7/8 could do the trick - all well let's round up shall we.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2013


21097 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

:]

Vakarian12
March 26th 2013


3848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is really good

Digging: Eternum - The Devouring Descent

LilLioness
May 23rd 2013


2496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Lupo released another EP at the end of April: http://opul.bandcamp.com/album/the-assailant



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy